We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for trains”
Review of Manhattan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location for trains”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

A short walk from Gautrain. I arrived early on a Sunday morning. One of the security guides didn't want me to walk to the hotel alone so she accompanied me (and carried my bag). A nice touch as the area is a bit "seedy" at that time of day.
Although I was so early I was given an immediate check in.
The room was fine for my needs and there are no complaints at all.
It is actually walking distance to the main station for me to catch the Blue Train. I didn't realise and the hotel provided a free shuttle for me.
It's a business hotel and perfect for the purpose of using the trains..

Room Tip: The bar is a smokers delight! Difficult to get service in the other area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boomer020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    43
    26
    5
    7
See reviews for
8
21
9
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ararat, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to assist when we needed to travel to an embassy in Pretoria. They also provided the hotel bus to take us to the shopping area. Rooms were clean and comfortable with all required facilities. We felt very safe. Buffet dining room was very good for dinner and breakfast. The hotel was very close to the Gautrain and bus station.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil52495045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I often use the Manhattan Hotel for Conferencing. It is conveniently located and we book our out of town delegates in this Hotel. Our Delegates love the hotel and find the service excellent and the food exceptional. The Conferencing section is exceptionally well organised and will comply to your every wish. Conveniently located near the Pretoria Gautrain Station for delegates flying in.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rooinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helsinki
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We were shocked by our small room with black interior, not anything shown in web sites. also location is very restless in middle of non-safe area of Pretoria starion. Breakfast was good and service decent.

I do not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kloof, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

As other reviewers have indicated - the staff are friendly and obliging - the breakfast and dinner buffets offer something for everyone - and the rooms provide adequate but no-frills furnishings. What the hotel does not provide is double-glazing on its bedroom windows - and for some guests this could prove to be a really big negative - and for some, definitely a "deal breaker" !! Street noise is quite considerable due to the location. I stayed here with several colleagues and most of us attempted to block out the street noise by turning on the air-conditioners full blast; because the noise from the aircos resembled the droning sound of a jumbo jet one could fall asleep pretending one was on a long distance flight somewhere...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herault, France
Level Contributor
156 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

The Manhatten is a very friendly hotel with a great restaurant, but with some negatives. The score is really 3+.

The rooms are 3*, bigger than an Ibis room, but with much the same facilities. The soundproofing between rooms is not great and dreadful between the room and the corridor. We had some extremely noisy fellow guests on the first night that we were there, revving very powerful bikes throughout the night. This, however cannot be held against the hotel staff, who were as distressed as the guests.

The bar had very loud music playing, but the lounge was better.

The restaurant was very good. Omelettes made for you for breakfast put them up a notch in my book. They offered a packed breakfast for early risers and a large packed lunch for 90 R per person. Dinner was buffet style and very good.

Staff were consistently good and a special mention for the manager who dealt sympathetically with the noise problem.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeinHerault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2012

its a great place to be with spacious,rooms clean and friendly staff.The food is amazing,Excellent wont mind spending another weekend there.Could use more waiters though when they have a lot of guests booked in.especially in the bar area took time to get served there.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
0.3 mi away
Burgers Park Hotel
Burgers Park Hotel
#31 of 73 in Pretoria
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
1.3 mi away
Hotel 224
Hotel 224
#26 of 73 in Pretoria
97 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#12 of 73 in Pretoria
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Hotel

Property: Manhattan Hotel
Address: 247 Scheiding Street, Pretoria 0002, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manhattan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manhattan Hotel Pretoria - Closest hotel to the Pretoria Gautrain Station (250 meters). The Manhattan Hotel is an upmarket, 3-star business hotel conveniently situated just outside the Pretoria CBD. In fact, you will find that our location makes us one of the most popular hotels in the city. Even though we're just a 3 star hotel, you should and can expect to receive 5 star service from us everytime. What makes us VERY different from all the other hotel's in Pretoria is our food. Our Lunch & Dinner buffet offers over a 110 dishes each prepare with special care and attention to detail. Be spoiled for choice when you enjoy stay with us. We are also the first and only 3 star hotel in Pretoria with a SPA that offers an array of treatments to indulge and spoil yourself with. The following FREE service offerings are available to all our guests: FREE shuttle service to an from Pretoria Gautrain Station (250 meters - 1 minute). FREE shuttle service to any 5km radius around the hotel. FREE shuttle service to Brooklyn Mall (5 minutes). FREE Uncapped High Speed WiFi Internet. FREE Internet access and use of the computer/business center for those travelling without Laptops. FREE use of our in-house GYM open all hours of the day. All this is available at excellent prices that offers our clients exceptional value for money. Manhattan Hotel - Redefining the ART of Hospitality!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing