We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its like Second home...:)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glen Marion Guest House
Ranked #5 of 357 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
2 reviews
“Its like Second home...:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Both Billy and Poppie are excellent. lovely place. i really enjoyed company with Billy. he gave lots of information about CITY when you pass that place. always helpful (special for me as i called to pick and drop me very late night :) ). Great guys..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anand D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy H, Owner at Glen Marion Guest House, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Hi Anand

Thank you for your review. It is much appreciated. The management and staff at Glen Marion Guest House always endeavour to be good ambassadors of our beautiful country by giving the best we can. After all we have the responsibility to build our rainbow nation to be the best in the world.

Our best wishes to you and your family for the festive season and we trust that you will have a prosperous 2014.

Regards

Glen Marion Management and Staff - 19 Dec 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
25
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Suggest all other Guest Houses stay a night at Glen Marion and see how it should be done. In another Guest House I had to move to 2 other rooms to settle down for the night because of problems in the rooms. Glen Marion is absolutely perfect in all aspects. The next day i traveled and stayed in a Southern Sun Hotel a few Hundred kilometers away. Cold and full of flaws . I wished Glen Marion had a Guest House in that town to teach the Hotel how it should be done. Nothing is out of its place and everything is thought off. --- Points, i would give Glen Marion 110/100 for everything , including people , Billy and Poppie.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laserskar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy H, Owner at Glen Marion Guest House, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for the review. It was a privilege and pleasure to accommodate you.

The management and staff of Glen Marion Guest House has only one goal and that is customer service!

We hope to see you again when next you are visiting Pretoria, South Africa.

Have a blessed festive season.

Regards, Glen Marion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I was at Glen Marion for 3 weeks. It is a nice place with simple and clean rooms. Just near to big malls and just away from Highway so you will not have noise of vehicles going by. It is little far from CBD or even if your office location is in Pretoria West .
Rooms are good and clean. I enjoyed my stay as Billy and Poppie always made sure that i get good Veggie breakfast, even they welcomed me and let me use their kitchen for making my supper.
Overall a nice place and great hosts.
Looking forward to visit again.

Room Tip: Room 204 is nearest to WIFI router, so if you are Internet freak person, this room is best for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy H, Owner at Glen Marion Guest House, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your review SagarC. It is much appreciated. Feedback from our guests is our inspiration to fine tune the systems in the guest house to our guest's needs. We embrace change to improve our services continuously. We trust that we will see you and your colleagues again soon when next you are visiting our beautiful city Pretoria. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

On our way from old Europe to Mozambique my wife and I were looking forward to the opportunity to discover a bit of the Pretoria aerea and to get some rest in the process. As we always do, we reverted to TA for counsel, picked up the number one choice and went to Glen Marion and, as usual, the review was sound and the choice wise. Really I have nothing to add to my fellow travelers comments if to say that our room was even cleaner and our guests, Billy and Poppie, kinder and more helpful in a totally friendly and yet not intruding way than we could espect and imagine. Thanks, Billy and Poppy,for your wholesome hospitality, you run a beautyful house and we reccomand it heartfully. We hope seeing you again. Best regards and wishes, Sergio and Françoise


  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy H, Owner at Glen Marion Guest House, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hi Sergio and François

Thank you for your review. You were the first guests from the "Old Europe" and we did not know what to expect. We just did what we are used to and it was responded to with your much appreciated review.

Our small guest house can only grow with feedback from our guests. We are planning some extensions for the 2014 and will let you know of the progress.

Thanks for your support and visit to Pretoria, South Africa.

Glen Marion Guest House management and staff wish you a Merry Christmas and prosperous 2014.

You are welcome to visit us again on your next trip to South Africa.

Regards' Billy & Poppie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secunda, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

When on a Business trip, the only requirement i need is to find a Home away from Home.This was my second time around at Glen Marion and the Hosts Billy and Poppie realy made me feel at home from the moment i walked in until i departed 4 days later.Thank you Billy and Poppie and all of your staff and i will surely recommend your Guest House to friends and collegues that will visit the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerhardstoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy H, Manager at Glen Marion Guest House, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Hi Gerhard

Thank you for making time to write a review. We really appreciate your effort.

The management and staff of Glen Marion Guest House is proud of what they do. Guest service and comfort is our primary goal.

It was a great pleasure and privilege accommodating you.

We are looking forward to your next stay.

Regards
Glen Marion Guest House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

What a gem we found when we recently stayed at Glen Marion guesthouse in Pretoria! The hosts Billy and Poppie were so friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived that it felt like family we visited. The rooms are beautiful and spacious enough so that you can relax in front of the TV with DSTV channels or work at the table if you need to. If we wished to do so we could sit at one of the tables outside the rooms that overlook the very well kept garden and swimming pool.All the staff members we came across were so friendly and efficient it felt unreal!We only ate breakfast but that was so good I would have liked to have dinner there as well.I would really like to recommend this guesthouse for there excellent service and reasonable rates to one and all!

Room Tip: If available I would always ask for the more spacious rooms but since they are limited the smaller r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy H, Owner at Glen Marion Guest House, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Hi Martie

Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated and inspiring.

Glen Marion Management and staff are dedicated to customer service and the reviews are our reward.

Regards

Glen Marion Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I visited the place for a first time after a long drive from a rural area around Eastern Cape. a very worm welcome from management with smile on their faces. Served with delicious dinner then to my bedroom with DSTV, free WIFI, very neat bathroom as well as bedroom. then I go to my bed, clean blankets. I slept very well after a long drive. Everything was so wonderful and Perfect, quiet place to stay, no noise the whole night.

Room Tip: very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy H, Owner at Glen Marion Guest House, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Hi Linda

Thank you for your review. It is much appreciated.

We are inspired by reviews like this to do even better!

Hope to see you again when you are next visiting Pretoria.

Regards

Billy & Poppie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
6.2 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
5.5 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#12 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#5 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
6.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
1.9 mi away
Opikopi Guest House
Opikopi Guest House
#1 of 357 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Marion Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Marion Guest House

Property: Glen Marion Guest House
Address: 257 Annette van Zyl Street | Garsfontein, Pretoria 0042, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 357 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Marion Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glen Marion Guest House offers upmarket hospitality for a comfortable stay in Pretoria East, South Africa. The amenities at your disposal include 7 en-suite, double rooms, with flat screen TVs & full DSTV, free broadband Wi-Fi, Fridge, electronic key-less safe, a tea & coffee tray (with kettle, milk etc.) per room. We align ourselves to cater for the discerning businessman, touring traveler, overseas guests or family groups. Included in our reasonable fees is a full breakfast, with bottomless coffee. Lunches and supper can be served with prior arrangement. Safe parking, a large safe pool, four lounge areas and a comfortable barbecue area are some of the additional benefits available for our guests’ use and comfort.We are conveniently located in a quiet residential area close to large shopping centers, business parks, training colleges and business centers. Glen Marion Guest House was nominated as the 2014 and 2015 finalist in the accommodation category of the Lilizela Tourism Awards. Certificate of excellence was awarded for 2014 and 2015 by Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glen Marion Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing