We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ++”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Pretoria
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed there for one night a week ago and most things were of good quality. Laundry service was cheap and of excellent quality, gym and food ok. Forgot my cellphone charger in the room but the staff promised to ship it back to me which is highly appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Martin S,

Re: Good ++

It’s wonderful to know that you have had a memorable stay and I appreciate you taking the time to share it with everyone on TripAdvisor.

Your charger is on the way and it was a pleasure assisting you in this matter.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Pascal Fouquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was our first time in Pretoria and the Sheraton proved an excellent choice. We ate both breakfast and dinner in the hotel and the food was very good although the service was a little slow in the evenings. Staff were exceptionally friendly and polite and always interested in our welfare and ensuring our stay was meeting their standards. Our room was large and well appointed with amongst other things desk, chairs, two-seater settee, coffee machine, ipod player, mini-bat TV etc.
The hotel gives the appearance of a grand old building but is modern and located across the park from Union Buildings which was fine for us as we had hired a car and it made getting around Pretoria far easier than staying in the CBD.
My only suggestion is that the hotel should carry a range of tourism leaflets as getting to the Tourist Information Office is a mission.

Room Tip: October is the Jacaranda season where the whole city blossoms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyfrasercross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear tonyfrasercross,

Re: An excellent stay

I’m delighted to know that your overall expectations were met and that you enjoyed staying at the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Commending the staff for their friendliness and being polite is a wonderful compliment and encouragement for them to always exceed our guest’s expectations. Thank you for that.

We take note of your request to have a range of tourism leaflets at hand and will certainly try and oblige.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Pascal Fouquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I have mixed feelings about this hotel, although I have stayed several times. Hotel options in Pretoria are limited, and if you don't have a car, safety can be a concern, further limiting the possibilities. The Sheraton lobby feels kind of "heavy" and dark. Staff who sit at the front desks often gave me the impression that they have other duties that are more important than guest needs--whether check-in or questions. One time while checking in, I was quite explicit about the type of room I preferred (facing out, light)--but was given a room facing another wing of the hotel (the hotel was not full)--exactly the opposite! On the other hand, the rooms are spacious and very clean. Other staff were very kind and helpful--the porters, maids, etc. The breakfasts were very good with excellent service. I might stay again as options in Pretoria are limited, but would likely try a guesthouse, of which there are many. Getting a taxi, as in much of Pretoria, generally required a wait, and could be outrageously expensive. Best to get the name and number of a taxi from a friend/colleague.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmaven625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Travelmaven625,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with details of your stay.

It’s a pity that you experienced the staff in the lobby not to be attentive to your needs and as a result was given a room on the opposite side from what you requested and I would like to apologise for the inconvenience as a result. I’m glad you liked the room being spacious and clean.

It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed a good breakfast with excellent service and staff being kind and helpful.

Warm regards,

Pascal Fouquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed here for a night prior to joining the Rovos Rail. The hotel is conveniently located, central to most attractions in the city. The check-in was efficient and friendly. Rooms large, well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast was very good with large selection. Hotel is well maintained and all the staff were helpful and friendly.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superpollo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Superpollo71,

RE: EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS

It is such a great compliment to know that we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for sharing your great experience with us.

To go the extra mile is part of our unconditional service to all our guests.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Pascal Fouquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here in August for 2 nights in August. The rooms were big with a comfortable bed. Free basic wireless Internet was included which is suitable for email and basic browsing. You can purchase faster Internet speed if required. The buffet breakfast and dinner were fine, although the variety was not as great as I have come to expect in other 5 star hotels.

The laundry service was very cheap, as it was in most of the hotels we stayed in. e.g. The dearest price was for a 3 piece suit R135 ( about $15)

The restaurant does not open until 6:30am, and because we had organised a tour with a 6:30am pick-up the hotel staff suggested we request a breakfast basket to take with us. Since our room came with a free daily breakfast, we weren't charged for the breakfast basket.

The service from the reception staff was very good. On the second night we asked what time we had to check out if our room the following day and the reply was "what time do you want to check out?". There was a slight problem with our bill when we were checking out but it was quickly resolved in our favour without much hassle.

One word of warning though, and this probably goes for all hotels in Africa, on our last day we purchased a light lunch and a drink. Including the tip the total was 160 rand. On the receipt I entered the total as $160. I then realised my mistake and crossed put the $ and replaced it with R. The attendant then said he would have to correct his entry into the terminal. So I am pretty sure if I had not corrected my mistake I would have been charged $160

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WDabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear WDabs,

Re: Nice hotel, good service

Thank you for taking the time to present us with such a detailed response of your stay, as well as some photos of your room and bathroom. It’s wonderful to know that your overall expectations were met, that your early breakfast requirement could be replaced with a breakfast basket and I’m glad we were able to provide you with a late check-out.

With regard to the charges in the restaurant, I would like to assure you that our cash registers are set on ZAR only and even if you mistakenly write $ instead of R, we would and could only charge you in Rand. Hopefully this put your mind at ease.

Warm regards,

Pascal Fouquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were kind of disappointed for not being able to stay at the boutique hotel one of our friends had recommended and were afraid of having to make du with a boring “American-style” hotel. It was instead a very pleasant surprise and we enjoyed everything about this hotel for the well appointed room to the bar and restaurant. Every member of the staff we had to deal with was extremely pleasant. The food at the restaurant was very well prepared.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacques_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Jacques_Alex

Re: Better than Expected

It’s wonderful to know that you were pleasantly surprised by everything and everyone at the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. It really is a great compliment and I thank you for sharing your memorable experience with everyone.

We are really looking forward to your next visit.

Pascal Fouquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed here in September with a Travel Masters Gold Coast tour group. We were treated very well by all hotel staff. Found the bar prices to be great. Had a casual dining experience in the Lounge Bar... drink and food pricing very good. Didnt like the buffet breakfast or dinner that much.. thought the food was dry and not enough variety. The room was excellent, large, and very comfortable. Laundry service also very good.

Room Tip: Second Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daliz001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Daliz001,

Re: Great Hotel

Thank you for taking the time to share your guest experience with us. I’m glad you enjoyed your very comfortable large room and that the laundry service was very good.

It’s regrettable that the breakfast and dinner buffet was not to your liking, but your opinion is highly regarded to improve any of the services offered to all our valued guests. You’ll be happy to know that your concerns were raised with the relevant heads of department for evaluation and improvement wherever necessary.

We will be happy to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Pascal Fouquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.2 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
1.5 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#21 of 74 in Pretoria
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Hotel Pretoria
Premier Hotel Pretoria
#17 of 74 in Pretoria
202 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
4.4 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#2 of 74 in Pretoria
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Pretoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pretoria Hotel

Address: 643 Corner of Church and Wessels Streets, Pretoria 0007, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pretoria
#6 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
#9 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#9 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range: £66 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Pretoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, situated within the heart of South Africa's dazzling capital city. With sweeping views that command all of Pretoria, exquisite marble flooring, and custom-designed furnishings, our hotel exemplifies beauty and service excellence in the Jacaranda City. After a busy day, return to the comfort of our 175 guest rooms and suites. Bring your friends, colleagues, or loved ones along for a mouth-watering buffet meal at Magnolia restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Pretoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Pretoria
Pretoria Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing