We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pretoria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Magalies Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I spoiled my husband with a spa day for his 60th birthday and it was the best ever. WE will definitely do this again. The treatments were excellent and very professional done. The food was also very nice. The venue is not far from Pretoria and easy to do as a day trip. Excellent couples treat.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeldacaalsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    147
    38
    10
    3
See reviews for
31
271
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Limited menu though it caters for everyone. Well presented and tasty meals. Double rooms are adequate though bathroom felt a little cramped. Facilities are tidy and offer a variety of treatments including a sauna, Jacuzzi with a great view and pool side deck chairs. We would definitely spend another break here. Maybe explore the hiking trails.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank widget11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
507 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We (a group of 17 ladies) chose Magalies Mountain Lodge for our pampering weekend away. We all booked for 4 spa treatments and the organization to get all ladies pampered were excellent! The service was very good throughout the weekend and the spa treatments divine. All the therapists were clearly well trained.

The rooms are nice and spacious, but some of the rooms have only a double bed and bath, no shower. You have a wonderful down into the valley from the lodge. The food was very good although breakfast was a bit on the scarce side and we had to ask them to replenish a couple of the dishes, which was done without any complaints.

Thank you for making our ladies weekend even more special!

Room Tip: Room 1 has a king size bed with shower and corner bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PretoriaTravelfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Its a little peacefull place at the bottom of a mountain in Pretoria, the rooms are clean, they have Dstv and are very comfortable with a little bit of a place to sit outside. The resort has a spa, jacuzzi, Gym and sauna which is really a treat for a relaxing getaway. The food in the restaurant is definetely very tasty and advisable to have. Good place to go and get away for a relaxing time off.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatima G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We booked into the lodge for a weekend breakaway.
The lodge itself is fairly isolated, and located in Komatiepoort rather than Magaliesburg as the name suggests. There are no restaurants close by, so all meals and events would have to be on site.

The reception was friendly and efficient, and they provided all the details necessary for our stay.

The on site restaurant offered a small set menu, and the food served for all meals was good. The dining area had a huge fireplace which was welcoming, and the view looked out over the whole area of beautiful veld and mountains.

The rooms were really comfortable and tasteful, and had an in house tea/coffee as well as chocolates on the pillows. There was also an added chocolate box in celebration of the public holiday. there was also aircon and cable tv.

The whole lodge was clean and pristine.

The spa treatments scheduled for the next day were divine. I love the couples side by side treatments. The therapist gave the best head massage I have ever had!

They frequently have stay/spa package specials, and I would recommend to anyone in Gauteng for a short 2 night breakaway.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azima M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We traveled from George to Pretoria and stayed at Magalies as it is in a quiet area against the mountain , close Ondersterpoort Vet university . The lodge owner was most helpful with local information and our reservation was professionally handled by the owner .They have a spotless well run new Spar treatment facility with pool on site for those with time to be pampered.Although not yet tourism graded, they certainly meet the standard to be !

Room Tip: The newer rooms are on the side closer to the spar below the restaurant , with private parking at y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dawnve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pretoria
9.2 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#21 of 73 in Pretoria
138 reviews
4.8 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
8.2 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#4 of 73 in Pretoria
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
The Venue Country Hotel
The Venue Country Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hartbeespoort
13 reviews
7.9 mi away
Kievits Kroon
Kievits Kroon
#9 of 73 in Pretoria
334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Tree House
Coral Tree House
#34 of 361 in Pretoria
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magalies Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magalies Mountain Lodge

Property: Magalies Mountain Lodge
Address: 3 Vontina (Cnr Susan & Dorethea Street) | Kameeldrift West, Pretoria 63, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Magalies Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing