We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat and clean accomodation”
Review of Hotel 224

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 224
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I was surprised to find the hotel in a very well maintained condition with modern finishes. The rooms are a little small, but very neat. I did found that the mini fridge was not stocked, as was advertised on bookings.com, but had to be ordered via room service. When I read the hotel book in the room, Room service had already closed for the night. The room also did not have a hair dryer, but I was immediately supplied with one when I contacted reception. To my pleasant surprise, reception assisted us in Arikaans.

We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant and must say that the food was really good and the staff very friendly. Breakfast the following morning was also delicious. Over all I will rate this hotel as excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adrie_Wahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 224
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

The sevice was excellent but the type of guest made it unpleasant. From 2 untill 4 in the morning you have people singing,shouting,chanting and slaming doors. This made the stay unpleasant. We will not return there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 276Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Yea it is always Extra Ordinary, friendliness of staff members, some who still remember my face when I walk in. Still very affordable, convenient, close to shopping malls, walking distance to and from shops.

Room Tip: The rooms are a bit too small but it would probably suit the needs for one person.but the big screen...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank markalex81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Staff is really friendly service is exelent and the food is very delicious I have no complains at all. Thanks for everything we had a great honeymoon thanks to all the staff. I would like to go there any time again. Keep up the good work. God bless you all

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystal-bredenhann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stay far from this place, it's the worst hotel you can stay in... Rooms are tiny and dirty, furniture is damaged. The noise coming from the street was so laud we couldn't sleep in spite of the fact we were on the 13th floor. I felt as if our bed was parked in the middle the crossroad down on the street. The stuff didn't bother to clean the bathroom and absolutely ignored the "do not disturb" sign in the morning knocking on the door. Pillows are so uncomfortable that my husband slept on his jacket and I just removed the pillow at all. After you take a shower and you start searching for the hairdrier that is mentioned in the room's description you are kindly informed you can come down to the reception and take one after you leave a deposit. I walked around the carpeted room for few minutes after I took shower - my feet got so dirty I couldn't believe it - you can see the effect in the pictures uploaded.. Free wifi is actually limited to 100mb and terribly slow. I can't think of a single positive thing to say for this place.

Room Tip: Better choose another hotel
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Des7813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Reception booked us in for 1 instead of 2 nights. Breakfast not ready at 06h00 as advised. No butter, food cold. Rooms really tiny - no wifi. Walls paper thin; lots of noise. Parking tiny. Staff loud.

Room Tip: My tip is find another hotel if you value a good night' rest.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The experience was good. Some thourough cleaning needs to be considered especially in far corners of the room. the aroma that once was there needs to be brought back. Carpets must be thouroughly leaned especially in high traffic areas like room entrance.

Room Tip: Thank you.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nsizwa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.9 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
1.3 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#20 of 73 in Pretoria
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#11 of 73 in Pretoria
513 reviews
1.0 mi away
Burgers Park Hotel
Burgers Park Hotel
#31 of 73 in Pretoria
39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#48 of 73 in Pretoria
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 224? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 224

Address: 596 Francis Baard Street | c/o Leyds & Francis Baard Streets, Pretoria 0007, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range: £40 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 224 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel 224 is a breath of fresh air in the Pretoria three-star accommodation landscape and will surpass your every expectation. Its ideal location in the heart of the Capital City affords guests effortless access to world-class shopping destinations, cultural institutions and sport stadia. When it comes to business, the Hotel 224 provides an optimal solution. Corporate guests are not only close to major corporations and business districts, but are also provided with the finest in meeting facilities, reliable wireless connectivity throughout the building and bespoke dining options. The elegantly appointed guest rooms with luxurious double or twin bedded accommodation offers both business and leisure travellers stylish comfort with modern amenities. The majority of our rooms feature spectacular cityscape views overlooking the vast metropolis and its landmark structures such as The Union Buildings, which are particularly impressive at night. A selection of elegantly appointed apartments of varied sizes are available including: Bachelor Apartments, 2.5 Bedroom Apartments, 1.5 Bedroom Apartments and 1 Bedroom Apartments. At the Hotel 224 Serviced Apartments, our guests enjoy the benefits and comforts of hotel-like amenities but with the convenience and ease of more space and kitchen facilities associated with high-end city apartments. These fully furnished apartments are ideal for long-term stays, and are fully equipped with soft-furnishings, kitchen-ware and cooking utensils. Our guests are also afforded conveniences such as complimentary wireless internet, DSTV bouquet, housekeeping, front office, parking, restaurant and gym facilities- to mention a few. In its most recent refurbishment, two brand new architectural spaces have been created making the Hotel 224 a wonder literally from top to toe. On ground level, The Pepper Tree offers a contemporary venue that opens directly onto the tranquil outdoor deck. The deck is the perfect setting for a relaxed lunch or evening cocktails, an oasis in the concrete jungle. Ascend to the top of the building and you will find one of the most impressive venues in Pretoria. Flanked by floor-to-ceiling glass, the Lion’s Den boasts a near 360° view over the city. The tastefully decorated interior is fully equipped with a private bar and state-of-the-art conferencing equipment. The Hotel 224 is an establishment that aspires to impress you, and it will. As an established privately-owned-and-managed business, the hotel exudes warmth that remains unmatched by cookie-cutter enterprises. Contemporary and comfortable interior spaces, friendly efficient service, affordable rates, innovative business solutions and superb dining await you. The Hotel 224 – your first visit will not be your last. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 224 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
224 Hotel Pretoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing