We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checked out after one night”
Review of Manhattan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Reviewed 29 June 2010

The website suggests that they are "redefining the art of hospitality". Sadly after one night there it is unclear which direction this redefinition is moving. The staff are efficient at best but unenergetic and the rooms are absolutely nothing like the website. They are small, old, my non smoker smelt of cigarettes. The shower is uncontrollable. There is no safe, and given the hotel is alongside the railway station, the coach station and the prison, I felt like this was a bad omission. Plus points for the driver who looked after us well at either end of the football match but apart from that, no redeeming features. I checked out after one night.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpjp44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Manhattan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2010

My Experience : we found this hotel from a few freinds who had been there earlier. The hotel had nice cozy rooms and they also had interconnecting rooms for large families. it was convenient to stay her and tour both pretoria and Joberg. Since it was a little away from Joberg city buzz, this was affordable. if you have a car/taxi then its ideal to stay at a place like this to save on joberg city hotel rates. I would not say that the food was great but we did not depend on the hotel food as there are a few restaurants /joints along pretoria. if you are travelling as a large group and have your own transport, then its worthwhile to strike a deal at this place.
Dos : plan day long trips to pretoria , Joberg staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelTipsKrishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2006

Good hotel for the value. Great view of petoria. Good location. Rooms were clean. Lobby was decent. Staff was helpful.

One of the great values is the buffet style breakfast, lunch and dinner and the food was very acceptable. We stayed in one of the presidential suites nothing spectacular. I believe the have the Clinton and Bush suites (smile). As stated before It was clean and really good for the value. No gym that I could remember.

Stay at this hotel for $89-100/night totally WORTH IT.

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TRAVELINGLIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Pietro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YolandiLoock, PA to the Managing Director at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ruben v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Choisir les chambres aux etages plus élevé
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verocolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VladislavVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#11 of 73 in Pretoria
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel 224
Hotel 224
#26 of 73 in Pretoria
109 reviews
11.9 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#22 of 73 in Pretoria
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Hotel

Address: 247 Scheiding Street, Pretoria 0002, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Price Range: £44 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manhattan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manhattan Hotel Pretoria - Closest hotel to the Pretoria Gautrain Station (250 meters). The Manhattan Hotel is an upmarket, 3-star business hotel conveniently situated just outside the Pretoria CBD. In fact, you will find that our location makes us one of the most popular hotels in the city. Even though we're just a 3 star hotel, you should and can expect to receive 5 star service from us everytime. What makes us VERY different from all the other hotel's in Pretoria is our food. Our Lunch & Dinner buffet offers over a 110 dishes each prepare with special care and attention to detail. Be spoiled for choice when you enjoy stay with us. We are also the first and only 3 star hotel in Pretoria with a SPA that offers an array of treatments to indulge and spoil yourself with. The following FREE service offerings are available to all our guests: FREE shuttle service to an from Pretoria Gautrain Station (250 meters - 1 minute). FREE shuttle service to any 5km radius around the hotel. FREE shuttle service to Brooklyn Mall (5 minutes). FREE Uncapped High Speed WiFi Internet. FREE Internet access and use of the computer/business center for those travelling without Laptops. FREE use of our in-house GYM open all hours of the day. All this is available at excellent prices that offers our clients exceptional value for money. Manhattan Hotel - Redefining the ART of Hospitality!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing