We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
Nearby Hotels
Kievits Kroon(Pretoria)
US$128
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$83
US$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fortis Hotel Capital(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$105
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Faircity Roodevallei(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Illyria House(Pretoria)
US$251
US$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
67
137
38
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
137
38
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswoolworths foodlynwood bridgebusiness tripsmall shoppingsame complexsmall gymhotel breakfastwalking distancelocation is excellentshopping centregautrain busthe hotel is cleanfree wifitambo airporteasy accessrooms are spaciousvisiting pretoria
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I stayed at the City Lodge for more than a week along with my husband who was on official trip to Pretoria. I found this hotel to be most conveniently located. It is bang opposite a Mall with some very nice restaurants like Koi, Vivo Telo and Col Cachhio. It has a big super market too and some other nice shops. The location is unbeatable.

The hotel itself is nothing fancy-dancy. It is what you get for what you pay. Everything is neat and clean, but you have to pretty much do all of the luggage hauling etc yourself. The Lodge claims that it is able to keep its prices competitive only because it keeps its costs low. There is nothing to complain about the hotel but there is nothing to rave about either. The staff are nice, the cleaning crew is very friendly. The hotel restaurant is good and all of the restaurants in the Lynwood Plaza deliver to the hotel. So that is very useful. Again the location is awesome and very safe.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We found absolutely nothing wrong with this property, i.e. it met all expectations of a 3-4 star property. Clean rooms, clean public areas, friendly staff from front office to cleaning staff. Pleasant small touches i,.e. the free apples and Fruitjuice, and tasty muffins in the morning. This is a new hotel in a very upmarket area, and the large variety of upmarket restaurants across the car park should suit most food aficiaonados. The only complaint and hence the not excellent rating is the 15 minutes free wifi whereafter charges apply, and its NOT cheap! Silly, and a bad and antiquated marketing ploy that should be addressed post haste.

Room Tip: High floor
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gazzcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thank you for your comments - our wifi policy is under review. so watch this space!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

First visit to this City Lodge because my usual guest house was full.. This is my new place to stay in Pretoria. Very clean and well maintained organized and very pleasant staff. Only downside but very small ... Hot water flow is very slow... Room 361

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank tony_rolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We will have a look into the water pressure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Positive: 1. location - close to two shopping malls and lots of restaurants; 2. open screen between bedroom and bathroom which lets in light (and means you can watch TV whilst lying in the bath); 3. separate walk in shower as well as a bath; 4. comfortable bed and good pillows; 5. reasonably priced internet access which was fast and efficient; 6. helpful and very polite staff (in contrast to some other reviews - maybe they have had further training in public relations but I found everybody, without exception, charming and helpful); 7. comfortable swivel office type chair and a good sized desk with three accessible power points (South African plug; UK plug; Euro plug); 8. nice little gym and swimming pool; 9. good breakfast selection.

Negative: 1. no mini-bar fridge in the room - this was a serious inconvenience as I couldn't keep drinks or food cold; 2. fixed shower head in the shower - really irritating as I don't always want to wash my hair and I like to shower without getting my hair wet.

So overall - very good. Please put a minibar fridge in the room and install a hand held shower - then the hotel would be perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCB2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you so much for your positive review of our hotel - and thanks for your constructive criticisms as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Good place for a short time. Check in staff need to learn about being pleasant to your guests. One tall male staff member in particular was very arrogant. The bed sheet had a small section with a couple of what looked like blood stains on them.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thisworldishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Thank you for your comments. We will look into the matters that you raised as service excelllence and cleanliness are amongst our top priorities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews