We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Pretoria
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very nice stay. Quite comfortable, nice room sizes, and underground parking. Also close to the highway, and close (walking distance) to a number of nice restaurants, and the Atterbury Theatre. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dirk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We thank you for the positive review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and were happy with the convenience of the hotel's location. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

A decent hotel, standard rooms of a good size, comfortable beds. Service is good, friendly staff. Good location for business with options to eat out in different places just in front of the hotel. If you have time go and have breakfast at the cafe opposite the parking!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Christophe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thanks for the great review. We're pleased that the staff were friendly and you enjoyed the service, as well as the convenience of the hotel's location. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I am generally very satisfied with everything offered by City Lodge. However, I was very disappointed by the level of service received during a recent check-in. From not finding my reservation to being told "We only have room xxx available for you" (thank you -- that made me feel so very welcome). Also, the bathroom sink had old, hard, dried toothpaste in it from a previous guest. :(

It's a very conveniently located hotel so the level of professionalism by the reception staff and attention to detail needs to be addressed before guests start being tempted by the competition in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh-Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for the constructive review. We're sorry that your interactions with our staff were not up to standard. We will look into this matter - as we do with such issues. We hope you give us a chance to change your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I am a long-standing supporter of the City Lodge group. The only minor down side of this one is the smallish rooms, with rather bleak views from some sides. Other than that, it ticks all the boxes for a business hotel. It is adjacent to a range of ( rather characterless) restaurants in the Lynwood Bridge centre and has fantastic access to the N1 and the technology hub in the vicinity of the CSIR.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

We thank you for the informative review. We're glad you enjoy staying with us - and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel is located conveniently about 30 minutes from Johannesburg International Airport. It is across the road from a small shopping area with a good selection of restaurants. five minutes walk away is a larger mall with supermarkets and banking facilities.The hotel is comfortable, though does not have many amenities. Breakfast is buffet style and includes a good selection of options. There is a small pool and tiny fitness room with with three pieces of equipment. The hotel does not serve evening meals. I was surprised not to have the option of electing not to have towels and bed linen changed every day, and had to insist quite strongly that as a long-stay guest I did not need this. It is not the hotel's policy, it seems, to operate conservation measures. A point to note is that the nighyly rate does not include breakfast.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms are away from the building works to the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRKernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We thank you for the constructive review. We are glad that the breakfast was satisfactory. We will certainly look into your issue with the linen as we do with such matters. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed here 14 - 18 May 2014 for business. It was very convenient located for my purposes. Staff was generally friendly and helpful. That said they did not exactly volunteer any information - for example, apparently if you want to eat at any of the restaurants in the across-the-street shopping center and charge it to your hotel bill you need some kind of voucher from the hotel (I only needed to eat there once, and found out too late). Service at breakfast was a bit on the slow side, especially getting some coffee served at the breakfast table - 3 out of 4 mornings required elaborate waving to draw attention to me. A bit of effort on the service side and i would have easily scored it a 5.
As for my room, I had no problems - it was well-proportioned, cleaned promptly, more than adequate bathroom, and desk space.
The restaurants opposite the hotel was really good...
Overall, I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prof_rab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We thank you for the good review. We're glad that you found the staff friendly and helpful. We will look into the issue regarding the service you received at breakfast. We do hope you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

City Lodges are generally very appealing hotels and have a variety of types to suit the pocket and purpose. I have stayed in many types of hotels belonging to the City Lodge group but the City Lodge in Lynnwood, Pretoria is amongst the best. Service is excellent - from the front desk to the dining room. Rooms are clean and well-specced, meals are of a high quality and breakfast is extensive and nutritious. Access to the N1, city centre and surrounding suburbs, institutions and companies is superb. If you are on business in Pretoria, or looking for a relaxing getaway in the big city, this hotel is hard to beat. Just wish they could offer constant free WiFi instead of having just one hour free. However one can buy additional time.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

We thank you for the fantastic review. We're glad that you enjoy staying with us at our City Lodge Hotels. We're also happy to hear that you enjoy the meals as well as the quality of the rooms themselves. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.1 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#4 of 74 in Pretoria
293 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
1.5 mi away
The Capital Menlyn Maine
The Capital Menlyn Maine
#19 of 74 in Pretoria
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
9.0 mi away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#11 of 74 in Pretoria
182 reviews
8.9 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#20 of 74 in Pretoria
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood

Address: Corner Lynnwood and Daventry Roads | Lynnwood, Pretoria 0040, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range: £80 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the new Lynnwood Bridge complex, City Lodge Lynnwood adds a much-needed business and leisure accommodation dimension to the eastern side of Pretoria. Its 205 tastefully decorated bedrooms are complemented by three board/meeting rooms, a coffee shop, a fitness room, a swimming pool and wireless internet throughout the hotel. The hotel is close to the world renowned CSIR, a short drive from the Union Buildings, Pretoria’s CBD and the city’s other cultural, shopping and entertainment facilities. It is also ideally situated for easy freeway access to Johannesburg, OR Tambo Airport and Polokwane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Lynnwood Hotel Pretoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing