We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Court Classique Suite Hotel
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Overnight stop before going on the Blue Train, and we can have no complaints. Good size room, restaurant OK, but not brilliant. The best thing was the staff, great on arrival. A special mention must go to the shuttle driver (also took our bags to the room) whose name I have lost on our travels. He lead us as we tried to drop our AVIS hire car off as arranged, and persevered when first one, then the second, refused to take the car!! He found a third AVIS station were we abandoned the car and he took us back to the hotel. Amazing service, so thank you very much.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles_Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Court Classique Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Charles_Anne,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Our shuttle driver, Joseph Phasoa is definitely a gem and we are pleased to hear that he went the extra mile for you during your stay. We will pass your comments on to him.

We trust that your trip on the Blue Train was an enjoyable one. We work closely with both of South Africa's luxury trains and it's always a pleasure to receive their guests at our home.

Classique regards,
From the Court Classique Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

The rooms are spacious and quiet. The setting is pleasant. The restaurant served an excellent dinner and a good breakfast. However a fellow traveller left their camera in the restaurant late one evening when we were the last guests to leave. It was not handed in. Be aware!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Court Classique Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Michael H,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was very disturbed to read about the incident surrounding your camera. It was immediately brought to the attention of the General Manager, who is busy with an investigation into the matter.

I appreciate the kind comments around the rooms, dinner and breakfast - we will pass these on to the relevant departments.

Any further finding around the camera will be communicated to you directly.

Classique regards
The Court Classique Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Only stayed over one night prior to a three week trip but could easily have stayed longer. Pleasant courtyard at heart of hotel with small lawned area and pool. Spacious bedroom with kitchen facilities sneakily hidden away in a cupboard and decent sized bathroom in good condition. Had a start of tour wine tasting/dinner with some of the best hotel food that we had all trip. For those of you new to South Africa your multi-country conversion plug in all probability won't work as in SA they use a large 3 round pin plug. There are some shops not too far away that give you the opportunity to top up with some of the items you may have forgotten. If your trip is anything like ours these will be the last shops that you see for the next 10 days!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ColinInHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Court Classique Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear ColinInHants,,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Court Classique Suite Hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your positive input and hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future, at which time you might have an opportunity to stay a little longer.

Classique regards,
The Court Classique Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The rooms are spacious, with a separate work area and bedroom. The grounds were pleasant, with plants and water features usually only found in a resort. Breakfast was nicely prepared and served. I greatly appreciated the helpfulness of grounds staff and guards. The only thing that needs to improve is the language skills of the front desk staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoyceAnne60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Court Classique Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear JoyceAnn60,

Thank you for your review of the Court Classique Suite Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are very appreciative of your positive comments around the use of the hotel for a multi-day stay. Your comments regarding the Front Desk language skills will be brought to the attention of the Guest Relations Manager.

Classique Regards,
Izelle Behr
on behalf of the Court Classique Suite Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed here one night before catching the Rovos Rail train. Hotel staff had very kindly and efficiently organised a car transfer (cost R410) from the airport in Johannesburg to the hotel (a 35 minute trip). Check-in/check-out staff very helpful however didn't quite understand why they charged my credit card for the accommodation upon our arrival and the extras as a separate charge the next morning. Most hotels just put one charge through for the whole amount.

We stayed in a very large room on the first floor at one end of the building. Entry was via a narrow, poorly lit and partly uncovered walkway on the ground floor (you would get wet if it was raining) before climbing 18 steps to the first floor and an exterior shared walkway that was also very poorly lit in one section, but at least fully covered. The front door opened into a small narrow entry-way that contained a kitchenette with on one wall behind 2 cupboard doors a fridge, sink and microwave and on the other a small table with 2 chairs.

The kitchenette opened into a very large bedroom with at one end a comfortable king-sized bed and the other a large TV, desk with separate chair, 2 armchairs and a small coffee table. The en-suite bathroom was very large with a separate bath and shower. Shower pressure was good.

Both the bedroom and the bathroom were clean although there was some mildew in the shower recess. The room had both heating and air-conditioning.

There was free Wi-Fi but it did not work in our room and I needed to go down to the reception area to get connectivity. There was also a safe in the room albeit very small and poorly placed in the bottom of the wardrobe such that I had to get down on my knees to access it. We were also advised upon check-in that our rate included free selections from the mini-bar.

The room shared a verandah that was on the opposite side of the bedroom to the shared entry walkway.

It is worth commenting on security as a vast majority of businesses and residences that we saw on the drive through the streets of Pretoria to the hotel had either high walls with razor wire, barbed wire or both or high walls made of steel spikes for protection. This hotel had high walls but no razor/barbed wire. It did however have 24 hour security guards patrolling the premises. We also had been warned by the front desk staff to make sure that all our doors were locked before we retired for the evening including the glass sliding door to the verandah. It was just as well they advised us of this as we found upon entering the room that, notwithstanding the curtains had been fully pulled closed across the glass sliding door such that you could not see out onto the verandah, the sliding glas door was in fact not locked.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening and had breakfast there in the morning. In the evening we were swapped from the initial allotted table that had a dirty tablecloth to another that also had a dirty tablecloth. We didn't try a third. My lamb curry was Ok but my wife's pork looked and tasted as if it had been reheated. Service was ordinary.

Breakfast buffet was Ok. Reasonable though not a large mix of cold and hot selections. Not advised by staff, but eventually worked out, that you had to separately order toast which finally arrived just after we had finished eating.

Perhaps the best aspect of our stay at this hotel was the free car transfer from the hotel to the Rovos Rail station. The driver very generously took us on a scenic route past the Union buildings and Union gardens.

Would look elsewhere if staying in Pretoria again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Court Classique Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear westy54,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review on Trip Advisor. Your comments have been brought to the attention of the Director. We value guest comment and wherever possible implement suggestions and address concerns.

We are pleased that the free transfer was a highlight of the stay. We have worked closely with Rovos Rail for many years, to the point where a number of value added benefits are only available to Rovos Rail guests. The complimentary scenic transfers is one such benefit.

Orange Restaurant has recently welcomed a new Head Chef, who has been tasked with compiling a new menu and maintaining standards. We apologise that your experience was less than satisfactory and can ensure you that we will address the issues raised with the relevant department.

We hope that you might travel to Pretoria again in the not too distant future, at which point we might redeem ourselves.

Sincerely
Court Classique Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Perfect service around the clock, very friendly staff and I particularly loved the personalised cappuccino at breakfast.We have been working with the international media for the past month and we could simply not have coped as well as we did without the tremendous help from the hotel staff. Keep up the good work guys!.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izelle N, Manager at Court Classique Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Bruno B,

Thank you for taking the time to add this review. It is such a privilege to be hosting the media at this time in South Africa's history and we appreciate the fact that you have come to recognise the hotel and the staff as your five-star home away from home.

Classique regards,
Franco Jordaan & the team at Court Classique, Orange Restaurant & emBARgo lounge ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This hotel has lovely spacious rooms, very well equpped with a kitchen area and super bathroom. The restaurant has a nice menu and the foodwas excellent, but the icing on the cakewas the staff who were very welcoming and great fun (busi). Try a Zombi cocktail - delicious!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimandVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izelle N, Manager at Court Classique Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear pzan,

Thank you for taking the time to place such a positive review about us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate feedback and actively use guest comments as a measure of our success and a benchmark for improvement.

Our suites are indeed some of the most spacious in the four-star market in Pretoria and I am glad you enjoyed your stay :)

As for your comment regarding our restaurant, Orange, please be assured that (as with most hotels) we are continually looking at ways to improve the food service and variety. Our Chef, Tiaan, is busy reworking the seasonal menus and has implemented weekly lunch time specials for a variety to our standard offerings. Hopefully you will be able to enjoy some of the new items at a future date.

Until then, Classique regards,
The Court Classique Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#14 of 74 in Pretoria
526 reviews
1.4 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
2.4 mi away
131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Hotel Pretoria
Premier Hotel Pretoria
#17 of 74 in Pretoria
207 reviews
4 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#2 of 74 in Pretoria
305 reviews
1.4 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#10 of 74 in Pretoria
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Court Classique Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Court Classique Suite Hotel

Address: 743 Francis Baard Street | Arcadia, Pretoria 0083, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range: £54 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Court Classique Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a new way to see a city: live local. Take advantage of our local knowledge when you use Court Classique Suite Hotel as your base in Pretoria. The property is located in the upmarket Diplomatic suburb of Arcadia, a mere 2kms from the Gautrain Hatfield station and 4kms from the Gautrain Pretoria station. A complimentary transfer service runs throughout the city from 7am - 6pm on weekdays and can be pre-booked through our front desk to pick up/drop off at train stations, tourist sites and shopping centers. We offer 58 all-suite rooms, which can be described as some of the most spacious units in our accommodation class. All rooms feature an open plan lay out with a spacious bedroom area, lounge & dining area, as well as a kitchenette and en-suite with bath & shower. All rooms open up onto our tropical gardens through a ground floor patio or a first floor verandah and are equipped with flat screen televisions & heating/air-conditioning units.Value added services include: *Free transfers within the city from 7am -6pm weekdays; *Free WiFi*Free use of our 8-seat Boardroom to in-house guests; *Pet friendly suite available*Mobility impaired suite available; *Children under 12 stay free when sharing with parents in a One Bedroom suite, and pay only 50% of their meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Court Classique Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing