We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish restaurant, good seafood”
Review of Koi

Koi
Ranked #72 of 703 Restaurants in Pretoria
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Koi Restaurants, the leader in contempory Asian Cuisine. At Koi we strive to bring you the latest in Asian trends mixed with our own touch of Western style in a warm, welcoming atmosphere.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Stylish restaurant, good seafood”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A bit pricier than the average Pretoria restaurant but worth it. The dim sum platters are great for sharing and the sushi is very good - according to my sushi eating friend! Really enjoyed the seared tuna. Good wine list and proper beer. A winner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellerfromkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    74
    18
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yummy seared tuna”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stopped here for lunch with the in-laws and had a really fantastic lunch. Service was a little slow (especially considering the amount of staff running around and how empty the restaurant actually was). But the space is beautiful. The food was excellent. I had the Seared Tuna Salad - and it was an awesome awesome dish. Loved it. My partner had the dim sum and loved it. In-laws had dim sum and a duck salad - which they seemed to enjoy... but that tuna was really good!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JodySimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food..Poor service”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We've been to Koi a few times, we recently went to Celebrate my daughters 18th Birthday, the food was excellent as usual, Sadly the service was very poor, our waitress was slow, we could'nt understand her/ & vica versa.. & our food arrived at different times.. Fortunately as I said, good food, so we managed to have a good night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mairi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quite disappointing”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I love Koi. For a very long time after I moved to Pretoria I'd take the train to go have a meal at Koi. When I discovered that there's one in Lynwood I was excited.
My excitement was short-lived because:
*The waiting staff is lazy (no better word to describe it). How do you have to look for a waiter at an establishment like this?
*The waiting staff isn't well trained.
* the food is below Koi standard. My Tuna steak tasted good but didn't look appetising to me. Firstly just because something is seared it doesn't mean it must be grey. It must still look caramelised. Basic Food 101.

I will go back as this will save me a trip to Rosebank and not because it's amazing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mahlatsi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Asian Cuisine”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a delightful eating experience! The food was excellent with oustanding service! For the wine connoisseur there is a superb wine list! We will definitely go back to Koi!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koi also viewed

Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Koi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing