We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burger, huge choice and good value”
Review of Ed's Diner

Ed's Diner
Ranked #67 of 701 Restaurants in Pretoria
Price range: US$3 - US$11
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Ed's Diner is a retro diner that caters for the hungry! We specialise in BIG burgers and all-round comfort food, so if your in the mood for some ''bigger-is-always-better'' American cuisine or it's your cheat day, come round to Ed's for the best burgers on the planet and beyond!
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great burger, huge choice and good value”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I came to Ed's the first time and didn't know what to expect.

The place is huge and loaded with big groups of people. We have been in a group of 10 too. When we got the menue it takes a while to go through all the different style of burgers and hard to choose from.
Service was friendly and efficient, food came out the kitchen in a decent amount of time considering the huge 3 story location packed with people. Burgers were great and cooked the way u wanted them, the pounder really massive and everybody enjoyed the food. Portions are big so come hungry!
The only downside was the noise/acustic!! Difficult to have a decent conversation with the other end of the table without screaming to each other!! Wouldn't come here for a romantic dinner though



  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank macaco2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    43
    13
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Burger much?”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Every so often we feel the need for truly epic burgers. We head off to Eds and are never disappointed. The range of burgers in various sizes are truly inspired. Chilli cheese fries, biltong carpaccio and other amazing treats invariably sees us dragging our laden tummies out the door. Not fine dining mind you, but a rocking flashback to the days when diners were the place to be and be seen. Good fun and always good value. Goooooooo there

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Friday night & we all wanted burgers so we tried Eds Diner for the first time - we"ll be back soon! We hadn't made a reservation and so had to wait 10 mins for a table but we took this as a good sign, once in the decor and atmosphere were great. Fantastic choice of burgers, all of ours were cooked perfectly and came swiftly. Good service throughout and great value for money. Lots of other tasty treats were spied coming out of the kitchen which we'll try next time.

Helpful?
Thank Nanana100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secunda, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Burger”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Great burgers, come hungry! Patty cooked to your choice. Good prices, unique cocktail menu. We've visited a few times and keep coming back.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“From the days in Hatfield - still a favourite”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

If you feel like massive portions, good value for money combined with quality and taste get to Eds! Avoid the Pounder unless you want to take a 'doggy bag' home. Great milkshakes!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GertdeBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ed's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Ed's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing