We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30 bday”
Review of Tin Roof Cafe

Tin Roof Cafe
Ranked #8 of 696 Restaurants in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
1 review
“30 bday”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Excellent service, food, ambiance.The cake was exquisite. I liked the privacy and exclusivity of the venue.in fact even the whole staff was just great Thank you for making my 30th bday amazing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msndlazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    47
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
“Favourite restaurant”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Tin Roof Cafe is our treat restaurant. Jenny and her team are always friendly and the food never fails to be superb. It's a great place to take children as they can run around outside and it still appeals to adults.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ursula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Francois @ Tin”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Very nice , good quality food. Had a peper fillet. Not a huge menu but cover al the areas. Have a look on their website menu is available.

Helpful?
1 Thank francoisn974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullinan, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A visit to remember”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The ambiance of this venue was very relaxed yet charming. Unfortunately it will be less enjoyable in winter on the veranda. The food was first class and presented in a very trendy way. The smaller kids had space to enjoy themselves and the teenagers could keep themselves busy while the grown-ups enjoyed good company. Happy to recommend this venue

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch venue”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We organized a Sunday lunch at Tin Roof Cafe for a family occasion and it was a lovely setting - chilled, laid back, a bit like having lunch in the backyard only without you having to deal with all the hassles of hosting. We were seated on the "stoep" outside along with several other large parties so it was a little bit noisy but not really bad enough to complain about.

Owner was very helpful and responsive through the process of booking and organizing - she even let us bring our own birthday cake (I'm gluten-intolerant). she recommended we pre-order a selection of starters for everyone to share around the table and it was such a great idea! Would recommend it to anyone planning on taking a big group.

Food was really amazing all round (a la carte menu); healthy portions, great flavor pairings
and it's very obvious that fresh produce were used to prepare the dishes. The pork belly and fillet were the most talked about choices made in our group for mains (though I had the fish and also LOVED it) and the foccacia as starter/side nibbles. Wine list is somewhat limited but reasonably priced and we managed to select a nice white & red option for the table.

Only down sides were that there was a bit of a mix up with our bill and I had to make an extra payment after the occasion via EFT for charges which were accidentally missed out on our bill. Services was also below average; lady was not particularly friendly or helpful around the table and somewhat awkward. Made me think that she probably didn't feel like working that Sunday but in hindsight, she probably could have done with an extra pair of hands to tend to our table as we were a big group for just one person.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiemieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tin Roof Cafe also viewed

Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Tin Roof Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing