We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape”
Review of The Blades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Blades Hotel
Ranked #10 of 74 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I was fortunate enough to spend a weekend away at the Blades and I had a marvelous time there. The rooms are new, clean and modern and I found them very comfortable. We had an excellent dinner at the restaurant. I recommend their steak special. They have a lovely outdoor deck overlooking Roodeplaate dam, perfect for sun-downer cocktails. I didn't know this but a Blade is the name of the oar that rower's use. I can safely say I had an oar-sum time!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

The food was amazing and the layout was incredibly set out. Staff were friendly, helpful and well mannered. An evening that we will remember for life. We would recommend it to anyone who has really good taste for life

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank BenEkron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My girlfriend and I recently spent a weekend at The Blades. We were greeted by very warm and hospitable staff members and led to our room in an amazing setting looking over the water. Our dinner, in particular The Blades signature steak was delicious. Sunday Lunch and the live music created the perfect end to extremely enjoyable and relaxing weekend away.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, avoid the family suite and try to get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guddy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Had a really good stay. We had our five month old with us and we all felt very looked after. Spacious family room and a cot provided by friendly staff made for the perfect weekend. Great food and very tranquil grounds.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank slinkydog69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The room was well kitted out, and also nice and clean. I had a pleasant dip in the pool in the evening, but the highlight was the breakfast overlooking the dam the next morning! The staff were all very friendly and polite.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

The first time we visited The Blades was for Father's Day with three generations of dads in our family. There was even a petting zoo for the kids . Myself and the family enjoyed a great lunch at this very enjoyable venue. Awesome view from the deck .Will definitely be back.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Tortise01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Hotel is located in a beautiful setting, unfortunately the rooms were not quite clean (stained linen and towels, dirty closets). Breakfast was also quite disappointing for a 4* Hotel, the buffet was not covered with flies sitting on the salmon and the hot breakfast served tasted anything but good. Unfortunately despite its beautiful setting not recommendable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#20 of 74 in Pretoria
145 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kievits Kroon
Kievits Kroon
#2 of 74 in Pretoria
420 reviews
11.5 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#12 of 74 in Pretoria
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Farm Inn
The Farm Inn
#26 of 74 in Pretoria
177 reviews
10.1 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#4 of 74 in Pretoria
307 reviews
11.6 mi away
131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blades Hotel

Address: Plot 75 Zeekoegat, Kameeldrift Road, Pretoria 0035, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 74 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range: £66 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blades Hotel is an exclusive 4 star hotel situated on a 10 hectare expanse of indigenous Bushveld, built on the banks of the Roodeplaat Dam. We offer a unique combination of indigenous vegetation, landscaping and water-front luxury. The Blades Hotel is conveniently situated just 20 minutes from Pretoria CBD, 40 minutes from OR Tambo Airport or Lanseria Airport, and 50 minutes from Johannesburg, making it an accessible destination for both local and international guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Blades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing