We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Celebration”
Review of Caraffa

Caraffa
Ranked #25 of 686 Restaurants in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
127 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect Celebration”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Our second visit to this authentic Italian restaurant was as good as the first with excellent service, fantastic value for money and great ambiance. This is the place to celebrate anything. The food is always freshly prepared and comes to the table piping hot (no congealed sauces here). The hands on owner ensures that everything runs smoothly as only an Italian Mamma can do.
We will definitely be returning soon and in our eyes Caraffa is by far the best Italian restaurant we have ever been to. Well done to all the staff and management.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    52
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best italian food in Pretoria”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This family run restaurant has the best Italian food in Pretoria. The owner herself or her daughter will take the food order and does not mind if one wants to make changes to what is on the menu. The setting is not new but if one wants to eat a fantastic meal, then this is for the food lover. I do not think they are open on Saturdays and Sundays. There T-bone that they cook in the pizza oven is unbeatable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harmsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

First time at this restaurant and went on the spur of the moment. Polite and attentive service, food was great. When deciding what to have, was told the specials of the day, and was even brought a little taster of the rabbit stew to help make my decision easier. I will return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam0017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again”
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

The place needs a make over. Table cloths are a 100 years old, interior dates out of the fiftys.  It does not feel warm nor welcoming. As it was after 14:00 on a public holiday we were told that we can order only pizzas. So dissapointing!! About 7 to choose from! When pizzas arrive, not the best looking I have ever seen, and lack any real authentic taste. Sorry, we will not return.  Mimo's can do it better

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Douline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Pretoria”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

For business I get to go to the finest restaurants in Pretoria, and Caraffa is hands down my favourite. I have had most of their starters, Pizza on many occasions, steaks and even a lamb rumb. This place is hands down one of the best restaurants I have eaten at. The food is simply delicious and are good portions. It's owned be Italians and you can therefore expect some of the finest Italian ever.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caraffa also viewed

 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Caraffa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing