We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Sun Pretoria
Nearby Hotels
Kievits Kroon(Pretoria)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$130
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$167
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel 224(Pretoria)
US$65
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Illyria House(Pretoria)
US$238
US$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
165
129
60
21
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
129
60
21
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstsogo sunexcellent serviceextra milethe hotel staffbusiness travelreception areachecking outswimming poolenjoyed my stayhome away from homekeep up the good workrooms are spaciouspleasant stayunion buildingssleepgovernmentgym
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
332 - 337 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My room (424) was comfortable, clean and well-maintained. The bed was comfortable but with the only choice of bed covering being a very heavy doona, I was usually either too hot or too cold. The room would benefit from a fridge or minibar, a light positioned so you can see inside the safe and wardrobe and a mirror or light to assist with shaving and/or make-up.

The evening buffet was quite satisfactory without being special. Breakfast buffet offered a good choice of cereal, hot foods, drinks, toast and pastries etc and staff members making omelettes and smoothies.

Staff throughout were very polite and friendly, if not always overly efficient.

Very quiet internally but the street is noisy if you are on that side of the building thanks to the infernal honking from the shared taxis.

The free wifi works well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank davidn59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaClingham, General Manager at Southern Sun Pretoria, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback.
I am delighted to inform you that we have recently rolled out mini bar fridges into all of our guest bedrooms.
I am aware that Pretoria can get extremely hot at times during the summer months and would suggest that when either making your booking or on check-in you can request a top sheet which I am sure will assist.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome your back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

WOW!!!The rooms were nice and comfortable,The best thing about this hotel are the staff, was very courteous and obliging. The restaurant food was very good too.my overall experience of the hotel is outstanding.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank pry14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaClingham, Front Office Manager at Southern Sun Pretoria, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your positve feedback.
We strive on ensuring we go the extra mile from a customer perspective as the customer is KING when they stay at Southern Sun Pretoria.
I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Southern Sun Pretoria Hotel. Great service, tasty food, nice environment, and great clean rooms. Southern Sun was one of the best experiences i had in a hotel. enjoyed every moment of it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank DESPY777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaClingham, General Manager at Southern Sun Pretoria, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback.
I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Excellent service and the hospitality was overwhelming. Its just that its located on a busy street with noises coming from the taxis and cars. The room atmosphere is homely. What about some ear buds, in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Modupe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

It was the first time that we have stayed as Fokofpolisiekar at this hotel. We have stayed here with some of our other musical ventures and this hotel has become a home away from home. Thank you Southern Sun Pretoria for putting us up for the night.
This is really a great hotel with friendly staff and excellent service.
Bonus – it has a great outside area and pool.

We had a comfortable and relaxing first stay & will definitely be returning on our next tour.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Fokofpolisiekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews