We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service, beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Ranked #12 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Bad service, beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Hotel lived up to the Sheraton brand- check in was quick, facilities were great and the room spacious. Its disappointing however that service was poor. Room service standards were shocking and there was no mention of the hefty parking tariffs upon arrival- Amounting to a value close to a nights rate at check out!
Poor value for money due to service received.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Chanelle M,

Re: Bad service, beautiful hotel

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m glad you liked the room and facilities and had a quick check-in.

It’s regrettable to know that your room service experienced did not meet with your expectations and I apologise for this. Please be advised that your concerns were raised with the F&B Manager as we would like to take preventative measures to avoid a recurrence.

I’m sorry you did not notice the parking tariffs at the entrance upon arrival or when you made the booking and that it came to you as a surprise. Kindly be advised that parking fees are always negotiable, especially when staying for a few days.

Warm regards,

Pascal Fouquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    192
    97
    42
    18
See reviews for
42
155
40
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed there for one night a week ago and most things were of good quality. Laundry service was cheap and of excellent quality, gym and food ok. Forgot my cellphone charger in the room but the staff promised to ship it back to me which is highly appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Martin S,

Re: Good ++

It’s wonderful to know that you have had a memorable stay and I appreciate you taking the time to share it with everyone on TripAdvisor.

Your charger is on the way and it was a pleasure assisting you in this matter.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Pascal Fouquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was our first time in Pretoria and the Sheraton proved an excellent choice. We ate both breakfast and dinner in the hotel and the food was very good although the service was a little slow in the evenings. Staff were exceptionally friendly and polite and always interested in our welfare and ensuring our stay was meeting their standards. Our room was large and well appointed with amongst other things desk, chairs, two-seater settee, coffee machine, ipod player, mini-bat TV etc.
The hotel gives the appearance of a grand old building but is modern and located across the park from Union Buildings which was fine for us as we had hired a car and it made getting around Pretoria far easier than staying in the CBD.
My only suggestion is that the hotel should carry a range of tourism leaflets as getting to the Tourist Information Office is a mission.

Room Tip: October is the Jacaranda season where the whole city blossoms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyfrasercross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear tonyfrasercross,

Re: An excellent stay

I’m delighted to know that your overall expectations were met and that you enjoyed staying at the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Commending the staff for their friendliness and being polite is a wonderful compliment and encouragement for them to always exceed our guest’s expectations. Thank you for that.

We take note of your request to have a range of tourism leaflets at hand and will certainly try and oblige.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Pascal Fouquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I have mixed feelings about this hotel, although I have stayed several times. Hotel options in Pretoria are limited, and if you don't have a car, safety can be a concern, further limiting the possibilities. The Sheraton lobby feels kind of "heavy" and dark. Staff who sit at the front desks often gave me the impression that they have other duties that are more important than guest needs--whether check-in or questions. One time while checking in, I was quite explicit about the type of room I preferred (facing out, light)--but was given a room facing another wing of the hotel (the hotel was not full)--exactly the opposite! On the other hand, the rooms are spacious and very clean. Other staff were very kind and helpful--the porters, maids, etc. The breakfasts were very good with excellent service. I might stay again as options in Pretoria are limited, but would likely try a guesthouse, of which there are many. Getting a taxi, as in much of Pretoria, generally required a wait, and could be outrageously expensive. Best to get the name and number of a taxi from a friend/colleague.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmaven625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Travelmaven625,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with details of your stay.

It’s a pity that you experienced the staff in the lobby not to be attentive to your needs and as a result was given a room on the opposite side from what you requested and I would like to apologise for the inconvenience as a result. I’m glad you liked the room being spacious and clean.

It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed a good breakfast with excellent service and staff being kind and helpful.

Warm regards,

Pascal Fouquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pacific
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed here for a night prior to joining the Rovos Rail. The hotel is conveniently located, central to most attractions in the city. The check-in was efficient and friendly. Rooms large, well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast was very good with large selection. Hotel is well maintained and all the staff were helpful and friendly.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superpollo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Superpollo71,

RE: EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS

It is such a great compliment to know that we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for sharing your great experience with us.

To go the extra mile is part of our unconditional service to all our guests.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Pascal Fouquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here in August for 2 nights in August. The rooms were big with a comfortable bed. Free basic wireless Internet was included which is suitable for email and basic browsing. You can purchase faster Internet speed if required. The buffet breakfast and dinner were fine, although the variety was not as great as I have come to expect in other 5 star hotels.

The laundry service was very cheap, as it was in most of the hotels we stayed in. e.g. The dearest price was for a 3 piece suit R135 ( about $15)

The restaurant does not open until 6:30am, and because we had organised a tour with a 6:30am pick-up the hotel staff suggested we request a breakfast basket to take with us. Since our room came with a free daily breakfast, we weren't charged for the breakfast basket.

The service from the reception staff was very good. On the second night we asked what time we had to check out if our room the following day and the reply was "what time do you want to check out?". There was a slight problem with our bill when we were checking out but it was quickly resolved in our favour without much hassle.

One word of warning though, and this probably goes for all hotels in Africa, on our last day we purchased a light lunch and a drink. Including the tip the total was 160 rand. On the receipt I entered the total as $160. I then realised my mistake and crossed put the $ and replaced it with R. The attendant then said he would have to correct his entry into the terminal. So I am pretty sure if I had not corrected my mistake I would have been charged $160

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WDabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear WDabs,

Re: Nice hotel, good service

Thank you for taking the time to present us with such a detailed response of your stay, as well as some photos of your room and bathroom. It’s wonderful to know that your overall expectations were met, that your early breakfast requirement could be replaced with a breakfast basket and I’m glad we were able to provide you with a late check-out.

With regard to the charges in the restaurant, I would like to assure you that our cash registers are set on ZAR only and even if you mistakenly write $ instead of R, we would and could only charge you in Rand. Hopefully this put your mind at ease.

Warm regards,

Pascal Fouquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
242 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were kind of disappointed for not being able to stay at the boutique hotel one of our friends had recommended and were afraid of having to make du with a boring “American-style” hotel. It was instead a very pleasant surprise and we enjoyed everything about this hotel for the well appointed room to the bar and restaurant. Every member of the staff we had to deal with was extremely pleasant. The food at the restaurant was very well prepared.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacques_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal30, General Manager at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Jacques_Alex

Re: Better than Expected

It’s wonderful to know that you were pleasantly surprised by everything and everyone at the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. It really is a great compliment and I thank you for sharing your memorable experience with everyone.

We are really looking forward to your next visit.

Pascal Fouquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
1.2 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
1.5 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#23 of 72 in Pretoria
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#3 of 72 in Pretoria
252 reviews
10.4 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#19 of 72 in Pretoria
137 reviews
4.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Pretoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pretoria Hotel

Property: Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Address: 643 Corner of Church and Wessels Streets, Pretoria 0007, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pretoria
#5 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#9 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Pretoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, situated within the heart of South Africa's dazzling capital city. With sweeping views that command all of Pretoria, exquisite marble flooring, and custom-designed furnishings, our hotel exemplifies beauty and service excellence in the Jacaranda City. After a busy day, return to the comfort of our 175 guest rooms and suites. Bring your friends, colleagues, or loved ones along for a mouth-watering buffet meal at Magnolia restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Pretoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Pretoria
Pretoria Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing