We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southern Sun Pretoria
Ranked #9 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Mothibistad
1 review
“simply the best”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Excellent service and the hospitality was overwhelming. Its just that its located on a busy street with noises coming from the taxis and cars. The room atmosphere is homely. What about some ear buds, in the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Modupe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    89
    40
    14
    9
See reviews for
24
22
10
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

It was the first time that we have stayed as Fokofpolisiekar at this hotel. We have stayed here with some of our other musical ventures and this hotel has become a home away from home. Thank you Southern Sun Pretoria for putting us up for the night.
This is really a great hotel with friendly staff and excellent service.
Bonus – it has a great outside area and pool.

We had a comfortable and relaxing first stay & will definitely be returning on our next tour.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fokofpolisiekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Excellent service which I will highly recommend to my friends and family.Excellent staff service, clean rooms with good night sleep. Excellent respond by hotel staff in anything or everything I requested.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Fanny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
421 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

There is nothing fundamentally wrong with the hotel although the lack of air-conditioning on in the public areas, whilst from a conservation point of view I can't argue, was a bit disconcerting. It wasn't too hot generally however. It is a clean hotel, the rooms fine, we had one with two double beds and the bathroom perfectly adequate. It is situated 10 mins walk from the park in front of the Government building, so very central. We decided to grab a bite to eat at the buffet lunch before heading out and the selection was fine for a quick lunch with good service. The lack of air-conditioning was more uncomfortable then however. We used the hotel car to take us to the Rovos Rall station which was very easy and good. The staff are good. Nothing great but nothing bad either.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I would think twice about staying at Southern Sun Pretoria, as one would expect value for money. The rooms are slightly outdated and front desk dont have time management skills. I would suggest booking at Garden Court Hatfield, slightly cheaper, but the people there go out of their way to assist.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Avenesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel is typical of the Southern Sun brand of hotels: it is clean, well-managed, comfortable, and good value for the money. Perhaps its best aspect is the excellent customer service which all of the staff demonstrate. My room was comfortable and clean (it looked exactly like the main photo on the Tripadvisor site), not "luxurious," but solidly 4-star. The public areas are very inviting, and the outdoor pool area is spacious and relaxing, a veritable oasis. The restaurant was fine, with a large buffet for breakfast and dinner, and the bar is also very comfortable. Some reviewers have noted the dicey, "unsafe" area around the hotel, but in truth it's perfectly safe during the day (a small mall across the street also has a cinema)--remember: there are practically no public areas in RSA that are safe after dark. However, both the hotel's shuttle service and local taxis can ferry you around the city. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuckernyc2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapolei, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel from Aug.9 to 23 for a convention. Our room were nice but because we had a roadside room it was a bit noisy. The staff was very accommodating to our needs and many times went beyond the call of duty. The restaurant was good. The location was perfect with shopping near by.
Want to say thank you very much to the staff for taking good care of us and making us feel comfortable and safe while being far away from home. Will definitely recommend to others.

Room Tip: Get the rooms on the pool side, less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0sie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#10 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.7 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
5.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
1.1 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#22 of 72 in Pretoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Court Classique Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Pretoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Pretoria

Property: Southern Sun Pretoria
Address: cnr Steve Biko and Pretorius Streets, Arcadia, Pretoria 0083, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#5 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Pretoria 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of the city centre, the business hub and several top-notch attractions, the Southern Sun Pretoria Hotel is a favorite amongst visitors to South Africa's capital city. While you’re there be sure to visit the Zoo, the State Theatre and the Union Buildings. A stay at this luxury hotel will have you falling in love with this charming city in the blink of an eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Pretoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Pretoria Hotel Pretoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing