We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had an ultimate relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Manor Guest House
Ranked #233 of 357 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We had an ultimate relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was indeed an ultimate relaxation out of a busy Gauteng!

We stayed one night with my husband and enjoyed the couples spa experience the next day. Our bedroom, the Mbeki suite was exceptional, very spacious, clean and had a nice African deco theme. The staff gave us the best service, from the security guy, the waiters at the restaurant, Elrika gave us a warm welcome and Vinoliah and Mary our spa therapists were incredible.
I will surely book again in the near future.

Room Tip: Mbeki Suite is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ikhutsa, Owner at Mountain Manor Guest House, responded to this review, 13 July 2015
Thank you very much for the feedback provided, we appreciate your feedback and use our client feedback to improve our standards and performances as client Satisfaction is a very serious matter for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    4
    2
    3
    10
See reviews for
6
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I travel a bit and stay in many B & B's and hotels. This ranks with the worst that I have experienced. my wife and I stayed here to attend a wedding in the area.
The room that we were put in was in no way luxurious as advertised.
We had to force the sliding door open and closed as it was very difficult to move.
The door could not lock .
The lighting in the room is very bad.
The shower leaked more from the pipe than it flowed from the shower head.
Toilet seat did not fit so you had to sit half on the seat and half on the toilet.
Staff very noisy in the morning outside out room. Had to ask them to quieten down.

Maybe the other rooms are different, but based on the state of our room, I doubt it. Would not recommend this to any other traveller. Far more to choose from in the area at a similar price.

Room Tip: choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ikhutsa, Owner at Mountain Manor Guest House, responded to this review, 13 July 2015
Dear Valued Client

Thank you for the feedback on Tripadvisor, we have taken all the concerns mentioned buy our clients in to consideration and recently acquired our own property which addressed all the previous complaints.
We appreciate your feedback and use our client feedback to improve our standards and performances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pretoria hotels

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Me and my mom went for her birthday to the guest house our reception was great the manager made us feel very welcome ,do try the downtown restaurant on the premises ,and the spa is unbelievable thanks to all the staff for making my moms 80 Th. birthday such a pleasure .if you do not like to travel around in town this is the place to be have your breakfast lunch and dinner on the premises and treat your self to a treatment at the spa hubby can go play golf .very good idea for safety reasons not to travel in to town at night and the security is very good you will feel safe and away of the buzz of city life ....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ikhutsa, Owner at Mountain Manor Guest House, responded to this review, 13 July 2015
Thank you very much for the feedback provided, we appreciate your feedback and use our client feedback to improve our standards and performances as client Satisfaction is a very serious matter for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

My Husband and I were in serious need of some R&R. The Guest house has everything you need, including a jacuzzi and mini sauna. The Downtown restaurant also served us a wonderful meal. The staff are accomodating and we ended up staying an extra night just because. We will most definitely go back. It as wonderful gem in Pretoria.

Room Tip: The Madiba room is spacious and the bed is so comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ikhutsa, Owner at Mountain Manor Guest House, responded to this review, 13 July 2015
Thank you very much for the feedback provided, we appreciate your feedback and use our client feedback to improve our standards and performances as client Satisfaction is a very serious matter for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

I took my mom to Ikhutsa for an early Mothers Day gift. Our therapists were Vinolea and Salome and both were excellent. The spa offered a delicious lunch and lovely facilities. We had a relaxation booster package and really enjoyed it thoroughly. I would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ikhutsa, Owner at Mountain Manor Guest House, responded to this review, 13 July 2015
Thank you very much for the feedback provided, we appreciate your feedback and use our client feedback to improve our standards and performances as client Satisfaction is a very serious matter for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

I have stayed at Mountain Manor Guest House 4 times. I have enjoyed the guest house, it is a nice comfortable guesthouse, and a good value for the price.

I have also been to Ikhusta Spa (the spa on the premises of the guest house) on 4 occasions, and the first 3 visits were mostly lovely and enjoyable. I have returned and have recommended the spa to others as well.The last time I had an appointment at the spa, I asked if Vinolea (the best therapist I've had at the spa) was working that day and asked if I could request her to be my therapist. I was told that my request would be accommodated. She was not my therapist for the treatments. I understand that schedules change, but I would have appreciated being notified that Vinolea was not going to be working that day. I would have rescheduled for a time that she was there.

When we arrived for our scheduled appointment, we were taken to the treatment room located in the guest house (as opposed to the more private and tranquil treatment rooms by the pool) . The therapists were not ready for us (we were on time) and they went about preparing the room while we sat there waiting. Throughout the treatments (a hot stone massage and pedicure) both Lebo and Dolly had to leave several times because they had forgotten to bring the necessary items into the room to do the treatments. The room is not in a private or quite location. There was a constant stream of traffic walking by the doors as well as men working loudly just outside. I had to ask two times if the therapists would put on music to try to drown out some of the outside noise. At one point during the massage, a male worker walked in on my daughter and I, which is absolutely unacceptable. He had to be convinced to come back later to get whatever it was he had come into the room to get.

Because the therapists were not ready for us, the stones were not hot at the beginning of the massage. They didn't actually even start heating them until we were already lying on the massage tables, once again waiting for something that should have been prepared before we arrived. Lebo seemed to be very distracted. She would massage me for about 3 or 4 minutes and then continually leave me to move around the room adjusting this, or messing with that, or very loudly banging the stones together, or leaving the room for unknown reasons, and so on. She even stopped the massage about 15 minutes into it to light the candles in the room. I think the hot stone warmer must have been broken because they were constantly filling and boiling water in a water kettle to pour over the stones. Lebo dropped stones on me two times. I understand that the stones must be very slippery, but I've had hot stone massages before at other locations and have never had someone actually drop the stones on me. It was all completely unprofessional and not relaxing at all. I've actually had Lebo previously and was not impressed, this is why I specifically requested Vinolea.

If this had been my first experience with Ikhutsa Spa, I would have never returned and I would have specifically told friends to not book with Ikhutsa.

This all was bad enough, but I sent these concerns to the spa when they asked for my review of the spa. I never heard back from them. I never heard back from them and curiously, I was removed from their mailing list that I had been on for over a year.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank JRaySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ikhutsa, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Manor Guest House, responded to this review, 13 July 2015
Dear Valued Client
Thank you for the feedback on Tripadvisor, we have your concerns have been taken note of and resolved. We appreciate your feedback and use our client feedback to improve our standards and performances. You are most welcome to visit us at our new acquired premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
8.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
6.8 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
8.9 mi away
Arabelle Guesthouse
Arabelle Guesthouse
#132 of 357 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Sherewood Lodge
Sherewood Lodge
#17 of 357 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
13.2 mi away
Villa Amor
Villa Amor
#4 of 94 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
17.6 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#19 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Manor Guest House

Property: Mountain Manor Guest House
Address: 79 Henry Road, Shere AH | Pretoria East, Pretoria 0084, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 357 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heaven awaits your arrival!! Nestled in a quiet spot in the east of Pretoria, just of Lynnwood road. Above the hustle and the bustle of the city, here you will find Ikhutsa Mountain Manor Guest House, Day Spa & Deli. Ikhutsa means Relax in the African Tswana Language, our dedicated team aim to make each and every client's experience an Ultimate Dream in pure relaxation and Tranquility. The Four Star Facilities consist of luxurious accommodation, a Tranquil Country style Spa guaranteed to transform your tired body into a pinnacle of perfection. A Country Style on site Deli with a huge variety catering for Healthy and Naughty with fireplace to keep you warm in the winter, and a beautiful crystal clear pool to keep you cool in the summer. Unique function venue to cater for all most any requirements for special occasions, Birthday Parties, Baby Showers, Bachelorette parties, get- together s etc. Ikhutsa makes your special event a memorable one. "Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take but by the moments that take our breath away". Experience a safe tranquil neighborhood with guaranteed comfort and excellent service! We have a Country Style Deli on site with a huge variety for the Healthy and Naughty.We have 7 air-conditioned suites with en-suite bathrooms which can sleep in total 15 people. This little treasure chest is the perfect place and venue to just relax, unwind and enjoy yourself to full extent. Our accommodation includes breakfast and additional Al La Carte lunches to be served inside the Deli for a more warmer atmosphere or outside on the patio for a true nature view. The Spa relies on the combination of natural tranquility and the gifted hands of their therapists. Boasting an array of packages including full and half day spa packages, special occasion pampering, personalized and individual treatments, Ikhutsa is guaranteed to transform your tired body into a pinnacle of perfection. A day at the spa is one of the best ways to achieve inner peace, apart from meditating or eating an olive branch. Feel good inside and out with Full/half-day spa experiences. Ikhutsa invites you to the Ultimate Relaxation experience in soulful tranquility and peacefulness, combined with exceptional beauty and nature which together eludes in a magical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing