We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing pasta”
Review of Fumo

Fumo
Ranked #54 of 693 Restaurants in Pretoria
Price range: US$10 - US$24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing pasta”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I 'm italian and i live in Pretoria I ate for three times the pasta with the crab ..was..excellent. The chef cokeed as if he is in Italy. The service was very nice...and the receptionist very kind... in italy to taste a good plate of pasta you have to wait 15 minutes ...mininum .. .and often people who does not eat the pasta "al dente" after they say that pasta was uncooked. Maybe they never had trip to italy or better went to italy but walk in a restaurant for tourist. FUMO a little piece of Italy in South Africa. ..

Helpful?
1 Thank gargio5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    65
    38
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

If you are looking for good Italian food this is the place to go.

The pastas are good, freshly made and the sauces compliment each dish perfectly.

The service was out of this world. The waiters were friendly and very informative.

The wine list is comprehensive and is reasonably priced.

I would recommend this to anyone looking for a good italian dining experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JOHAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Was the chef on holiday?”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We went to this restaurant based on the reviews, and its ranking overall with some of our favourite dining destinations in Pretoria. Four appetizers, six dinners, and two bottles of wine later - our group declared the wine couldn't save the meal. All of our pastas were undercooked - not al dente, undercooked. Sauces were either bland or over salty. Myself and one other individual ordered seafood. We were the big losers on this event. Delicate crustaceans were turned to rubber. All of us couldn't stop comparing how poor our experience was in comparison to the reviews, so we engaged another couple we new the next day who had been sitting across the restaurant - their report - awful. Despite all of that two of our friends braved a return only to have worse meals the second time around. The interior has a pleasant design, but it is spoiled by a ridiculous grocery store display of Italian products. Outdoor seating or window seating gives views of parking and traffic. A good meal seems possible based on the collection of ingredients that were on our plates, but they must have some serious quality control issues here - was the chef on holiday?

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank IsaacCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fumo Restaurant, Groenkloof”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great food, nice interior ( revamped not too long ago) and friendly service staff. It is one of those typically very good restaurants; everything is great and everyone has a great time. Only one aspect was not up to standard - we seemed to wait exceptionally long for our food. Once it arrived though we were very satisfied with the quality and the fact that it was all delicious. Well worth a visit if you don't mind a longer than normal waiting time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Firstly they did not have the wine we ordered. Secondly they did not have the food we ordered. The waiter was unaware of this at both occasions. Everything was average except the price. Won't return anytime soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DeBruynJoubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fumo also viewed

Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Fumo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing