We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel - really poor Reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Okay this a medium priced chain hotel - a sort of South African equivalent of the UKs Premier Inns, but where as Premier Inns have really got their act together in terms of service and value, (Honestly a UK hotel that doesn't rip you off and treats you as a valued customer!) this branch is a very poor advertisement for the brand. The hotel is an attractive building, and the guy at the front door even greets you in a pith helmet, but the next impression you get almost wants you to turn tail. The team at reception, without exception in my experience of two visits, are sullen and unwelcoming. They barely make eye contact, they make no attempt to welcome you or acquaint you with the hotel's facilities, and if the answer to your question is a negative they just shake their heads and don't even verbalise their response. The rooms are okay and well maintained but the all important impression is that you're just another customer and they don't care whether you enjoy your stay or contemplate a return visit. I certainly won't be back!

Room Tip: Come prepared for an indifferent welcome.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shylocktubal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
There are newer reviews for City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

Everything about this hotel was functional and easy. It's safe, located in a small shopping complex with good restaurants so you can wonder around in the evening. Room was comfortable especially the bed and it was lovely and quiet. I only had breakfast one morning which was ok. Really nothing to complain about at all and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinB06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thanks for your comments - now don't be a stranger, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Dont expect bells & whistles. Here they play by the rules. Even the usual welcome drinks were missing on the day that I sayed over. However they did have a large group booking in - perhaps this upset the normal routine a bit. Service is cordial and the rooms comfortable and clean. biggest plus factor is the large number of shops and restaurants within walking distance. You definitely won't need transport for dinner. Access to the N1 freeway is also a breeze.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paarlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Thanks for your review - sorry about the lack of bells and whistles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed for 3 nights during a business trip. The hotel and facilities were very nice and the staff was friendly. Breakfast was good with eggs on order and fresh bread. the shopping center opposite the hotel is a nice bonus with plenty of dining options.
Gym was small.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thanks for your review - we're a glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff friendly - see you again soon, we hope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I was reluctant to try a new place in Pretoria, but am so glad that I did. This is a very good City Lodge-new, clean, good parking, attentive staff, good breakfast. The best thing about this is the location--there is a nice new mall right there and you don't have to go far for dinner. Also, even though you have to pay for internet, it is very fast. Will absolutely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler2009Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thanks for your kind review - we're also glad that you found us and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I stayed at the City Lodge for more than a week along with my husband who was on official trip to Pretoria. I found this hotel to be most conveniently located. It is bang opposite a Mall with some very nice restaurants like Koi, Vivo Telo and Col Cachhio. It has a big super market too and some other nice shops. The location is unbeatable.

The hotel itself is nothing fancy-dancy. It is what you get for what you pay. Everything is neat and clean, but you have to pretty much do all of the luggage hauling etc yourself. The Lodge claims that it is able to keep its prices competitive only because it keeps its costs low. There is nothing to complain about the hotel but there is nothing to rave about either. The staff are nice, the cleaning crew is very friendly. The hotel restaurant is good and all of the restaurants in the Lynwood Plaza deliver to the hotel. So that is very useful. Again the location is awesome and very safe.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We found absolutely nothing wrong with this property, i.e. it met all expectations of a 3-4 star property. Clean rooms, clean public areas, friendly staff from front office to cleaning staff. Pleasant small touches i,.e. the free apples and Fruitjuice, and tasty muffins in the morning. This is a new hotel in a very upmarket area, and the large variety of upmarket restaurants across the car park should suit most food aficiaonados. The only complaint and hence the not excellent rating is the 15 minutes free wifi whereafter charges apply, and its NOT cheap! Silly, and a bad and antiquated marketing ploy that should be addressed post haste.

Room Tip: High floor
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gazzcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thank you for your comments - our wifi policy is under review. so watch this space!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
2.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
#19 of 73 in Pretoria
93 reviews
1.1 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#3 of 73 in Pretoria
273 reviews
5.3 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
1.5 mi away
The Capital Menlyn Maine
The Capital Menlyn Maine
#27 of 73 in Pretoria
17 reviews
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
Courtyard Hotel Arcadia
#17 of 73 in Pretoria
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood

Address: Corner Lynnwood and Daventry Roads | Lynnwood, Pretoria 0040, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range: £85 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the new Lynnwood Bridge complex, City Lodge Lynnwood adds a much-needed business and leisure accommodation dimension to the eastern side of Pretoria. Its 205 tastefully decorated bedrooms are complemented by three board/meeting rooms, a coffee shop, a fitness room, a swimming pool and wireless internet throughout the hotel. The hotel is close to the world renowned CSIR, a short drive from the Union Buildings, Pretoria’s CBD and the city’s other cultural, shopping and entertainment facilities. It is also ideally situated for easy freeway access to Johannesburg, OR Tambo Airport and Polokwane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Lynnwood Hotel Pretoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing