We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reception staff need to be schooled abit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Pretoria
Reviewed 7 December 2012

The rooms and food are fine, but there's abit of schooling needed for the reception staff. First they mispelled my name, though i didnt feel that was anything, he yelled "FIX IT!" I didnt feel that was respectable. Instead of apologizing you instead shout to me Fix it? He was too bossy & kinda argumentative when i said i am ok with error. Also when my cab came to pick me up i was at the restaurant taking breakfast having checked out afew minutes before and when my taxi driver came up asking for me, they tell him that the had no customer by my name! Abit more professionalism needed at the reception!! Lesson-Go there and stay quiet because the staff will most likely annoy you. Just have as little as possible interaction with them and you will be fine.

Room Tip: the rooms arent sound proof, so if you have noisy neighbors you wont have peace. the ladies on the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Empowerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2012

I arrived late on a Sunday night after a long haul flight and although the check in staff were very friendly it was a little surprising to be told that room service stops at 8:30 on a Sunday and nowhere in there area delivers so dinner was a bag of chips and a bar of chocolate from the lobby vending machine. overall the rooms are well appointed but just with some amenities you'd expect are missing, no mini bar fridge for example. service is not the fastest in the world and they would probably benefit from some competition in the area.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I stayed here for one night on a recent business trip in SA. I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. The lobby area is nice and open, very modern and very easy on the eye. Rooms are comfortable and well furnished and equipped.Breakfast buffet very good as well. Easy access to some nice places to eat so no complaints at all

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Upon arrival for the first time in South Africa, getting off the plane I didn't know what to expect. The drive from Johannesburg airport is about 20-30 minutes, I highly recommend you get picked up and driven to the hotel, rather than a taxi.

The hotel staff are very nice and friendly upon arrival and helped with bags. Once booked in I was taken up to my room. The room whilst great isn't anything to write home about. Lacking a mini fridge. The Balcony over looked the back of the hotel, looking down you can see the swimming pool and outside area, across the road is the Aurecon Centre.

The shops and restaurants are amazing and only a few minutes walk across the car park.

The lasagna down stairs in the coffee shops is amazing, very very nice indeed, the coffee is great.

In the morning i insist you have the English Breakfast, you have so many options from bacon and eggs, to fruit and salad to cereal.

The only problem I had was the bath tub was a bit dirty with strands of hairs. The shower, toilet and sink were all clean so not a huge drama.

I had a smoking room, whilst I don't always smoke, its nice to have the option and the rooms don't smell or look different at all.

Room Tip: Room towards the back overlooking the pool are nice to have
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoolKidAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Well situated in trendy Lynwood area in Pretoria. Parking is available on sight. Access to a shopping area and many restaurants is a quick walk across the car park. The rooms are comfortable, well furnished, clean and open onto a small balcony. The breakfast was very reasonably priced, with a good variety of items, whether you selected continental or hot. The hotel staff were friendly and went out of their way to please. Evening meals can be ordered from restaurants close bye. The meal ordered from Rhapsody’s was delicious and promptly delivered!!!

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the shopping and restaurant area across the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProudlyDurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I have been staying at this hotel regularly for the past 2 years, and in line with their in house award system I rate it as by far the best City Lodge in South Africa.

At this stage I am delighted to report that the service is always excellent. The management and staff take a lot of extra effort to make all the guests feel welcome. All staff are friendly and greet guests at every opportunity. Check ins and outs are friendly and very efficient

The hotel's corporate "I am kind" campaign has resulted in numerous gestures aimed at making guests feel at home. As an example, they have purchased a pillow to match wy wife's preference, and it is always there when needed.

The coffee shop menu is quite limited, but the wonderful staff more than make up for this. You are also welcome to order in from one of the neighbouring restaurants and take your meal in the coffee shop or in your room.

Brreakfasts are generous and good value for money. Management presence on the floor during breakfast ensures a warm welcome and efficient service.

The rooms are all well equipped, freshly serviced and maintained. Wifi access is excellent, and the hotspot enables connection to MWeb.

Whilst I am wary of hype and slogans, City Lodge Lynnwood has really become a home away from home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agewebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and its staff. We are glad that you find our hotel and its staff so special. It means a lot to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Have stayed at City Lodge 5 times since April whilst on business. The team have been fantastic and looked us well. Many thanks to Danelle, Chantal and Alice for your hospitality. Hopefully I will get to visit again soon.

Located in popular Lynnwood Bridge area, it's a perfect location with a wide choice of restaurants - Koi, Stefanies, TriBeCa and more!

Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam19H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.1 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#2 of 74 in Pretoria
305 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
5.3 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Capital Menlyn Maine
The Capital Menlyn Maine
#20 of 74 in Pretoria
28 reviews
9 mi away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#12 of 74 in Pretoria
184 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#14 of 74 in Pretoria
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood

Address: Corner Lynnwood and Daventry Roads | Lynnwood, Pretoria 0040, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range: £81 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the new Lynnwood Bridge complex, City Lodge Lynnwood adds a much-needed business and leisure accommodation dimension to the eastern side of Pretoria. Its 205 tastefully decorated bedrooms are complemented by three board/meeting rooms, a coffee shop, a fitness room, a swimming pool and wireless internet throughout the hotel. The hotel is close to the world renowned CSIR, a short drive from the Union Buildings, Pretoria’s CBD and the city’s other cultural, shopping and entertainment facilities. It is also ideally situated for easy freeway access to Johannesburg, OR Tambo Airport and Polokwane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Lynnwood Hotel Pretoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing