We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good International Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Reviewed 31 December 2009

We went to South Africa at the end Nov/ early Dec. starting in Pretoria, staying at the Sheraton Hotel, taking the Blue Train to Cape Town, staying at the Table Bay and using Cape Convoy (tour guide) to show us around Cape Town. See separate reviews for these. The trip was arranged by Natalie with Best at Travel in London, who did a fantastic job arranging the tailored trip for us and at a price we were happy with – I would really recommend Natalie, she gave us some really good advice.

The Sheraton was a standard International hotel – we stayed one night arriving pretty late and leaving early, so didn’t really use any of the facilities, but we did bump into a couple of the England cricketers in the bar. The area around the hotel may have been safe but didn’t look it, so we didn’t walk outside, and it did not feel too safe – there are guards at the entrance and exit! The only advice I can give if you are staying at the Sheraton is ask for a room facing the Union building – amazing views!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WomblesofWimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, E-commerce Executive at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. We are constantly striving to improve on our services and will take your comments into consideration. We hope to see you soon for your next stay in Pretoria.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 419 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2009

I visited this hotel for business and it was fine for this purpose. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and it was good value for money. The area does not however offer much in the way of entertainment and we had to drive to Pretoria East for shopping and relaxation.
Staff was nice and there was no problems during my stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, E-commerce Executive at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. We are constantly striving to improve on our services and will take your comments into consideration. We hope to see you soon for your next stay in Pretoria.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

Spent two nights for work in December 2009, and paid extra (nearly double for the Club Floor). Benefits of the Club floor include check in/out at the lounge, daily breakfast, drinsk throughout the day, evening canapé's with drinks, butler service, etc. We were told that as the Club Floor was not busy, breakfast would be served in the main restaurant. During the day you had to look for staff for service, there were no drinks or snacks available unless you asked, and on the 2nd night there were no evening canapes. Check out was done at the main reception and took over 20 minutes. When I mentioned that we were disappointed with the club floor benefits I was told that they are shutting it for a month from the 20th of December.

Otherwise, it is a good business hotel, The room was large and spacious. It does need upgrading, as all the lighting, air conditioning, do not disturb signs are done manually. The mini bar is free (not sure if they top it up daily, as ours was not). The bathroom is large (toiletries not replenished) with a separate bath, good power shower, and fluffy towels.

Overall service was good, and the hotel has a very good car service.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadwarriorafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, E-commerce Executive at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. We are constantly striving to improve on our services and will take your comments into consideration. We hope to see you soon for your next stay in Pretoria.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

I stayed at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel during the last week of november 2009. There is really not much to say; the Sheraton Pretoria gives you the quality of a Sheraton hotel in all aspects.
It is clean, the food is great, the room is big and comfertable, the service is excellent - you will not miss a thing.

The location of this hotel is good, but there is heavy trafic just a few meters away. You will not loose your sleep, but watch out.
If you have a room facing the Union Buildings and the park, you will be delighted of the view!
The hotel offers work out facilities, but it is not the best gym I have seen. In stead go for a jog with the locals in the park fifty meters from the hotel.

The service at this hotel is very good and very friendly. Nevertheless I had an unfortunate experience when checking out. A mistake was made by the hotel regarding my credit card. However - the hotel management was very efficient and service minded when making up for the mistake.

All in all a very nice and pleasant hotel - I would not stay anywhere else if going to Pretoria again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imedvindfranord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, E-commerce Executive at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2010

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. We are constantly striving to improve on our services and will take your comments into consideration. We hope to see you soon for your next stay in Pretoria.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

The Sheraton Pretoria delivers the standards you expect from an international chain hotel. The public rooms and guest rooms are pleasant, well appointed and are comfortable. The food is reasonable but could do better especialy since the small menu in the main restaurant is the same for both lunch and dinner, which is a bit of a disappointment. The travel desk is efficient and the level of securituy is overal very high. Plus points are the well appointed bathrooms (especially on the Executive Floors) and the 6th floor Executive Lounge which is roomy, pleasant and has a wonderful view towards the Union Buildings. The staff are friendly and keen to help. Donot look for too many thrills and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PascalJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, E-commerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2009

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. We are constantly striving to improve on our services and will take your comments into consideration. We hope to see you soon for your next stay in Pretoria.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

Conveniently located in Hatfield with a beautiful view of the Union Buildings this is a good hotel, although a bit pricey. The rooms are large and getting connecting rooms was not a problem, neither was getting the baby crib, although it was not in the room when we arrived. Food and beverage service is also good, although the variety is not splendid.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
Thank PatrikE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, E-commerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2009

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you had a good stay at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. We hope to see you soon for your next stay in Pretoria.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

The staff were great always helpful and welcoming . We used the Kwathland tours and safaris situated in the hotel lobby for taxi to go around , because it is almost impossible to get a taxi in Pretoria. and they gave us good service

However the food at this hotel is so bad ! stay away from the spagetti bolognaise, it seems the chef has a thing with salt as if that was not enough the breakfast in the morning really needs a complete makeover from the so called fresh fruits salad to the solid hard over cooked french toast, The pretoria club sandwich is not so bad.
The rooms were clean very spacious .

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKZLusaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achetty, Ecommerce at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2009

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you had a good stay at Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. We are constantly striving to improve on our services and will take your comments into consideration. We hope to see you soon for your next stay in Pretoria.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
1.2 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
1.5 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#21 of 73 in Pretoria
122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
0.4 mi away
Court Classique Suite Hotel
4.4 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#3 of 73 in Pretoria
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Pretoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pretoria Hotel

Address: 643 Corner of Church and Wessels Streets, Pretoria 0007, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pretoria
#5 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#9 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range: £68 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Pretoria Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel, situated within the heart of South Africa's dazzling capital city. With sweeping views that command all of Pretoria, exquisite marble flooring, and custom-designed furnishings, our hotel exemplifies beauty and service excellence in the Jacaranda City. After a busy day, return to the comfort of our 175 guest rooms and suites. Bring your friends, colleagues, or loved ones along for a mouth-watering buffet meal at Magnolia restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Pretoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Pretoria
Pretoria Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing