We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Yet Again !”
Review of Cafe Beyritz

Cafe Beyritz
Ranked #19 of 703 Restaurants in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Caf%C3%A9-Beyritz/162206727173433
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disappointing Yet Again !”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I have eaten at this restaurant on a couple of occasions previously. The first time was during the first week of opening, it disappointing terribly. The 2nd a year later, still no better. I only go to this restaurant for either coffee or wine now, that's all. The wine is very well priced compared to the other restaurants in the same mall. This Saturday I ordered a specific wine (type and year) and they delivered the variety I wanted but a different year. The manager explained that the menus had all been printed wrong and there was nothing he could do about it. Well that just about sums it up really. The service is far from excellent, its average as is the food. One of the best things about the restaurant is that it is in a really lovely position in the mall.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edvard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    73
    21
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Breakfasts at Cafe Beyritz are brilliant - the food is of a high standard and the service is phenomenal. Also very reasonably priced, and the choice of outdoors/indoors is welcomed! Dinners are a bit pricey, but the food is some of the best I've ever tried - highly recommended for a 'special' event.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best brunch, and dessert to die for”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Cafe Beyritz is my favourite venue for brunch. I particularly love their eggs Benedict. They also have the best chocolate fondant dessert. Absolutely love this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CeliciaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kwazulu natal
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experienxe”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Excellent service, good company, superb steaks!! Varied menu, friendly staff, comfortable seating, an overall good experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank nataliekwazulunatal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious food, pleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Lovely restaurant in a bustling plaza with many options. We had 6, and there is a lovely round table which can be reserved in advance - thus it went to someone else, but do book it if you can. Our 'regular' table was fine, and the service was smooth and the food and wine delicious. I had the ostrich, which was tender and flavorable with a slightly sweet sauce. Others had a special of gemsbok, and they seemed pleasantly surprised with the tender meat and distinctive flavor. Would return and certainly recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobetrottingFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Beyritz also viewed

 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Cafe Beyritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing