We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matsuya

Matsuya
Ranked #135 of 668 Restaurants in Pretoria
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Pretoria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Matsuya is a really good Japanese restaurant. The food is good. I tried the bento box and it was satisfactory.The ambience is dull and the service is average. But the one that stands out is that you pay the bill....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Heartensoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Go for the Teppanyaki”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Most things I've tried at Matsuya are good - the spring rolls are divine, the sushi is refreshing (it is not rice heavy and drenched in mayo like most other sushi places in the area), and the service is pleasant. While the atmosphere is a bit drab, it is not bad. The real standout and the best reason to visit Matsuya is the teppanyaki. You can select a single protein or a combo for the flat top grill that comes with a choice of starter, choice of salad or fried vegetables, choice or rice or noodles, and is finished off with palate cleansing watermelon. We tried steak, prawns and salmon - all of which were superb and cooked as requested. When paired with noodles and vegetables, it is a hearty and filling meal and very good value considering the quality of the ingredients.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Irashaimase!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

Matsuya's tempura is good --- crunchy outside but soft inside (not soggy). The udon noodles I ordered was good but it should have been served piping hot. The sashimi we ordered was average (considering that fresh fish is difficult to source in Pretoria).

Price is competitive. Service is polite.

I was more happy in my first visit to Matsuya (which was last year). But I will definitely be back here in Matsuya --- to enjoy more tempura and tonkatsu.

Itadakimasu!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yokoramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“The best place in Pretoria for quality Japanese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

We love this place, it has the best Sushi in Pretoria. The quality is excellent. Very good service. The variety of the food is outstanding and I am always trying something different. Try the Teppanyaki Grill, exciting food preparation on a Japanese grill.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Fusion Fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Friendly staff, well presented servings, subdued decor, extensive menu and really delicious value for money food.

One of our favorite sushi restaurants, consistently enjoyable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grubcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matsuya also viewed

Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Matsuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing