We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Illyria House, Pretoria”
Review of Illyria House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Illyria House
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Illyria House, Pretoria”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

What an mazing magical evening. I held a party for my partner at this venue and we were treated like royalty. You would never think in a place such as Pretoria that you will be able to find a gem like this! Thank you Marietjie and staff, we'll do it again and again!

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. You’d feel like royalty sleeping here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anina488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    46
    9
    13
    16
See reviews for
35
130
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa Ca USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Our stay at the Illyria Estate was by far the most memorable of our journey! I enjoyed it so much that I am giving it a 10 and the Blue Train a 9!

We stayed in the Catherine Suite and it was the most beautiful room and rated as the most romantic in South Africa. Mount Nelson Hotel rated as #1 for the best high tea in the world, by UK, came in only #5.! That shall give you an idea how grand this suite was.

The owner and staff was definitely the most attentive and I praise Marietjie for her sense of detail and style. A definite must for your Bucket List!
Elizabeth du Toit

Room Tip: Every room is gorgeous in the Estate. We viewed all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elizabeth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Beautiful venue with superb service. Lovely high tea and relaxing spa facilities. Serene gardens and tranquil atmosphere. Great experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fuzzynuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldeburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I stayed at Illyria House for a week and had a lovely time. From the moment I walked into this wonderful house, throughout my stay, I was pampered by the staff. I stayed in the Salome suite, overlooking the gardens. The suite had a large French bed with a marbled bathroom and a little kitchenette. I enjoyed my own private table on the balcony where I had a delightful high tea one afternoon. The breakfast was a delicious spread of freshly baked pastries, cereals, yoghurts and a hot breakfast. I had dinner there one evening and the duck was very tasty and exquisitely prepared.

The hotel is well-located in a quiet neighbourhood on a hill-top. The swimming pool is in a picturesque setting and after returning from my work every day, it was wonderfully relaxing to cool down in it.

I will definitely return here when I am back in Pretoria for business.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aldeburghmuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I read the reviews before I go ,but I really think that the place is not a "fairy tale " nor "palatial".
Not very good relation price- quality . Not a really good service . It is different kind of accomodation thats true ,but in Portugal we have "Pousadas de Portugal " much more beautiful,well tended and with better food and service !
If I ever go back to Pretoria I will not stay there !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max_Luca_Porto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietjie v, Owner at Illyria House, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Kindly take note, Illyria House is not an ordinary Hotel. It is not the place for guests looking for a big viby modern hotel. It is a small charming manor house hotel - an intimate haven of privacy, peace and tranquility. We celebrate the elegance and romance of a time gone by. Furnished completely in antique furniture, with soft classical music playing in the background, Illyria House exudes an ambiance of refined "joie de vivre". We share with our guests a unique African colonial lifestyle experience. Situated in the heart of the old Colonial Capital and melting pot of our early and current historic and cultural heritage, all the monuments are a stone through away. The experience is enhanced by a wide choice of tours and the enjoyment of a private spa in Oriental style. We trust the information wll be of value to guests who are not sure of the destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I stayed at this place for a conference. It defied all my expectations of what the perfect business venue is. Instead of cold functionality we had palatial surroundings which fitted perfectly with our meeting objectives. The food reminded us of the supreme standards we should aim for. The service echoed perfection. Thank you for reminding us that work is also pleasure and enjoyment. life is too short not to use this venue for business meetings.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ontwikkelaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potchefstroom, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

What a wonderful place, now I can say I lived in a fairy tale! Me and my husband spend a night at Illyria House after our wedding and we were amazed! I felt like princess! We were greeted by our own personal butler. He was wonderful, and he entertained us so much and anything we asked he answered and provided. We had a private dinner served at 20:00 with complimentary sparkling wine on our own patio. They served us as if we were in a movie…perfect. We had an entire suite for ourselves (which is bigger than our flat at the moment), with robes and slippers. We were like two little kids jumping around amazed by everything that they did. The experience that we had there was so peaceful and carefree. The service was impeccable, 5:30 coffee in bed with fresh scones and not just one each a whole basket full! Waking up there was a dream come true. We had tea out of real Royal Albert’s cups and ate a huge breakfast. The grounds there are really beautiful and peaceful; sometimes my husband had to remind me that we were in the middle of Pretoria and not in a period drama. The beautiful thing about Illyria House is the originality and the geniuses of it all. The beautiful piano, chandelier, dinner table, cutlery, carpets, chairs, gardens and swimming pool just gave it the perfect atmosphere. We were greeted by everyone and they sang us a beautiful song while we were driving away! I wish we could stay there again! I would recommend this place to anyone...actually everyone!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anneke_van_der_Walt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
4.2 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#5 of 73 in Pretoria
255 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#11 of 73 in Pretoria
495 reviews
1.1 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#13 of 73 in Pretoria
158 reviews
1.8 mi away
131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
Court Classique Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Illyria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illyria House

Property: Illyria House
Address: 327 Bourke Street | Muckleneuk, Pretoria 0002, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pretoria
#10 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Illyria House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ultimate Romantic Getaway. 25 Minutes from the OR Tambo International Airport (Johannesburg) and 5 minutes from the Gautrain Station.The serene beauty of Illyria House has always been an irresistible attraction to all lovers of fine things. Against the backdrop of classical music, fine antiques, 17th century tapestries, and a resident duck family an enchanting colonial lifestyle unfolds. Illyria House is highly appreciated by the discerning traveler for its charm, exquisite cuisine, exclusivity, luxury and unrivalled personalised butler service. We offer intimate soirées by world class musicians. Our Oriental Spa specialises in relaxing massages. Our facilities include a jacuzzi, sauna, heated pool and a cold pool. A wide selection of tours to historical, cultural and wildlife attractions come highly recommended. Personalised shopping is ideal for a last night stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Illyria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illyria House Hotel Pretoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing