We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older but lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arcadia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arcadia Hotel
Ranked #46 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Older but lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I was a little concerned when I first arrived at the hotel, as it looked a bit old and worn, but once I got settled it, I really liked it. Everything was immaculately clean, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the lady who cleaned my room was especially sweet and friendly. The beds are comfortable, the breakfast is exceptional, and the location is great. I would strongly recommend this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAChoirgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    10
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
5
10
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,090 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 873 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

After my first night in the Arcadia, I would have told you that it was a reasonable place to stay. But after the second night, my opinion changed in a big way!
The location is probably not great, but it was okay for me, as I was doing tours that offered door to door service. There are some shops and restaurants nearby, and I didn’t have any issues walking around the immediate area by day or night.
I was greeted by friendly, efficient staff and was able to check in at 9am, without issue. My room was okay – not exactly 5-star, but decent. Included was a comfortable-enough bed, with very lumpy pillows, a narrow desk, a tv, AC, kettle and some coffee/tea supplies, a hairdryer and a good sized wardrobe with a safe inside. Of note, there was no fridge. Included in my booking was a buffet breakfast – good selection of nice food and attentive, friendly staff.
The real problem was that on my 2nd day, the hotel checked in 240 school students. Not only did these students run riot through the reception and public areas (playing games on the elevators which turned a 30 second trip to a 5 minute nightmare), they also checked in these children on the same floor as the other guests – eg. me! Obviously total unsupervised by their teachers, these children made all hell of a noise for the whole night. Three times I had kids banging on my door – when I yelled out they kept banging and I had to open the door and tell them to go away. My complaints to the hotel to do something about them fell on deaf ears – this is where the hotel really failed. So two nights with very little sleep – thanks a lot, Arcadia. If I wanted to sleep in a school dormitory, I would have booked with one! And thanks to whatever school it was that has failed so badly to teach their children respect.
Other little issue – they have signs up saying that WIFI is available for a ‘nominal’ fee. I think they need to check the dictionary, because the charges are ridiculous ($10 for 20MB, $36 for 20MB and $50 for 80MB – prices in Rand) and even then, when I tried to get an internet pass on my second day I was told their computer had crashed!
You certainly get what you pay for! I would not recommend the Arcadia – while the hotel is decent (although quite run-down) the service is seriously lacking. Arcadia cannot be trusted to do the right thing by its guests - you just might find yourself in some sort of high-school excursion from hell. Sounds like a desperate grab for cash from a business that is going downhill fast.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fiver75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pretoria hotels

Netherlands
Level Contributor
161 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

Businesslike middle class hotel.
Nothing fancy but good for it's price (appx. € 40)
Regrettable there are no decent eating faciltie other then the hotel restaurant in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchman-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2008

A friendly warm atphosphere, outstanding hospitality a home from Home !!!!

I was resident at the hotel from the 12th June, 2008 -24th June, 2008. During my stay i found that the bed, together with all meals were were of a high standard. A hotel that can be recommended as value for money.

The staff were very friendly and socialble and more than helpful, smiles all round.

Personal thanks to barman/supervisor Robert Ndala and senior recepionist Ciphus, both professionals nothing too much trouble and more than willing to provide an excellent service .Both gentlemen are a great asset to the hotel, keep up the good work, well done !

I highly recommend this hotel and will definately be staying there again.

Michael- London United Kingdom.

  • Liked — The Hospitality, Freindly And Warm
  • Disliked — Internet Too Expensive, Internet Cafe In Mall A Lot More Cheaper.Iron On Third Floor Requires Replacing.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Londonboy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel 224
Hotel 224
#34 of 72 in Pretoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.0 mi away
Burgers Park Hotel
Burgers Park Hotel
#33 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
816.2 mi away
Premier Hotel Pretoria
Premier Hotel Pretoria
#17 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Picture This - Pretoria North Lodge & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Hotel

Property: Arcadia Hotel
Address: 515 Johannes Ramokhoase Street | Arcadia, Pretoria 0083, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arcadia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foothills of the historic Union Buildings in Pretoria, the hotel is easily located just 40 minutes from OR Thambo Airport. Arcadia Hotel offers comfortable accommodation in bedrooms which are en-suite, recently renovated, air-conditioned and equipped with colour satellite TV and Electronic Safes. Wi-Fi in public areas. There are 8 conference venues accommodating from 10 to 250 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arcadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing