We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a long stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Farmers Folly Guest House
Ranked #15 of 360 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Great place for a long stay.”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I spent 3 months at Farmers Folly in a long stay room (down next to the pool) while working in Pretoria. Great privacy, comfortable room. They provided a hot plate and microwave. The only downside was the tiny freezer didn't freeze things properly - which was a bit difficult for a long stay.
Staff were very friendly and helpful - gave me an extra fry pan when I asked for it! Service was fantastic. Great location too. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmersfolly, Manager at Farmers Folly Guest House, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your great review.
We really enjoyed having you with us at Farmers Folly Guesthouse.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    27
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
21
17
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The room was nice and spacious. The breakfast perfect. Friendly helpful staff. Large French style doors leading out into a beautiful garden. I was perfectly happy staying here and would again on our next visit to Pretoria.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laschmale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmersfolly, Manager at Farmers Folly Guest House, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you very much for this great review on Farmers Folly Guesthouse.
We are so delighted to here that you have enjoyed your stay and that you will return to Farmers Folly Guesthouse again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I spent three days at Farmers Folly and I have to think hard to remember a better place to stay. Very comfortable rooms, nice garden, quiet and peaceful location and very friendly staff. I did not miss anything and felt at home immediately.
Definitively a recommendation!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heiko A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmersfolly, Manager at Farmers Folly Guest House, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review on Farmers Folly Guesthouse.
We also enjoyed you here with us and we are very glad to hear that you felt at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichtenburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I have had to travel to Pretoria on numerous occasions over the past few years and have stayed in a number of very forgettable Guest Houses which make great claims to wonderfulness on their websites - In my opinion Pretoria guest houses can take a leaf out of the book at Farmers Folly which has consistently catered perfectly to my needs providing an all round positive experience time and again. The Hostesses are always warm and friendly and go out of their way to assist you. The gardens are quiet, pretty and immaculate (first impressions do count!), the living and dining areas are prettily appointed with a suggestion of grandeur from its time when it served as an ambassadors residence. The well equipped bedrooms are neat and clean and the breakfasts are delicious and generous! This is real value for money, home from home accomodation!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer-Sannieshof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I spend 4 nights in the self-catering studio apartment # 10 and was pleasantly surprised.
The apartment contains an en-suite (small) bathroom, king-size bed, desk, open closets and a kitchenette, fully equipped with fridge, cooker and cook-ware, table and chair.
A wall-mounted flat-screen TV to view from the bed.
The bed is comfortable and so are the pillows.
All in all, just right in a quietly understated, casual style without too much fluff or frills.

There's still some lingering evidence of the past in this former ambassador's residence; the garden and pool area are compact but adequate and reflect a homey, private atmosphere.

WiFi is spotty at best, mostly in-'n-out at night.
And be aware of the constant drone of the pool equipment just below the window at this particular location in the pool area - it's running day & night 24/7.

Staff is friendly, helpful and not overbearing - quietly available in the background to assist with any issue.
Upon departure, Heidi graciously offered a ride to Hatfield station, which was much appreciated on a Sunday without bus service - Thanks once more Heidi !

Will certainly return to this delightful place !

Room Tip: Be aware of the constant drone of the pool equipment just below the window of room # 10 (even # 9) i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nomad_1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mons
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Very friendly staff. Beautiful room (very spacious - with very nice bathroom, wi-fi, fridge, micro-wave, etc.) and garden. The place is big and you will really feel at home. Safe parking, pool, excellent breakfast, huge screen in the living room. It is better to have a car to go there but you can also walk about 10min to catch a Gautrain bus (going to Hatfield Gautrain station) or 20min to catch another Gautrain bus to Menlyn shopping area. Heidi can also drop you anywhere if you need.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

There were great rooms at this guest house and the staff were really friendly however the directions to the guest house were not very precise and therefore left us driving around aimlessly until a security guard pointed us in the right direction. The fact that Farmers folly is not registered in directory enquiries did not help our situation.The staff apologised for this very earnestly. Breakfast was served within the guest house however the fact that there was nowhere to get diner within the guest house meant that we had to go out each night for diner or call for "mr delivery" whose prices are not inconsequential. The rooms were great and the wooden panelling and old appearence lead to a feeling of grandeur.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globetrotters S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
3.6 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
2.4 mi away
Melvin Residence Guest House
2.3 mi away
SereNight Guesthouse
SereNight Guesthouse
#7 of 360 in Pretoria
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Bohemian Rhapsody Guest House  &  InnTshwane Lodge
4.0 mi away
Dinkwe Guest House
Dinkwe Guest House
#36 of 360 in Pretoria
59 reviews
1.2 mi away
Osborne Guest House
Osborne Guest House
#63 of 360 in Pretoria
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmers Folly Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmers Folly Guest House

Property: Farmers Folly Guest House
Address: 40 Farmer's Folly Street | Lynnwood, Pretoria 0081, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 360 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Farmers Folly Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home-from home experience set in a secure garden suburb, located in the Eastern Suburbs of Pretoria, offering guests a relaxed and stylish environment for short and long term accommodation. Centrally located in a gated security suburb of Lynnwood, heartland of the old eastern suburbs of Pretoria, you will be minutes away from all major businesses locations, schools, universities, hospitals and highway access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Farmers Folly Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing