We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A magical 40th birthday party!”
Review of Illyria House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Illyria House
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A magical 40th birthday party!”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

From the first hello you fall in love with this beautiful english colonial house with the most stunning gardens and little secret paths laid out with pebbles. The poolside is amazing and whether you swim or just drink a cocktail, it just makes you forget that you are in the city! Between leaves and tree branches you find the zen house where you can spoil yourself to a lovely massage. I had 26 of my closest friends and they celebrated with me an unforgettable evening! On the poolside everyone was chatting and relaxing while a jazz band played music. We were swept away to a different time and place. We had dinner at the house and the table was laid out with stunning roses, silverware, and lovely cotton napkins. We sat down to a lovely four course meal which was decided by myself and Marietjie. The butler's serving us, did everything with a smile! We had our own music and danced the night away. This evening I will remember for the rest of my life because they made a the memory. We had the Catherine Suite for the night and was greeted with a lovely breakfast. When we left the staff sang us a beautiful song, opened our motor doors and we left this breathtaking house, nothing was too much for them, just their best and even that made us feel like a King and Queen.

Room Tip: We preferred the rooms in the main house but all the rooms are really good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tanya_dt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    44
    9
    13
    15
See reviews for
34
127
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

It was with great surprise when I found Illyria House during my search for the perfect wedding venue. The venue was even more spectacular than the online photos.

It is the perfect venue for a smaller wedding and the romance, atmosphere and excellent service made our wedding day very special and memorable. Our guests was blown away and well impressed. Thank you Illyria House and staff!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FriedaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I wanted a night 'fitted for a king' for my husband's birthday and Illyria House did not disappoint me. I don't have words to describe our wonderful night. Thanks to everyone - especially our butler - Precious.

Room Tip: Stunning and comfortable. Maybe the butler can fold away the blankets and take the scutter cushions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marius700727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

I was lucky enough to stay at the Illyria house for two weeks while I was in South Africa for business. What a pleasure. The Illyria house and grounds created an ambience that made working long hours pleasant and enjoyable. The house has all the amenities needed to conduct business, but in an environment that is soothing, comforting, and relaxing. The food, the staff, the rooms, the service were all top notch. The freshly made to order food, the luxurious rooms and the personal service made us feel like VIPs. By the end of our two week stay the house felt like home and I was sad to leave.
We were lucky to find this wonderful hideaway. I have recommended the house to all my colleagues conducting business in South Africa. I hope I make it back some day for personal travel.
Illyria House made my trip to South Africa an incredible experience that I will never forget. Thank you Illyria House!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hcforall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kampala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I wish to warmly thank the great team at IIIyria guest house for the very wonderful stay I had while there on an official business trip. The house is equipped with beautiful Victorian furniture which makes one think you are living in the past times or taking part in some Victorian movie. There is a butler service for the meals with very handsome young and old men wearing white gloves and always willing to help and smiling. The rooms are fantastic! Very spacious, with very clean linen. There was a welcome drink with fruits and nuts on the table which was always kept replenished. Shower facilities and a bath tub if you wish to take a deep soak with bathing salts on the house. The very comfy beds with similar Victorian furniture are preprared for you each evening with a hot water bottle in case you are feeling cold. The cuisine...Oh! My!...Excellent! It was a great pleasure being treated like a 'Queen' which I was far from being. Thank you all for the wonderful hospitality, cuisine and pleasant environs at the guest house. I really felt very pampered and loved while there.There is a great family at IIIYRIA!
I wish that one day I go back...pray that I do!

Bravo! Keep up the good service!
Wish you all the best in your endeavours.

Room Tip: All rooms are good just depends on the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ladyKampala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We were really lucky to find this place. You will never regret staying here. This is such a wonderful place to spend one day, a week, a couple of weeks...forever if I could! Rooms are so nice, spacious and comfortable. There is a beautiful garden and a tempered pool. And the best part of it is that you will just get the best service possible. Staff will make sure anything you need you get and they really cared it was that way. They put hot water bottles on our beds because it was cold. They would make any changes we requested to the food we ordered. they also have a permanent spa person so you can schedule any services whenever you need. This place is like a dream come true!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecilia_MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladysmith, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We had filter coffee in the room, but nothing to make it with. Our loose carpet, had very big dirty stains on. No floating tank.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poekie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
4.2 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#3 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#9 of 72 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
4.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
1.4 mi away
Court Classique Suite Hotel
11.5 mi away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#14 of 72 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Illyria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illyria House

Property: Illyria House
Address: 327 Bourke Street | Muckleneuk, Pretoria 0002, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#3 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pretoria
#10 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Illyria House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ultimate Romantic Getaway. 25 Minutes from the OR Tambo International Airport (Johannesburg) and 5 minutes from the Gautrain Station.The serene beauty of Illyria House has always been an irresistible attraction to all lovers of fine things. Against the backdrop of classical music, fine antiques, 17th century tapestries, and a resident duck family an enchanting colonial lifestyle unfolds. Illyria House is highly appreciated by the discerning traveler for its charm, exquisite cuisine, exclusivity, luxury and unrivalled personalised butler service. We offer intimate soirées by world class musicians. Our Oriental Spa specialises in relaxing massages. Our facilities include a jacuzzi, sauna, heated pool and a cold pool. A wide selection of tours to historical, cultural and wildlife attractions come highly recommended. Personalised shopping is ideal for a last night stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Illyria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illyria House Hotel Pretoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing