We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sublime Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Illyria House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Illyria House
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sublime Experience”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My husband & I celebrated our five year wedding anniversary at this beautiful establishment. I called a couple of days prior & Brigid got back to me within minutes with a quote that included dinner, bed & breakfast, a hot stone massage & all the perks that go with this five star establishment, at a very reasonable price.

We were welcomed upon arrival by Foster, our butler, who would make sure that our stay would be perfect, he parked the cars, brought up the luggage, introduced us to the Catharina Suite & all she has to offer, served our meals, nothing was to much for this fine gentleman, who took such pride in doning his white gloves for our dining experience.

Our massages were the epitome of relaxation. From slipping into our gown & slippers, to taking a stroll through the moonlit garden to the spa, the heady smell of incence strategically placed outside, candles burning, soft music, cocooned in the comfort of plush, warmed towels, while Jasmine & Nanna worked their magic. Both Thai ladies are experts in their line of work.

Our dinner was served in the privacy of the cellar. My husband played it safe by ordering the butternut soup, filet & choc pud. I was more adventurous & opted for the leek soup, duck l'orange & ginger with spun sugar pud. I was not disappointed. It was quite & intimate, perfect for our anniversary.

Where does one start to decribe the opulence of the Catharina Suite & the attention to detail? Best described as an unexpected upgrade from economy to first class on a longhaul flight.

Be prepared to come with a pocket full of fifties as this staff compliment is more than deserving, truly a magnificent stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    44
    9
    12
    15
See reviews for
34
125
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Illyria house was the second stop on our honeymoon. My partner and I took Rovos Rail, easily the most luxurious train in the world, from Cape Town to Pretoria, and were picked up by Illyria's personal chaffeur. We were greeted with overwhelming and genuine warmth at the door on arrival from the manageress Marietjie and introduced to our personal butler, a real gem of a gentleman known on the property as Uncle Joe. I need to make mention that the transition from the oppulence of Rovos Rail to Illyria was seemless. Illyria has created a masterpiece environment of quality antique furniture, tapestries, paintings, silverware, china and crystal all for the guests to view and enjoy. I had goosebumps knowing I was surrounded by the best of culture and history. Guests who comment in reviews that the furniture needs "updating" clearly haven't a clue about history, class and culture. A magnificent grand piano stands in the central reception room, leading to a large formal lounge and magnificent dining room. In our room was a bottle of Champagne and a few beautiful and delectable snacks. Uncle Joe showed us the room, the Chaterina Suite, a large magnificent room, immaculately clean with tasteful and quality finishes. On very short notice we requested a chaffeur to take us on a tour of Pretoria for the mid afternoon and this was arranged with no hassles. On arriving back from our tour we had a short nap and then went to the on site Wellness Spa for our complimentary Swedish massage. Sterling job, felt like a million dollars thanks to Jasmine, my massage therapist all the way from Thailand, what a priviledge! We then got dressed for dinner. I should mention that our formal shirts, creased from being packed in our luggage were also pressed, as arranged by our butler. We requested a private table in the formal lounge downstairs and this had been pre arranged. Dinner was a little pricey but delicious, and the wine selection good. The only criticism being that the food was not very hot, and served on cold plates which let down the dining experience. The chef visited us at the end of the meal and we expressed our satisfaction and concern with the food not being quite warm enough. Otherwise, a great dining experience.

The garden and building, beautifully lit up at night was simply magnificent to behold as we took a moonlight stroll in the garden. We had a wonderful restful sleep. Got dressed for breakfast, checked my email on the on site computer for guests use, and went downstairs. The breakfast was stunning and more than good. While my partner sorted out the final bill and went to draw cash, I lay on a beautifully comfortable and shaded Chaise Lounge in the garden with the bird song for company, little runner ducks and even a surprise visit from a pheasant. On leaving Illyria we were serenaded in song by the full complement of staff, a beautiful and memorable touch! I would recommend Illyria House to anyone craving a feast for the senses in the form of visual oppulence, prompt and efficient service and a truly memorable experience. What a warm team of staff, always willing to go the extra mile. Well done!! We look forward to returning one day...

Room Tip: The Chaterina Suite, rated as one of the top Honeymoon Suites in the country, will not disappoint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lorraine2591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Illyria House is fantastic! It has an 'old style, old money' antique charm to it. The service was amazing and Johannes is a real gem! Wonderful setting and great big rooms. The Thai massage I had has been the best I have ever had. A little pricey but you get what you pay for... I would definitely recommend to everyone for all occasions.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Riëtte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Illyria House is a awesome venue for every occasion, from a formal business lunch to a celebration with the family and even the perfect venue to get engaged... The staff is the best and most helpful when you need direction and the service is of the highest quality.

Situated in Pretoria you may be biased towards this jewel in the city life, but truly Illyria house is a getaway on its own. Recommended for any person who wants to experience more than the ordinary.

Illyria house also has various services which you could make use of, wedding venue, spa, suites, pool, dining facilities etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lukas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Feeling a bit depressed or totally stressed out? A visit to the Spa at Illyria house will transform you into a new person. The therapists are very professional and well trained. The hot stone full body massage is a definite must to try out! Look out for promotions to make your visit more affordable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HolidayCrazyPta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okavango Delta, Botswana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This was absolutely the most exquisite place I have ever come across anywhere in the world.
The service the food the decor the friendly staff.nif you want to be treated like royalty this is certainly the place to be!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacoline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Illyria House is one of those rare places you are dreaming of to vist. A place you didn´t thought exist, but it does! It is a gem - a jewel. The decor and ambiance is stunning. The service is personal, you will feel "at home" after a few minutes. Thank you Johannes, Jani and Marietjie - I can assssure you that we are coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SwedenAnnika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
4.2 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#5 of 72 in Pretoria
237 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#12 of 72 in Pretoria
476 reviews
4.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#13 of 72 in Pretoria
155 reviews
1.4 mi away
Court Classique Suite Hotel
1.1 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Illyria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illyria House

Property: Illyria House
Address: 327 Bourke Street | Muckleneuk, Pretoria 0002, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#2 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pretoria
#10 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Illyria House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ultimate Romantic Getaway. 25 Minutes from the OR Tambo International Airport (Johannesburg) and 5 minutes from the Gautrain Station.The serene beauty of Illyria House has always been an irresistible attraction to all lovers of fine things. Against the backdrop of classical music, fine antiques, 17th century tapestries, and a resident duck family an enchanting colonial lifestyle unfolds. Illyria House is highly appreciated by the discerning traveler for its charm, exquisite cuisine, exclusivity, luxury and unrivalled personalised butler service. We offer intimate soirées by world class musicians. Our Oriental Spa specialises in relaxing massages. Our facilities include a jacuzzi, sauna, heated pool and a cold pool. A wide selection of tours to historical, cultural and wildlife attractions come highly recommended. Personalised shopping is ideal for a last night stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Illyria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illyria House Hotel Pretoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing