We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit, and still just as great”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pretoria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Magalies Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Second visit, and still just as great”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Lovely secluded spa environment, only 15 minutes from Pretoria.

The staff are all very helpful, and the therapists are well trained.
We were allocated a different room to our first visit, but it was just as charming.

The supper was divine, and eating while looking out at the mountain view was a treat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azima M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    143
    38
    10
    2
See reviews for
31
264
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We got an excellent service. The spa treatments were awesome just the dinner is a bit pricey but we enjoyed. The atmosphere was peaceful maybe the pool they should consider a heated pool as it was cold

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Everyone and everything was excellent, we really enjoyed ourselves and everything was taken care of, had great amenities and breakfast, I can't wait to take my friends there, next time we need to getaway.Every staff member we met was very courteous and friendly....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tebogo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Booked for my husband bday it was awesum the rooms are very clean and immaculate.Enjoyed the food Joseph outdone himself and the customer service impressive...Enjoyed the massage treatments as well still feel refreshed..I coming witj my friends on womens day awesum

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Zandile M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A perfect little escape from the realities of life.....the trip did not start off on a good note as there an error in our bookings. Whilst we were only meant to check in at 14:00pm, the Lodge called us in the morning stating we should have been there around 09:00am. While we greatly dis-agreed with them and also had email confirmation they vehemently stuck to the 9:00am check in time. This resulted in leaving home earlier than initially planned to be there at 12. When we did arrive, it was established that there was an error in the booking made by them and we should have arrived at 14:00pm. After the mix-up was clarified, we were allowed to check in early to the room and book our full body massage. The stay only improved from that point. The therapists were excellent at the massages and the lodge itself is located in a very peaceful and idyllic setting. Dinner is not included in the packages and does come at a cost of R150 pp for dinner and dessert. Drinks are paid for separately - the food was good and as there is not many options to eat close by you have no option by eating there. Breakfast is average (included in the package) - perhaps they should consider adding more cereals (only one option provided) and croissants to the menu. The room itself is neat, clean and tidy and comes with an air-con. Rooms closer to the spa have their own parking and are more modern. I just found the bed a bit hard - but that could just be my personal preference for a soft mattress. All in all, my husband and I had a nice relaxing overnight stay and I would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the spa are more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharikaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soweto, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Very nice and peaceful relaxed place to be in.We really enjoyed our stay,we looking forward to visit again.Please inform your guest to take their complementary gowns when leaving the place,We were so sad that we left ours,because we were not informed,we would have loved to own them as a remmemberance of our visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ivy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had a nice mid-week break just before Easter. The view from the lodge is breathtaking and the peace an quiet surroundings a great ++. I woud however have enjoyed a bigger bed as the double bed in our room 5 was not what we expected at a spa. Also no reading material like Magazines or newspapers available. The treatments we had (mostly massages) was great and the spa personal very friendly. No pedi, mani's and waxes available and that was disappointing as you put time aside and do expect that a spa would be able to provide it. This is a *** star establishment with no water in the rooms and we expected that at a spa. A breakaway from home but do not expect to feel pampered.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Petro N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pretoria
9.2 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#19 of 73 in Pretoria
138 reviews
4.8 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
8.2 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#4 of 73 in Pretoria
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
The Venue Country Hotel
The Venue Country Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hartbeespoort
11 reviews
7.9 mi away
Kievits Kroon
Kievits Kroon
#10 of 73 in Pretoria
321 reviews
4.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magalies Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magalies Mountain Lodge

Property: Magalies Mountain Lodge
Address: 3 Vontina (Cnr Susan & Dorethea Street) | Kameeldrift West, Pretoria 63, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Magalies Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing