We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Beautiful views with great staff”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here for our first night in South Africa on our honeymoon. It was a complementary stay as part of our trip on the Blue Train the following day. The stay started off shakily with the hotel having no knowledge of our booking. We had just landed after an overnight flight and were looking forward to showering and having a short rest, unfortunately we were made stay in reception for nearly two hours while the problem was resolved. The owner of the property was called in to fix the issue on a Sunday which we were pleased with, however a lot of fuss and talk regarding the high quality of clientele she normally houses ensued. She was adamant to let us know that she was really helping us out and doing us a favour because she normally only allocates a few rooms for Blue Train customers (this turns out to be untrue as the entire property was being used by people going on the train). Luckily they had a free room, which I'm sure they were paid handsomely for by the Blue Train, so I'm unsure as to why we were made feel like it was our problem when the two parties were able to solve the situation. The owner stated that she would now care for us like a honeymoon couple should be, in other words getting us some champagne and setting up a romantic dinner on our balcony looking over views of the area. Disappointingly, we were then charged for this bottle of champagne that we had not even asked for. On a more positive note, the property is stunning, the views are amazing, the food is exquisite and the entire staff are fantastic. If it weren't for the way in which the check-in process was handled and the way we were made to feel by the owner, I would have scored this review with 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BNM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, Owner at 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank You for your positive comments. As owners of the property we enjoy welcoming our esteemed customer base, as you where one of them, I am sure you appreciate the fact.

I am extremely happy in the knowledge that the Blue Train offered you a complimentary stay at our Hotel, however the fact that your booking was never confirmed with the Hotel by The Blue Train is of great concern to me, and I will take it up with them, especially since their error has negatively affected my rating on TripAdvisor.

Whilst you appreciated the fact that we came in on a Sunday to rectify this, we consider that to be normal. I apologies for having not availed your room to you after two hours, however check in time is also stated as 14h00 unless a room is indeed available, or by prior arrangement, which at that time neither was an option. We were happy to accommodate you in the lounge where you enjoyed a light lunch until your room had been prepared for check in.

As owners of the Hotel we value our integrity, with this in mind I would like to confirm with you that The Blue Train had indeed exceeded their allocation with us, and regardless of who travels with them, the source may vary, it is this very fact, by means of being owner run that we were able to make a decision to accommodate you, albeit without payment having been effected for your lost booking.

We will never compromise the success of a journey to South Africa, by a guest who we have the privilege of hosting at our hotel, it was with this spirit in mind that I personally drove yourselves in the Hotel Mercedes to the SPA, in order to interact and be certain that you were content. Please do accept my apologies should you not have felt that way.

Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for choosing South Africa as you honey moon destination, may the rest of your journey be SPECTACULAR, we look forward to hosting you in the future.
Kind Regards
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    12
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
44
4
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This wonderful hotel is situated within a Villa area. The view on Pretoria especially at night is amazing. The atmosphere was very personal and friendly. We stayed for two night. Each time we returned from an excursion, it was like coming home! Everyone was very caring and the service was great. Food and wine was delicious. The hosts, Sheri and Michael, gave us a time to remember...the Blue Bulls were a great experience...thank you so much!

Daniel & Patrizia, Switzerland

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, Owner at 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Daniel & Patrizia,
It was a great pleasure for Sheri and myself to host you at 131. It was wonderful to have you join us in the Hotel Suite at Loftus Versfeld enjoying the Blue Bulls rugby game.
I sincerely hope that we were able to assist in ensuring your trip to South Africa was an exceptional journey especially to our wonderful city of Pretoria, in the hope that you may return one day creating more wonderful memories.
Sheri and myself as well as the rest of the team at 131 really appreciate the time and effort you have spent on the rating you did on TripAdvisor for our Hotel
Kind Regards
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in world wide! Perfect boutique hotel. nice relaxing pool and cocktail location. Perfect after coming off of safari. Quiet, beautiful view of the city, lovely room and bath. But it is the staff and owner, Mike, that see to your every whim! Food was wonderful, great homemade pasta and the breakfast was near perfection. Rus had the fish for dinner and it too was excellent. We will be back!!!!!!!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, Owner at 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Sharon and Rus
My apologies for a belated reply,
Sheri and myself would like to thank you for your wonderful review posted on TripAdvisor about 131. It was wonderful to be able to host you at our Hotel and we are happy to know your stay was great. We look forward to have the privilege of hosting you on your next stay to our beautiful country South Africa and especially in our most wonderful town of Pretoria.
Kind Regards
Michael Sheri and the team at 131
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

I was blown away by the friendliness of the greeting which went onto to include the entire team including Sheri and Mike (the owners) I was also impressed by the large choice on their Italian dinner menu. Their Bolognese sauce is delightful with the home made pasta. Their wine cellar filled with great wines. I am heading back there. Only 8 rooms! Well done.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

It was the perfect place to end my safari trip in South Africa, before returning home to Italy. The service is great and the people are super. I wish that I was booked for 2 days and not only 1. It would have been the perfect stop even before my safari , so that I could have acclimatised first then on to the bush.From arrival to departure this is the most personalised place `i have ever stayed at and all boutique hotels around the world can learn from them.

Room Tip: Room 7 has the views over the nature reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoRicca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

I don't even know where to start. From the minute we arrived, everything was amazing. The staff welcomed us and were so friendly. The bedrooms were spectacular and whatever we needed they were always willing to help us. The hotel's Vehicle Transported us from the airport and to wherever we wanted to go and the level of service that was offered to us was marvelous. I am definitely going to return to 131 on Herbert Baker Hotel and recommend it to you!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMaxwell11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The Jewel in the Crown of our month in South Africa. The Combination of good food,perfect service and a feeling you are in your own house works so well. Marvellous!! We will return

Christopher and Diane Kearsey.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
2.7 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#4 of 73 in Pretoria
255 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#12 of 73 in Pretoria
495 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#14 of 73 in Pretoria
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#6 of 73 in Pretoria
297 reviews
11.5 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#19 of 73 in Pretoria
137 reviews
10.3 mi away
Kievits Kroon
Kievits Kroon
#10 of 73 in Pretoria
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel

Property: 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel
Address: 131 Herbert Baker Street | Groenkloof, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incredible 180 degree view of the city of Pretoria, the exceptional 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel stands primely positioned in the leafy suburb of Groenkloof. Bordering on the Groenkloof Nature Reserve, the private boutique hotel offers discerning visitors to Pretoria and Johannesburg an exclusive refuge from the bustle of the city. Originally built as a private residence, 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel was exquisitely transformed to provide outstanding hotel luxury, catering perfectly to the refined tastes of its clientele. The meticulous attention to every detail, together with impeccable service and superb dining, creates a distinctive boutique experience that has quickly earned 131 on Herbert Baker an excellent reputation. The hotel offers nine beautifully appointed guest suites and rooms, each with its own private balcony or patio/terrace. For guests who prefer to celebrate life in supreme style, the magnificent Presidential suite includes its own private lounge and dining area. Guests are invited to relax, unwind and savour a delicious drink in the hotel lounge or on the lawn, with its magical sunset views. The hotel's extensive drinks menu includes a remarkable wine list, to impress even the most selective connoisseurs. For culinary delights and a spectacular view of the city, the hotel's exclusive Ristorante Grissini is open daily. A full English and continental breakfast is included in the daily rate, while lunch and dinner guests are treated to sumptuous gourmet creations. In-room dining is available to those who prefer to relax in the privacy of their own room, and al fresco breakfasts, lunches or dinners may also be enjoyed on your balcony or terrace. Weather permitting, extravagant high teas are served on the front lawn daily. Booking is essential! In addition, the hotel offers transfers, a boardroom that can accommodate up to 18 people, and a private swimming pool located in the inner courtyard. Accommodating up to 60 cocktail style or 35 seated people, the hotel may also be hired exclusively for intimate celebrations and private functions - ideal for corporate groups and diplomatic parties. 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel is conveniently located 10 minutes' drive from the Pretoria CBD, with easy access to all major highways. A mere 35 minutes' drive from the Johannesburg CBD and 5 minutes from the highly efficient Pretoria Gautrain station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing