We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastico!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caraffa

Caraffa
Ranked #21 of 668 Restaurants in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastico!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Not the first time we went there and surely not the last! The last time I had Pasta frutti di Mare like this, was in Milan! Looking forward to the next visit ... Very romantic and an ambience as in Italy! 5/5

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank WaggieSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    50
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
SOUTH AFRICA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hate being ripped off ....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Met some friends there - restaurant only opens at 18:00. I had the lamb rack of lamb and made the mistake by not asking the price ... it was R160,00 and all I got was the rack of lamb .... I am not eating starch so asked for a little salad (so I did not take the starch or vegetables) .... but they charged me R28,00 for a little salad .... not my kind of restaurant ....

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, great service, comfortable surrounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Friendly service from the start. Starter & mains delivered timeously - beautiful food. Seating both indoors & outdoors (on the balcony - smoking section). Waiter was very professional...knowledgable on menu choices & wines. Italian music subtly piped through restaurant when the piano player was on a break - lends for a pleasant atmosphere. End of evening Irish Coffee was spot on (don't get that very often)! Price for 4 people which included 4 starters, 4 mains, 2 desserts, 2 bottles Cabsav, 4 local beers, 2 whiskies, 2 G&T's and 2 Irish Coffees came to a very reasonable R1 250 (excl. tip).

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewdowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Caraffa - Alwys Tops enven better in 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We are regular clients at Caraffa. Went there on Saturday 19 January 2014. Was impressed with new additions to the wine list at value for money pricing. The starter glass of, JC Le Roux Pongratz, Bubbly was a real winner among the ladies. We decided on a pasta and pizza evening. All dishes were superb. The usual live piano music in the background helped to set the mood of the evening.
My bill for 5 adults, including two focaccias, 3 pizzas, 2 pastas, 1 bottle white wine, 2 glasses Bubbly and 3 Cool-drink beverages, was under R700.00 including a service fee. We will be back soon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Charl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHB
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Pizza Place! Nice Ambience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

I really like the pizza here, restaurant has nice ambience. Fussy, traditional Italian host, always tells you to sit at the head of table if you're male, which I thought was absolutley funny, but she didn't, thought it was absolutely charming.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ABSaib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caraffa also viewed

 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Caraffa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing