We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay. Will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in world wide! Perfect boutique hotel. nice relaxing pool and cocktail location. Perfect after coming off of safari. Quiet, beautiful view of the city, lovely room and bath. But it is the staff and owner, Mike, that see to your every whim! Food was wonderful, great homemade pasta and the breakfast was near perfection. Rus had the fish for dinner and it too was excellent. We will be back!!!!!!!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, Owner at 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Sharon and Rus
My apologies for a belated reply,
Sheri and myself would like to thank you for your wonderful review posted on TripAdvisor about 131. It was wonderful to be able to host you at our Hotel and we are happy to know your stay was great. We look forward to have the privilege of hosting you on your next stay to our beautiful country South Africa and especially in our most wonderful town of Pretoria.
Kind Regards
Michael Sheri and the team at 131

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

I was blown away by the friendliness of the greeting which went onto to include the entire team including Sheri and Mike (the owners) I was also impressed by the large choice on their Italian dinner menu. Their Bolognese sauce is delightful with the home made pasta. Their wine cellar filled with great wines. I am heading back there. Only 8 rooms! Well done.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank AussieIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

It was the perfect place to end my safari trip in South Africa, before returning home to Italy. The service is great and the people are super. I wish that I was booked for 2 days and not only 1. It would have been the perfect stop even before my safari , so that I could have acclimatised first then on to the bush.From arrival to departure this is the most personalised place `i have ever stayed at and all boutique hotels around the world can learn from them.

Room Tip: Room 7 has the views over the nature reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcoRicca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

I don't even know where to start. From the minute we arrived, everything was amazing. The staff welcomed us and were so friendly. The bedrooms were spectacular and whatever we needed they were always willing to help us. The hotel's Vehicle Transported us from the airport and to wherever we wanted to go and the level of service that was offered to us was marvelous. I am definitely going to return to 131 on Herbert Baker Hotel and recommend it to you!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMaxwell11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The Jewel in the Crown of our month in South Africa. The Combination of good food,perfect service and a feeling you are in your own house works so well. Marvellous!! We will return

Christopher and Diane Kearsey.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

The rooms at this guest house are of an exeptional quality with attention to detail in the little things like great quality linen and towels. The view is to die for and encompasses the whole city bowl. On various visits I have encountered heads of State, celebrities and notables who like me enjoy the personal touch offered by a family run establishment who are willing to go out of their way. I love the downstairs bar where guests can relax on the lovely terrace. Oh and by the way...for a change great wi-fi....and its free.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a view over the front garden. They each have a little terrace - very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Forti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We spent a single night here before a trip on the Rovos Rail, which seems to be a common reason to stay at 131 Herbert Baker. They readily accommodated our early check-in after our flight.

Facilities: The room was very comfortable (with a huge bathroom), the wifi worked well, and the views from the restaurant were nice (save for the power lines).

Location: The hotel is in an upscale neighborhood/suburb of Pretoria, and as far as we can tell is not close to much (certainly not close enough to walk). We had booked our own tour, and so got out for the day, or I am not sure how we would have occupied our time.

Food: Their Grissini restaurant does not seem to have a separate entry, and if you stay here you'll be eating a good portion of your meals there. The breakfast was excellent -- one of the best of our trip. Salads and appetizers were quite good, as was dessert (we had the red velvet cake three times). Mains, however, were not as good as the rest of meal.

Service: Overall, the service was a little chaotic for what aspires to be an upscale hotel. It was hard to tell who did what, as everyone seemed to do everything (desk, waiting, bar, service, etc.). The guys primarily working as waiters were really nice and friendly, but one of them seemed to get flustered when there were more than two tables. Check-out took a very long time.

Transportation: We needed to get some rand from an ATM, and the hotel drove us to the nearby shops free of charge. They also provided our transportation to the Rovos Rail station, our other frustration with the service -- at check-in, we specifically arranged a 1:30 departure to have time to take photos in the train yard. About 1pm that day, they wanted to combine us in a vehicle with a separate large group going to the station (who had just sat down to lunch and would take some time) and tried to assure us it would only be a "5 or maybe 10 minute drive." I pushed back, insisting on the previous arrangement, and we ultimately left about 1:35pm. It actually took 25 minutes with the driver maneuvering VERY aggressively -- and that other group wound up being the very last people to arrive at the Rovos Rail station, missing the welcome champagne!

It was an excellent place for a single night stay before/after the train, but I don't know that I would use 131 Herbert Baker for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sindssyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
2.7 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#4 of 73 in Pretoria
282 reviews
1.8 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#9 of 73 in Pretoria
314 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#14 of 73 in Pretoria
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Kievits Kroon
Kievits Kroon
#5 of 73 in Pretoria
379 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#11 of 73 in Pretoria
517 reviews
2.4 mi away
Court Classique Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel

Address: 131 Herbert Baker Street | Groenkloof, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range: £88 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incredible 180 degree view of the city of Pretoria, the exceptional 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel stands primely positioned in the leafy suburb of Groenkloof. Bordering on the Groenkloof Nature Reserve, the private boutique hotel offers discerning visitors to Pretoria and Johannesburg an exclusive refuge from the bustle of the city. Originally built as a private residence, 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel was exquisitely transformed to provide outstanding hotel luxury, catering perfectly to the refined tastes of its clientele. The meticulous attention to every detail, together with impeccable service and superb dining, creates a distinctive boutique experience that has quickly earned 131 on Herbert Baker an excellent reputation. The hotel offers nine beautifully appointed guest suites and rooms, each with its own private balcony or patio/terrace. For guests who prefer to celebrate life in supreme style, the magnificent Presidential suite includes its own private lounge and dining area. Guests are invited to relax, unwind and savour a delicious drink in the hotel lounge or on the lawn, with its magical sunset views. The hotel's extensive drinks menu includes a remarkable wine list, to impress even the most selective connoisseurs. For culinary delights and a spectacular view of the city, the hotel's exclusive Ristorante Grissini is open daily. A full English and continental breakfast is included in the daily rate, while lunch and dinner guests are treated to sumptuous gourmet creations. In-room dining is available to those who prefer to relax in the privacy of their own room, and al fresco breakfasts, lunches or dinners may also be enjoyed on your balcony or terrace. Weather permitting, extravagant high teas are served on the front lawn daily. Booking is essential! In addition, the hotel offers transfers, a boardroom that can accommodate up to 18 people, and a private swimming pool located in the inner courtyard. Accommodating up to 60 cocktail style or 35 seated people, the hotel may also be hired exclusively for intimate celebrations and private functions - ideal for corporate groups and diplomatic parties. 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel is conveniently located 10 minutes' drive from the Pretoria CBD, with easy access to all major highways. A mere 35 minutes' drive from the Johannesburg CBD and 5 minutes from the highly efficient Pretoria Gautrain station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing