We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real fine dining, no joke!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real fine dining, no joke!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This has been the best Mother's Day lunch I've had. Service, presentation, taste, the fully Monty amazing. Definitely going back and recommending to all friends, even foes! We had only gone for lunch, did not stay over.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sportmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quintin W, Owner at Menlyn Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Thank you for your great review! Happy customers motivate us to do even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    70
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
28
70
12
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greyton, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the hotel. Staff were so friendly and willing! Our room was spacious and very comfortable with all the spoils expected from a 5 star hotel! The food was excellent and the restaurant staff were especially friendly and added to the 'vibe' of the place. This place is recommended to any business person travelling or people looking for a comfortable one stop place. Easy to find! Good location, but the highway can be heard from some rooms!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new section, they are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quintin W, Owner at Menlyn Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Thank you for the lovely review! We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

It is an incredible hotel! Five star service, beautiful spacious room, good quality food, beautiful ambiance, convenient location, helpful staff. It was a really lovely stay, i felt like at home.
I am looking forward to come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quintin W, Owner at Menlyn Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Thank you for the positive feedback. We appreciate the time you took to review us on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We recently hosted our wedding ceremony at the incredible Menlyn Boutique Hotel. Everything from the food to the service was absolutely amazing!! We had 140 guests and all of them were impressed with the
food(Lamb Shank, Ox Tail and Chicken roll), the low prices of the drinks, the 5 star rooms, beauty of the venue and the superb staff. They certainly over delivered on all their promises, they exceeded all our expectations and helped us to host our dream wedding. Certainly the perfect venue for any occasion. We give the Menlyn Boutique hotel and Black Bamboo restaurant a 12 out of 10 rating in all categories!!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quintin W, Owner at Menlyn Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you Chantel and Dupie, it was fantastic to host your special day.
We appreciate your support and the time you took to write a review.

Hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lephalale, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was not what I expected when looking at their website, and not in a good sense. It's a real missed opportunity. I am always searching and on the lookout for better accommodation in Pretoria and was so excited to see this new boutique hotel. The architecture and finishes are beautiful but there is a lack of attention to detail, dirty cutlery, curtains not hanged properly etc. You can give the restaurant a skip, although the food is good, it is downstairs of a blaring TV, we moved outside just to be able to have a nice dinner

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the old section, the hotel is right next to the No highway and it's very nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EliznaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quintin W, Owner at Menlyn Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate our Hotel.

Firstly I'm very sorry to hear about your negative experience at our Hotel, we pride ourselves on excellent facilities and service. Therefore I offer you my sincere apology for your unpleasant stay.

As far as the loud TV goes, we had a group booking of guests and they requested to use the lounge during a soccer match. It is not a usual occurrence. I apologise if it spoilt your evening.

I do however disagree with you that our website is a misrepresentation of our establishment, all rooms adhere to the strick 5 star criteria set out by the tourism grading authority, but you would be happy to know that all our "older" rooms are to be upgraded this year, from a decor point of view.

I would appreciate it if you to send me more information on where we lacked attention to detail in such a great manner that you gave us such a poor rating. I would like address these issues immediately.

You are more than welcome to phone the Hotel and ask to speak to me, alternatively you can send me an email.

Quintin Wiehahn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The property is five star rated and well maintained, only thing is that restaurant have got fixed menu options.
The SPA option is externally managed and operational time is 8 am to 6 pm, management needs to extend operational hours slightly to benefit business travelers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prakj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Just came back from visiting South Africa. Stayed at the Menlyn Boutique hotel for the business part of my trip. Loved it. Staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. The hotel is beautiful and comfortable. The food at the restaurant was excellent and the wait staff knew our orders before we made them by the end of our stay. Recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
4.2 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#4 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#9 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
5.2 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#22 of 72 in Pretoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#14 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menlyn Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlyn Boutique Hotel

Property: Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Address: 209 Tugela Road | Ashlea Gardens, Pretoria 0081, South Africa (Formerly Menlyn Guest Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Menlyn Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Tshwana Metropole, the 5-star Menlyn Boutique Hotel provides world-class offerings, including accommodation, fine dining and premium conferencing. This exceptional hotel caters to local companies, business and ambassadorial travellers to Pretoria, as well as local guests in their renowned fine-dining signature restaurant, The Black Bamboo. Having undergone a major renovation investment in 2012 with the goal of creating a first-rate hotel experience, the Menlyn Boutique Hotel has been praised for striking the delicate balance between relaxed leisure and professionalism. Menlyn Boutique Hotel offers its guests real value and a personal touch in all aspects of their offerings, which is reflected in an impressive guest return rate of 90%. Menlyn Boutique Hotel's 5-star facilities include sixteen beautifully designed standard rooms, two fully equipped self-catering units, eight spacious executive rooms, and their outstanding Presidential Suite. The hotel's conference facilities can accommodate a variety of group sizes, from small, intimate groups to medium sized boardrooms and spaces comfortably holding up to 120. The hotel also offers a variety of appealing function packages to suit any event's requirements, from birthday parties to business conferences. Among the luxurious extra amenities that guests are able to enjoy are the fully equipped gym and a tempting assortment of spa packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Menlyn Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing