We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great venue for team build” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Blades Hotel
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great venue for team build”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I held my team off-site at The Blades and was very impressed. The staff are friendly, professional, efficient and go out of their way to assist. It has a relaxed atmosphere and the view from the deck is amazing. The conference venues are well equipped and the accommodation is extremely comfortable. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbenade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    37
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
18
44
3
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I spent a lazy saturday with two girlfriends on the deck at the Blades. We loved the view, the tranquility and birdsounds. The service was attentive and the food excellent. The perfect place to get away from the city noise and restore your balance!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HdB529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I had my birthday dinner at The Blades and I (as well as the guests) were pretty impressed! They made such a lot of effort to make it a special occasion! Everything was planned well and it was executed as planned! We had our canapés and welcome drinks on the upper deck, overlooking the dam. We then moved down stairs to the lower deck where a beautiful table had been set. The service was good and the food delicious! After our desert they even treated us with a complimentary cheese platter, which was lovely! Overall, we had an excellent experience and they will definitely see us again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulene7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We recently enjoyed a night at The Blades and found it to be a wonderful escape from Jo’burg without the stress of a long drive. The rooms were elegant and comfortable with a great sense of privacy and the views over the dam made it feel like a country retreat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 66Cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Blades made my husbands birthday dinner truly special. From sun-downers and snacks on the deck to a lovely 3 course dinner in the cozy lower deck. All our guests commented on what a beautiful place it is, and on how professional the service was. We truly felt like VIP's and to top it all of the food was amazing!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBR2D2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was our second visit to the blades on the 21-23 March. On our first visit we had a great experience-room was great and clean. I think we stayed in Room 1
However on our second visit in March our room was not that great Room 3, burn marks on the carpet, the net on the 4 poster bed had dead insects on top, dust on the furniture.
They need to replace the couch it is soo uncomfortable. The rooms have a great layout and big.
Dinner-we ordered room service-food was not that bad,
Breakfast-slow service, table cloth dirty & food not great at all. We settled for toast and tea.
Also not very quite-the hotel is next to a rail road-so there is a goods train that goes past early morning which may disrupt your sleep.
They can def improve though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mstraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kruger National Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I was lucky enough to be spoiled by my partner on my birthday morning; A surprise picnic at The Blades!

The staff had set up a beautiful picnic spot (complete with blanket, pillows, and a large freestanding umbrella) overlooking the gorgeous dam. We were spoiled with a huge basket full of delectable items; Croissants (chocolate AND traditional!), crackers & a variety of gourmet cheeses, smoked salmon, avocado, muffins, cured meats, fruit, muesli with yoghurt and a berry compote and much more!
The staff were excellent; They looked after us enough so that we were not waiting around for them, but just enough so that they didn't interrupt our romantic time too much.

Thank you to the staff for helping to make my birthday such a memorable one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LodgeTrackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.2 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#21 of 74 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kievits Kroon
Kievits Kroon
#8 of 74 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
11.5 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#3 of 74 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#4 of 74 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
10.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
10.3 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#12 of 74 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blades Hotel

Property: The Blades Hotel
Address: Plot 75 Zeekoegat, Kameeldrift Road, Pretoria 0035, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blades Hotel is an exclusive 4 star hotel situated on a 10 hectare expanse of indigenous Bushveld, built on the banks of the Roodeplaat Dam. We offer a unique combination of indigenous vegetation, landscaping and water-front luxury. The Blades Hotel is conveniently situated just 20 minutes from Pretoria CBD, 40 minutes from OR Tambo Airport or Lanseria Airport, and 50 minutes from Johannesburg, making it an accessible destination for both local and international guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Blades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing