We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath Taking!!”
Review of Illyria House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Illyria House
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Dressed up in 1920's attire, a group of 7 young ladies attended the morning High Tea this morning. Well let me tell you this Hotel is breath taking, the antiques in this hotel are of another world, a time long before mine. The staff are super friendly. The tea was divine and the rooms for of victorian times and so so romantic! The garden is exquisite! All i can say is thank you! And for those snotty comments have no idea of class or appreciating old world!!

Room Tip: The oriental house is beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michelle5953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2013

This was a special romantic day arranged by my wife for us before our holidays. We arrived and were not greeted, a waiter showed us to a table outside and threw the forms to fill out on the table. After 1 hour we were shown to our room, I was so disappointed with what greeted us, compared to the pics on the website this was not the same place. The bathroom had a green vinyl bath, not big enough to lie down in. The shower had a piece of wood as the roof, and the whole bathrooms were in cubicles with the toilet cubicle not big enough to move in. The whole area we were to be accomodated in looked and felt like a extension that hadn't been finished. We ordered coffee (this took 55mins) I then requested to see the manager and showed her the pictures we had seen in the website and asked where this was, we were informed it was in the main house, I then told the manager that we would not be staying there and wanted to be moved in to the main house. While this was going on the (butler) asked us what we would like for dinner!! At 3 o clock in the afternoon, I told them it was (as per the website) a 5 star A la carte menu and I would choose then, I was informed that we had to order now. We ordered and were then told our order was not available and had to choose something else!! 5 star and they can't provide what is on the menu or get it 4hrs before dinner. We were moved in to the main house (a room "became" available) this was better but certainly NOT what we expected! The food was good and there when we got our 2nd choice it was very good. My overall statement is this establishment is on its way down, scruffy, lack of maintenance and the service was very bad. NOT what you would expect from a 5 star boutique hotel. We were so disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy19661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

Personalised service, fantastic food, relaxing and re-energising experience and a great location. We felt like we never wanted to leave. Would definately recommend it to others. Not sure if this was the room or us but the rooms could use some stronger air-conditioners coz boy was it hot at night.,

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MShelembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

My hubby surprised me with a stay over and spa treatment package for my birthday, wow - absolute bliss. Our personalised white gloved butler Jan ensured that we were exeptionally taken care of, we were spoilt with thai massages and delicious cuisine. The beautiful antiques and 17th century tapestries gave us a taste of living the colonial lifestyle. We will certainly be regulars.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lucinda Bisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

If this is what a 5 star is then I would rather spend good money at a 3 star.
1. On arrival – Lemonade???? Really more like water and lemon juice
2. Waiting areas curtains – white???? No really now so dirty – they were grey
3. Room – has that room ever been dusted? Smelt of mould and dust
4. Renovating and painting right next to our room – smelt like paint
5. Cupboard in the room had old grape stems in it
6. Fridge was leaking
7. Tap in bathroom was leaking dripping the whole time
8. High Tea – not to bad – however to many sweet things not enough savoury bits
9. Pool – dirty
10. While relaxing at pool area – workers walking up and down – invading your privacy
11. Garden not well maintained at all
12. Seating area around pool was supposed to be white however there were water stains on the couches and dusty ( not white at all)
13. Asked for towels at pool – it took them 1 and half hours to bring a towel.
14. Dinner – food was good BUT overpriced – how do they get away with this?
15. Breakfast – I don’t even want to talk about breakfast………………. What a disappointment.

I am very upset that this was the place we chose to spend our 3 year anniversary – I will never again in my life recommend or stay at this Illyria House.
There 5 star rating should be taken away, it is not worth the paper that the 5 star rating is printed on.

One positive thing I would like to mention is that the staff are always smiling and extremely friendly that was refreshing.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Jacky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

i stay in alot of guest houses and hotels WORLD WIDE as i do a lot of traveling. This was my second worst experience with accommodation!!! The smell was terrible (mouldy). The bedding wasn't even white, it was dirty. They promise on the website "nice elegant 5 star rooms" and treatment but i have had better stay in 3 star hotels! Never again!! the breakfast tasted like mothballs!!! no it was terrible!!! There was no parking... Struggled for an hour with that... How is that a romantic stay?
The room was just the size of our bed. The bathroom the size of the bath. How did they get a five star???? maybe it was 20 years ago? I honestly want health and safety to have a check there....

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 007jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Disappointing for a 5 star hotel. Emanuel,Johannes and all other Staff members are outstanding. The hotel is tired and needs an upgrade badly. The restaurant is a rip off, R140 for chicken mayonnaise sandwich and R200 for a tuna salad!The quality of the food was poor. If you looking for 5 star at this price there are many other places to go. Has potential but as it is is a rip off. Not a place I would go back to. 

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tgecelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
10.2 mi away
Kievits Kroon
Kievits Kroon
#2 of 74 in Pretoria
439 reviews
4.2 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#3 of 74 in Pretoria
325 reviews
1.8 mi away
131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#8 of 74 in Pretoria
195 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#16 of 74 in Pretoria
529 reviews
11.5 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#20 of 74 in Pretoria
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Illyria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illyria House

Address: 327 Bourke Street | Muckleneuk, Pretoria 0002, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pretoria
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#10 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range: £101 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Illyria House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ultimate Romantic Getaway. 25 Minutes from the OR Tambo International Airport (Johannesburg) and 5 minutes from the Gautrain Station.The serene beauty of Illyria House has always been an irresistible attraction to all lovers of fine things. Against the backdrop of classical music, fine antiques, 17th century tapestries, and a resident duck family an enchanting colonial lifestyle unfolds. Illyria House is highly appreciated by the discerning traveler for its charm, exquisite cuisine, exclusivity, luxury and unrivalled personalised butler service. We offer intimate soirées by world class musicians. Our Oriental Spa specialises in relaxing massages. Our facilities include a jacuzzi, sauna, heated pool and a cold pool. A wide selection of tours to historical, cultural and wildlife attractions come highly recommended. Personalised shopping is ideal for a last night stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Illyria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illyria House Hotel Pretoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing