We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pretoria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Orient Private Hotel
Ranked #9 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I was invited to a Woman's Day lunch and the venue was The Orient. WOW, what a complete surprise. The décor and the rooms are spectacular and the service was excellent. Marie and her staff made us feel so welcome and special!

The highlight of the day for me was the fine dining at the Mosaic restaurant. The food was immaculately presented with such attention to detail. Each course was paired with a specific wine or champagne and the flavours and smells were out of this world and so delicious!

This is a truly special place and an experience you won't forget.

Thank you to Mari and her wonderful team for a glorious day!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vadele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
58
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel was absolutely beautiful, with absolute attention to detail in terms of the rooms and surroundings. I felt like I had been transported to some North African paradise, with rooms such as 'Nineveh' evoking times gone by. The rooms were fantastic, with a feeling of opulence. The 'Mosaic' restaurant had the most mouth-watering 7 course tasting menu with matched wine which really was the highlight of our visit. The staff were so friendly & nothing was too much trouble, including the sommelier, who was on-hand to share his knowledge of the impressive & extensive wine-list. I cannot recommend highly enough. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missechsinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a marvellous experience! Everyone should spoil themselves to the luxury that is to be had at The Orient at least once in their lives. From the warm welcome by the staff to the sheer decadence of dinner... An outstanding trip to another world. The on site museum and cinema are a little bonus tucked into the joy, along with the teddy to take home. Warm memories and an eagerness to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamcs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We slept over at the Orient last week after enjoying a heavenly dinner in the Mosaic. It is a most impressive venue situated in a tranquil conservancy 30 minutes out of the hustle and bustle of Pretoria and not much further out of Sandton. The architecture, furnishings and appointment as well as the lavish display of art rank among the best I have seen anywhere in the world. I would certainly place it on par with the Rambagh Palace in Jaipur.

We forgot to mention at the time of the booking that my wife is disabled but Mari resolved the problem in a flash, re-assigning us to a ground level suite (and in very magnanimous fashion did not even charge us for the more expensive suite). The absence of any check-in formalities is as impressive as the absence of TVs in the suites. Guests are pampered like royalty in the tranquil yet opulent surroundings. The service and attentiveness of all the staff are very impressive and it is clear that they are all very well trained. Mari’s exemplary management of the hotel proves that an owner-managed enterprise cannot be beaten.

The pricing of the accommodation is very reasonable and offers very good value. I would very strongly recommend a stay over after a dinner at the Mosaic.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohSch59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Fantastic moorish themed boutique hotel just outside Pretoria. 9 beautiful suites all individually decorated and really plush. Great location in the Francolin conservancy and of course home of the best restaurant in the country along with the most extensive wine list. The Orient is not only a hotel, but is rather a culinary destination to be savored.

Room Tip: Book early as the hotel and ask for an upstairs suite with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maeson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

The Orient is a small boutique hotel. It is unbelievably luxurious, with amazing decor and attention to detail. My husband and stayed for one night. We loved our stay, and the highlight was the degustation menu at the acclaimed restaurant, Mosaic. This is an experience, not just a meal. The courses were beautifully presented, very innovative, and absolutely delicious. We would highly recommend treating yourselves to this special place, for a special occasion.

Room Tip: We stayed in Constantinople, it was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed at the Orient for a weekend and had dinner in the restaurant. Great service! Great food! Great setting! What more do you need to get away from it all. One suggestion though as made by previous reviewer morning coffee could be a bit of an issue re. timing having a second cup etc. hotel would definitely benefit from in-room coffee making facility. Other than that superb!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefCMosaic, Owner at The Orient Private Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear James F. Thank you for the beautiful review. I took your suggestion to heart with regards to a facility to make your own coffee in the room. Although we love to spoil our guests by serving morning coffee in the room, our guest will now also have an option to have a coffee machine in their room on request. Warm Regards, Mari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
12.9 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#3 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
17.0 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#5 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#13 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel
23.2 mi away
The Farm Inn
The Farm Inn
#16 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
21.3 mi away
Kievits Kroon
Kievits Kroon
#10 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orient Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orient Private Hotel

Property: The Orient Private Hotel
Address: R104, Elandsfontein ( Rural) , Francolin Concervation Area | Crocodile River Valley, Pretoria 1, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in the tranquil surroundings of the Francolin Conservancy, Restaurant Mosaic at The Orient is a perfect retreat for any gourmet traveler. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing