We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasant Business Hotel in a rather quaint provincial town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Pretoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Pretoria
Gennes, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Business Hotel in a rather quaint provincial town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

The Sheraton Pretoria delivers the standards you expect from an international chain hotel. The public rooms and guest rooms are pleasant, well appointed and are comfortable. The food is reasonable but could do better especialy since the small menu in the main restaurant is the same for both lunch and dinner, which is a bit of a disappointment. The travel desk is efficient and the level of securituy is overal very high. Plus points are the well appointed bathrooms (especially on the Executive Floors) and the 6th floor Executive Lounge which is roomy, pleasant and has a wonderful view towards the Union Buildings. The staff are friendly and keen to help. Donot look for too many thrills and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PascalJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, E-commerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2009
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. We are constantly striving to improve on our services and will take your comments into consideration. We hope to see you soon for your next stay in Pretoria.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    184
    93
    42
    17
See reviews for
40
148
38
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

Conveniently located in Hatfield with a beautiful view of the Union Buildings this is a good hotel, although a bit pricey. The rooms are large and getting connecting rooms was not a problem, neither was getting the baby crib, although it was not in the room when we arrived. Food and beverage service is also good, although the variety is not splendid.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PatrikE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, E-commerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2009
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you had a good stay at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. We hope to see you soon for your next stay in Pretoria.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lusaka
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

The staff were great always helpful and welcoming . We used the Kwathland tours and safaris situated in the hotel lobby for taxi to go around , because it is almost impossible to get a taxi in Pretoria. and they gave us good service

However the food at this hotel is so bad ! stay away from the spagetti bolognaise, it seems the chef has a thing with salt as if that was not enough the breakfast in the morning really needs a complete makeover from the so called fresh fruits salad to the solid hard over cooked french toast, The pretoria club sandwich is not so bad.
The rooms were clean very spacious .

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LKZLusaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2009
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you had a good stay at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. We are constantly striving to improve on our services and will take your comments into consideration. We hope to see you soon for your next stay in Pretoria.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

Stayed here during the recent Lions rugby tour. We arrived at lunchtime and went to the out door area to sit in the sun. Tried to order food & drink but appeared invisible to all the staff. Eventually ordered drinks and sandwiches, after 35 minutes nothing had arrived spoke to a manager who assured me everything was in hand .After a further 25 minutes food did arrive but not what was ordered. It was a complete shambles, everyone had to wait an eternity and when their drinks & food arrived it also was incorrect.
The bar constantly ran out of drink at one stage we were told they had no tonic left and would we take something else in the gin!!! There were insufficient staff serving behind the bar and the hotel seemed total unprepared and unable to cope with an influx of guests.
There was nowhere nearby to eat or drink, staff had difficulty in organising taxis and few suggestions as where we could eat anyway.
One evening 10 of us tried the buffet, which was OK, but they kept running out of the wine we ordered., When we tried to order a different bottle we were advised that they had run out of it or only had 2 bottles left.

I requested an additional 5 coat hangers for the room, and was advised I would have to pay a deposit. I don't think eBay is selling may Sheraton Hotel coat hangers !!
Fitness suite is very basis.
I dread to think how they will cope with World Cup football supporters if this is how they treated us.
This is not a 5 st ar hotel. It provides poor service ,indeed the staff did not seem fully trained, the food is only adequate and the bar is totally unfit for purpose. The hotel could have made a klondike if they were organised and prepared for our arrival, but I regret they totally missed the opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dundrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, E-commerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. We are constantly striving to improve on our services and will take your comments into consideration

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
152 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

Stayed on the Club floor which was well run with good staff.As the hotel is away from any local restaurants and the hotel is an area that I did not regard as safe we decided to eat in the hotel.Firstly the steak house appeared to have closed down so into the main restaurant where we were presented with the option of the hot buffet or...well the hot buffet.The Kitchen was too busy for a la carte we were told.You know the kind of thing that hotels love.Row upon row of gleaming silver like entree dishes heated by candle power.WHY do hotels do this?Its certanly not to present good appetising food.As I lifted each lid I was presented with stewed meat dishes,dried out fish dishes and something that was supposed to be cauliflower cheese.Imagine if you will a seperated cheese sauce with florettes of this normally nice vegatable sitting in the water with the cheese in congealed lumps also floating in the water.. It might have been good when it was prepared or defrosted 5 hours earlier.
All was not lost as a carvery with a chef came into view.It was beef or lamb.The beef was so rare as to be uncooked.and it was cold.(I usually oreder my steaks rare! ).What was left of the lamb was fat,grey and steamed.About 4 hours old I reckon.
Desserts were edible but tasted of the factory rather than the patisierre.
When asked by the waitress if everything was OK I said no it was dreadfull .I received a smile and my room was charged with the full amount.
Yes Sheraton I know the hotel was full but you can do better than this.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank second row
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, E-commerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2009
Dear Guest,

Tthank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. We are constantly striving to improve on our services and will take your comments into consideration

Sincerely, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2009

We only stayed one night but our experience was overall positive - helped no doubt by the fantastic view we had of the Union Buildings. Room spacious. Check-in was friendly and efficient. You can park in their underground carpark for a reasonable price. Five-star it certainly is not and we found it overpriced but that said we had a very comfortable stay here.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tagesthemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, E-commerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2009
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are please to hear that you had a comfortable stay at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Pretoria

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

I stayed at this hotel for 6 months at least 10 different times. The best thing about this hotel is its staff, extremely friendly, empathetic. They cater to the smallest needs of yours and make you feel at home.

Good location, nice facilities. Perfectly suitable for a business traveller.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sagrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, E-commerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Pretoria

Sincerely, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
4.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
4.4 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#4 of 74 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#3 of 74 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.5 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#22 of 74 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Pretoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pretoria Hotel

Property: Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Address: 643 Corner of Church and Wessels Streets, Pretoria 0007, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pretoria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#9 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Pretoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, situated within the heart of South Africa's dazzling capital city. With sweeping views that command all of Pretoria, exquisite marble flooring, and custom-designed furnishings, our hotel exemplifies beauty and service excellence in the Jacaranda City. After a busy day, return to the comfort of our 175 guest rooms and suites. Bring your friends, colleagues, or loved ones along for a mouth-watering buffet meal at Magnolia restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Pretoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Pretoria
Pretoria Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing