We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid Back Sunday Indeed!”
Review of Kievits Kroon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kievits Kroon
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Laid Back Sunday Indeed!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Myself and fiance' spent a truly memorable Sunday at Kievits Kroon!
The Laid back Sunday spa package exceeded all our expectations!
The Staff at the venue were all extremely helpful and attentive,
The lunch at Granita was an experience all on its own!
Could not recommend this place more!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thanks for the high recommendation! I'm pleased you enjoyed your Laid Back Sunday with us and hope to see you back again soon.
ALAN O'LEARY, MANAGING DIRECTOR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    90
    34
    11
    17
See reviews for
25
167
9
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I took my partner for a surprise night away at the beginning of April and was wowed from the time of the booking to the time we left. The service experienced was of a high standard and really a pleasure. The dining was also really great with an awesome variety. The spa is worthy of the awards it holds as the facilities, therapists and treatments were absolutely lovely. The complimentary birthday welcome basket and cake at dinner were also simplw yet effective additions. Your gardens are just beyond beautiful and it definitely won't be the last time we visit. Thanks to an incredible team.....much love - Donna and Tumi

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Your fantastic feedback is highly appreciated and makes all the hard work by our team worth while! Thank you for your support and positive comments. We look forward to seeing you again at Kievits Kroon.
ALAN O'LEARY, MANAGING DIRECTOR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I spent a night at Kievits Kroon. We had a wonderful time. We booked a couples' massage at the spa which was excellent and enjoyed using the spa facilities. Dinner and breakfast was outstanding. The staff are so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Just what we needed and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
It's very rewarding to receive such positive feedback, thank you! Your comments have been passed on to the team and we look forward to your next visit.
ALAN O'LEARY, MANAGING DIRECTOR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Kievits Kroon is a beautiful property with a friendly, capable and loyal team of staff. We had a fantastic dining experience in Granita, the tasting menu with wine pairing is an absolute must! The rooms are luxurious and spacious with all the amenities that you would expect from an upmarket hotel. It was a real treat and I can't wait to go back. Thank you Kievits Kroon!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carien O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
It's wonderful to have such positive feedback from our guests, and the staff really appreciate it. Thank you for taking the trouble to post this review. We hope to see you back soon.
ALAN O'LEARY, MANAGING DIRECTOR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I have been searching for a stunning venue to get away from home without trekking for hours. Kievits Kroon is just that place. We spent an afternoon at the spa where we were treated like royalty and an evening enjoying the fine food that they offer. The cape Dutch setting is stunning and the VIP suites are a must treat for a special night away from home. Privacy is guaranteed and service is attentive. The resort paid special attention to my booking request and all my small requests where attended to and they even added their own special treats.

We will make this a regular night out venue! Only 50 minutes from JHB.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SeanJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for this wonderful feedback and for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you back at Kievits Kroon.
ALAN O'LEARY, MANAGING DIRECTOR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roodepoort, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was our 5the stay at Kievits Kroon and we will keep going back. What an amazing getaway. It is wonderfully relaxing, service is excellent and the Peaking Duck starter we ordered is the best food money can buy. Thank you to all the staff at Kievits Kroon for your great service and hospitality. We will see you soon!!!!!

Room Tip: The corner units are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your great feedback and for your loyal support. Our team will be delighted to read your comments and see that their hard work and dedication is being recognised. We hope to see you again soon.
ALAN O'LEARY, MANAGING DIRECTOR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

In my culture there's a saying that says a good thing needs to be repeated. So for me Kievits Kroon like all good things needed to be repeated. Let me start by saying this is the second time I have booked for a picnic at Kievits Kroon. The first picnic was on the 16 February 2014 for me and my partner and boOooy were we given 5 star service which exceeded our expectations. Our waiter Thabang who also served as on my second picnic was very friendly and professional through out.

After having such an awesome experience at the hotel, I made a suggestion to a couple of my friends that we should have my friends bridal shower there, and they all agreed. I did the booking with Nicole Lamprecht who was so patient and helpful with all the chopping and changing we made. Come Saturday 22 March for my friends picnic bridal shower...oh my word...words cant describe how all our friends were so blown away including the guest of honor the bride. The set up with beautiful, the food was divine and very substantial. The service from all staff members who were on duty was very heart warming.

Kievits Kroon is more than deserving of being called the number 1 picnic spot in Pretoria. They truly go above and beyond to guarantee guest satisfaction. Kievits gets a 10/10 for me:)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
What a great idea to have a picnic for a bridal shower. I'm delighted it worked out so well and that you all had a great time. Thank you for this wonderful, positive feedback. I will make sure that the Kievits Kroon team sees your review and pass on your compliments to Nicole and Thabang. We hope to see you back at Kievits Kroon soon.
ALAN O'LEARY, MANAGING DIRECTOR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.3 mi away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#14 of 73 in Pretoria
160 reviews
1.4 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#21 of 73 in Pretoria
138 reviews
10.3 mi away
131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#10 of 73 in Pretoria
304 reviews
8.9 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#4 of 73 in Pretoria
264 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#11 of 73 in Pretoria
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kievits Kroon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kievits Kroon

Property: Kievits Kroon
Address: Plot 41, Reier Road | Kameeldrift-East, Pretoria 35, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kievits Kroon 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning country retreat, synonymous with style and elegance, Kievits Kroon is the perfect hideaway for romantic weekends and an ideal choice for corporate groups that seek a unique business experience away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Conveniently located just outside Pretoria and 45 minutes from Sandton, the estate is a superb destination that strikes a harmonious balance between sensory indulgence and luxurious hospitality. Known as the "Winelands in Gauteng" because of its Cape Dutch-style architecture, the estate boasts expansive lawns and gardens with a sparkling lap pool, a wellness spa with outstanding thermae facilities, and a gourmet restaurant, Granita. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kievits Kroon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing