We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service lets the hotel down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
Ranked #12 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor service lets the hotel down”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I arrived earlier than check in time and was told that no room was available (despite having been aranged through my work that one would be available). The reception staff were not so much rude as just very uninterested and not particularly friendly. The breakfast was good but service is very, very slow at the bar and the restaurant - I ordered a sandwich for lunch one day and it took over 45 minutes to arrive (after I had enquired twice as to where it was) with no apology.
Rooms are clean and comfortable and the location is nice as there are a number of shops and different restaurants opposite the hotel but I would not choose to stay here again as poor service lets the hotel down. No free wifi either.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russe1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you for your review. We will certainly look into your complaints as we pride ourselves on our friendly and efficieint services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    126
    31
    8
    5
See reviews for
13
14
4
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed over on Saturday night at city lodge at Lynwood bridge and was pleasantly surprised at the level of service. Will definitely stop there again. Great location. Convenient to shops and restaurants. In the past stayed at the one up the road.... The town lodge which was also good, but this one is even better with so many great places to eat right outside the hotel. Had dinner at Co Cacchio and breakfast at Tribeca.... Both places I would recommend.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony which was great in the morning to sit and watch Pretoria come to life
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gree0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thanks so much for your favourable comments about our hotel, its services, and its proximity to many facilities. We hope to welcome you again soon as a guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I frequently stay at City Lodges, but this one, together with the Umhlanga hotel, is my favourite. In fact, since their first week of opening I have returned frequently. It is especially the location that is appealing: the highway is easily accessible, and there are a number of restaurants within 50 meters of the hotel. There is also a theatre (the Atterbury Theatre) in the precinct. The only real issue is that there is the constant noise of construction activities during the day - and they start early, like 06h00!

Room Tip: Although the area looking out over the restaurants may become noisy late at night with the revellers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Good business hotel..little costly but shopping complex and restaurants in surrounding is very nice...staff need to be more polite and educated to talk with guests....quite rigid in their attitude...rooms are of perfect size for business traveler definitely not good for family...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BhavesG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

The rooms and food are fine, but there's abit of schooling needed for the reception staff. First they mispelled my name, though i didnt feel that was anything, he yelled "FIX IT!" I didnt feel that was respectable. Instead of apologizing you instead shout to me Fix it? He was too bossy & kinda argumentative when i said i am ok with error. Also when my cab came to pick me up i was at the restaurant taking breakfast having checked out afew minutes before and when my taxi driver came up asking for me, they tell him that the had no customer by my name! Abit more professionalism needed at the reception!! Lesson-Go there and stay quiet because the staff will most likely annoy you. Just have as little as possible interaction with them and you will be fine.

Room Tip: the rooms arent sound proof, so if you have noisy neighbors you wont have peace. the ladies on the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Empowerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I arrived late on a Sunday night after a long haul flight and although the check in staff were very friendly it was a little surprising to be told that room service stops at 8:30 on a Sunday and nowhere in there area delivers so dinner was a bag of chips and a bar of chocolate from the lobby vending machine. overall the rooms are well appointed but just with some amenities you'd expect are missing, no mini bar fridge for example. service is not the fastest in the world and they would probably benefit from some competition in the area.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I stayed here for one night on a recent business trip in SA. I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. The lobby area is nice and open, very modern and very easy on the eye. Rooms are comfortable and well furnished and equipped.Breakfast buffet very good as well. Easy access to some nice places to eat so no complaints at all

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
2.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
#19 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
5.3 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
#15 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
5.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#9 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood

Property: City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
Address: Corner Lynnwood and Daventry Roads | Lynnwood, Pretoria 0040, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the new Lynnwood Bridge complex, City Lodge Lynnwood adds a much-needed business and leisure accommodation dimension to the eastern side of Pretoria. Its 205 tastefully decorated bedrooms are complemented by three board/meeting rooms, a coffee shop, a fitness room, a swimming pool and wireless internet throughout the hotel. The hotel is close to the world renowned CSIR, a short drive from the Union Buildings, Pretoria’s CBD and the city’s other cultural, shopping and entertainment facilities. It is also ideally situated for easy freeway access to Johannesburg, OR Tambo Airport and Polokwane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Lynnwood Hotel Pretoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing