We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location if that's where you need to be and you don't mind CBD noise ...”
Review of Manhattan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Kloof, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Convenient location if that's where you need to be and you don't mind CBD noise ...”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

As other reviewers have indicated - the staff are friendly and obliging - the breakfast and dinner buffets offer something for everyone - and the rooms provide adequate but no-frills furnishings. What the hotel does not provide is double-glazing on its bedroom windows - and for some guests this could prove to be a really big negative - and for some, definitely a "deal breaker" !! Street noise is quite considerable due to the location. I stayed here with several colleagues and most of us attempted to block out the street noise by turning on the air-conditioners full blast; because the noise from the aircos resembled the droning sound of a jumbo jet one could fall asleep pretending one was on a long distance flight somewhere...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    44
    28
    5
    7
See reviews for
9
22
10
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herault, France
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

The Manhatten is a very friendly hotel with a great restaurant, but with some negatives. The score is really 3+.

The rooms are 3*, bigger than an Ibis room, but with much the same facilities. The soundproofing between rooms is not great and dreadful between the room and the corridor. We had some extremely noisy fellow guests on the first night that we were there, revving very powerful bikes throughout the night. This, however cannot be held against the hotel staff, who were as distressed as the guests.

The bar had very loud music playing, but the lounge was better.

The restaurant was very good. Omelettes made for you for breakfast put them up a notch in my book. They offered a packed breakfast for early risers and a large packed lunch for 90 R per person. Dinner was buffet style and very good.

Staff were consistently good and a special mention for the manager who dealt sympathetically with the noise problem.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeinHerault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2012

its a great place to be with spacious,rooms clean and friendly staff.The food is amazing,Excellent wont mind spending another weekend there.Could use more waiters though when they have a lot of guests booked in.especially in the bar area took time to get served there.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eMalahleni, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Was there over the weekend with my husband to be, and we had an amazing experiance. The hotel has very friendly staff, the atmosphere is relaxing and calm and very very clean.

I also must compliment them on the free shuttle service they have for visitors,so you need not worry about transport in and around the cbd area.

At the Rockefella Resutrant the breakfast and food in general was amazing, very well prepared,compliments to the chef indeed and amazing decor making you feel right at home,and the hours are very flexiable you need not worryabout waking up too early.

You will hardly realise that you in the cbd,until you leave the building.

Am looking forward to our next visit!

Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyTeamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Its clean,staff is excellent.
Near Gautrain station. My room wasn't what I expected. It wasn't a wow experience when I opened my room as compared to my previous stay at other places. Room needed some refurnishing. I would stay there again given the chance.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cimento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Did not realize centre of city? Staff was extremely friendly and the service was excellent. Bufet meals was very good

Room Tip: Most excellent service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornecoetzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingstone, Zambia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

The hotel is well situated if you need to do business in central Pretoria. The rooms are comfortable, and there is a complimentary shuttle service to and from most major centers and government buildings.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
11.9 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#20 of 73 in Pretoria
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel 224
Hotel 224
#27 of 73 in Pretoria
100 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#11 of 73 in Pretoria
495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burgers Park Hotel
Burgers Park Hotel
#31 of 73 in Pretoria
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Hotel

Property: Manhattan Hotel
Address: 247 Scheiding Street, Pretoria 0002, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manhattan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manhattan Hotel Pretoria - Closest hotel to the Pretoria Gautrain Station (250 meters). The Manhattan Hotel is an upmarket, 3-star business hotel conveniently situated just outside the Pretoria CBD. In fact, you will find that our location makes us one of the most popular hotels in the city. Even though we're just a 3 star hotel, you should and can expect to receive 5 star service from us everytime. What makes us VERY different from all the other hotel's in Pretoria is our food. Our Lunch & Dinner buffet offers over a 110 dishes each prepare with special care and attention to detail. Be spoiled for choice when you enjoy stay with us. We are also the first and only 3 star hotel in Pretoria with a SPA that offers an array of treatments to indulge and spoil yourself with. The following FREE service offerings are available to all our guests: FREE shuttle service to an from Pretoria Gautrain Station (250 meters - 1 minute). FREE shuttle service to any 5km radius around the hotel. FREE shuttle service to Brooklyn Mall (5 minutes). FREE Uncapped High Speed WiFi Internet. FREE Internet access and use of the computer/business center for those travelling without Laptops. FREE use of our in-house GYM open all hours of the day. All this is available at excellent prices that offers our clients exceptional value for money. Manhattan Hotel - Redefining the ART of Hospitality!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing