We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southern Sun Pretoria
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
2 reviews
“Awesome Service”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

After a long day at work all I wanted was a good cup of coffee, Bongani made a superb coffee, and personalised it with my initial. Really made me feel welcomed, not yet another guest at the hotel. The coffee was so good that I had to invite a friend, also a guest at the hotel, to join me for another cup and to try out the cheese cake. Both were of the highest quality. Thank you Bongani for your personalised touch and for making such great coffee. Bongani was also able to manage all the guest requests with such efficiency and made carrying an arm load of coffee cups and sauces seem like a walk in the park. Nothing seemed too much for him. He is an asset to Southern Sun Hotels.
All the staff at the Southern Sun have been nothing but friendly and helpful. Thank you too to the Maintenance Staff who saw to a few minor problems with such speed, and at no inconvience to myself. Problems were resolved in no time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Southern Sun Pretoria, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Vanessa

Thank you very much for your positve feedback with regards to the service that you received recently whilst staying at Southern Sun Pretoria. I will definately pass on your message to Bongani who strives in making our guests feel extra special when visiting us in the Harambe Bar as do the rest of my team. Our mission at the hotel is to create great memories for our guests at every opportunity.
I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Southern Sun Pretoria in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Samantha Clingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    91
    40
    14
    9
See reviews for
24
22
10
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Having been loyal to the Southern Sun brand for close onto a decade now I can honestly say that this must be one of their worst properties location wise. There are clear actions however that management can take to significantly improve the client experience at this facility.

1. The concierge outside the hotel stands there and watches you as you struggle with bags out of the taxi (perhaps I did not look "wealthy" enough to give a large tip after my long trip!

2. Check in was smooth - although , having being a victim of credit card fraud, I was a bit uneasy as the check in lady asked for my CCV number on my credit card - this has never happened to me before!

3. The rooms are pretty standard with a horrible view of the city, in my case a busy intersection half blocked by a tree growing on the window!

4. As with all Southern Sun's their saving grace is usually breakfast which was, as usual , up to scratch, well done

5. On check out I had a very good espresso made by a newly trained Barrista which was a good thing.

6. The biggest challenge was that at night (as I went across the road to get pizza having had enough of hotel food) the security guards at the main entrance do not deter vagrants who followed me to the door begging for money AS THE "SECUIRTY/CONCIREGE" looked on and did nothing. This makes me wonder if the attitude of the "area" has rubbed off on the concierge/security.

These people are the first impression a client gets of Southern Sun Pretoria (as to get to the reception you still need to go up an escalator) and that impression is currently in need of serious work. Not acceptable at all. Fix it management! Client is priority and if I stand by and watch the client struggle with bags on check in (another first impression) and later leave vagrants to harrass my client as he makes his way to the hotel entrance that is not good enough!

Pizza, chicken and Fish and Chips take aways across the road. small buy seedy cinema as well.

Room Tip: Street facing for calm, pool facing for noise in the summer. In winter choose pool facing as no one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohannesburgTian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

You cannot go wrong with Southern Sun and in Pretoria is the same.
Good sleep quality, comfortable rooms and great staff.
Food quality can be improved but good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albon_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg
Level Contributor
107 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Fantastic stay at this hotel on 28 April. Awesome rooms, pleasant atmosphere, welcoming staff.
I had a room with a city view but u can choose pool facing too. There is a supermarket on the side of the hotel. Union building is not far too. Nice garden/swimming pool with lots of birds.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms quieter. KFC directly opposite. Mcdonalds behind the hotel. Supermarket to the sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank es786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Park in the underground parking and your luggage is whisked to your room , check in is a pleasure , the hotel is modern and emits a good feeling immediately, you will notice how clean and tidy all areas are. The rooms are nice and comfortable and spotless clean. The breakfast area is happy and the food fresh , waiters and chefs smile and you feel welcome. We enjoyed our stay and will certainly return as we felt a home away from home. Well done SS Management and staff.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SACLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The hotel is very beautiful outside and inside. The service from the staff at reception was very good. The bar lady needs some people skills, it was as if she was doing me a favour by making me a Cosmo cocktail. The bar was quite expensive compared to other palaces i have stayed at before. The room was beautiful. The bed was really comfortable and really long. Dinner was really good, but really expensive for what you get compared to other hotels and lodges i have stayed at. The waiter was really friendly. This was a great sleepover for 1 night on business in the city. I would recommend this hotel for people doing business in the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2011

The bed was very comfortable - I am tall 1,88m and need a long bed to sleep in and one needs a good nights rest. At other hotels I often have to sleep diagnoally on the bed due to the bed beeing too short. At the Southern Sun Hotel Pretoria - Church Street I slept very well - even form the first night! I spent 2 weeks a t the hotel. the staff were friendly too.
Allan Heymans

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#12 of 73 in Pretoria
490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
5.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#4 of 73 in Pretoria
253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Court Classique Suite Hotel
1.3 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#6 of 73 in Pretoria
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Pretoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Pretoria

Property: Southern Sun Pretoria
Address: cnr Steve Biko and Pretorius Streets, Arcadia, Pretoria 0083, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#5 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Pretoria 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of the city centre, the business hub and several top-notch attractions, the Southern Sun Pretoria Hotel is a favorite amongst visitors to South Africa's capital city. While you’re there be sure to visit the Zoo, the State Theatre and the Union Buildings. A stay at this luxury hotel will have you falling in love with this charming city in the blink of an eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Pretoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Pretoria Hotel Pretoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing