We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of hype”
Review of Illyria House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Illyria House
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Montreux
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A lot of hype”
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Poor room consisting of two adjacent small rooms with narrow passages in between. One had to close the door of the TV cupboard to go by to the bathroom for instance.
Worse was that the room stank strongly of desinfectant. I could not find the cause or source in the room. It probably came from a storeroom or similar next door where I noticed the next morning evidence of insect damage. Have they been trying to eliminate ants or termites?
The smell was that strong I developed pain in my eyes, throat and got head-ache during the night.
Service at the breakfest and dinner table was by witers with white gloves. But the service it self was poor! Food quality was moderate. When I orderd one glass of wine (my wife does not drink alcohol) they arrived with the winelist. "We do not service wine by the glass"
Slippery and half cooked French fries and the vegatables were brought to the table some 10 minutes before the meat was served. We did not touch them. Icecream and sorbet for dessert were outright rubbish.The sorbet was a mass of lumps of water-ice and the the icecream was full of ice-crystals. Obviously stored at too high a tempurature and/ or very old. At breakfast the butter after having asked for it arrived when we had almost finished our eggs.
One really doesn't need white gloved waiters for that

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dr_p_j_seip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    46
    9
    13
    19
See reviews for
35
132
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful and exciting trip to your beautiful Country which began with an overnight stay in your exquisite hotel and I felt inspired, a first, to write and tell you how much we enjoyed meeting you and your charming staff. The welcome and, indeed, the 'send off' was quite overwhelming. From the minute we stepped through your magnificent entrance we felt totally at home and very pampered. What a truly beautiful home/hotel you have created! I am in no doubt that you must receive many letters of praise but I couldnt miss this opportunity to congratulate you on your immense skill of being able to put guests so at ease and your ability of passing on your love of illyria. So, thank you! My husband and I voted you, Marietjie, your staff and illyria the highlight of our trip and our 'all time favourite'

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceciliaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IllyriaHouse327, Owner/Manager at Illyria House, responded to this review, 22 April 2010
“What have I to give you back, whose worth may counterpoise this rich and precious gift?”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We were to arrive in Pretoria at about 1 pm in the afternoon on the Blue Train, however due to several unforeseen circumstances we were arriving late. Our accommodation included dinner but as I said, we were going to be quite late. Imagine our surprise when the Train Manager handed me his mobile phone and Illyira was on the line! So we wouldn't be disappointed, the menu items were read off, so we could choose our dinner and have it ready upon our arrival. And it was. We had the most amazing private dinner out on the patio with lovely music softly playing in the background. The room, service, everything was just lovely. My only regret is that our stay was so short we couldn't appreciate everything Illyira had to offer. We'll have to do it properly next time!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobLDallas_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Lovely rooms and helpful butler. Homely food and good choice. Hotel expensive but staff must be poorly paid as the cook came out in the middle of our meal with a whole selection of home made trinkets she wanted us to buy to help support her mother, not something we have experienced in any other hotel we have stayed in anywhere in the world. Internet was meant to be available but did not work.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scousecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IllyriaHouse327, owner at Illyria House, responded to this review, 19 November 2009
Hotels in South Africa proudly support the local communities. Most tourists appreciate the assurance that their money will benefit the under privileged in the countries where they travel – especially in Africa. For this reason we support several children’s homes. As “charity begins at home”, we recently decided to allow one of our cooks to support her Aunt, who lives in a village in the country when ever she sends some of her beautiful beadwork. Since the cook is usually very busy during meal times and can only offer her wares well after the meal and only after the butler has advised that the guests are finished with their meal. We are surprised to learn that this was offered during a meal. We were so shocked that we sadly had to stop this. Your assumption on these grounds that the staff are badly paid comes as another surprise. All our housekeeping, kitchen and butler staff have been with us between 11 – 18 years. They are a part of the family.

Apologies for the internet not working, however this was out of our control. During the first half of November our telephone provider had been working on the lines. We are grateful to advise that this problem has been solved.

Thank you for commending our menu, butler service and rooms. We appreciate your assessment of four out of five, despite your disappointment with the cook's offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NELSPRUIT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

Attention to detail superb. Service excellent. Wonderful food, interesting decor. A five star experience

Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank GREENRHINO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

What a wonderful experience!!! The decor,food service and overall enjoyment of Illyria house was out of this world. All our thanks to the fantastic staff and management of this lovely and romantic get away. Do not hesitate to indulge and spoil yourselves, it is more than worth it!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BellaroseAnnecy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Hello to everyone .... if your thinking to spend a few days in Pretoria, you have to stay at the Illyria House....its a Must !!!!!! All the people, the Hotel service, the food......everything is wonderful. The Best of the Best !!!
Hi, i just want to say hello !!! I stayed with you during my honeymoon in south africa. Illyria House Hotel is the best place i could ever imagine. I went almost 5 years ago, in september 13 2,004 and my wife and i could not forget the tomato soup we had in the garden terrace. The pool...the massage...the ducks....Everything was perfect with you....the car driver...the mayordome....everyone....all of you very special. We want to return some day..with our little girl...Valentina. Thanks for everithig....thanks for making us our home. South Africa. !!!!!Hope to see soon !!!!!! Ill be waiting for your response !!! :)

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuatemalaRoberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
4.2 mi away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#4 of 73 in Pretoria
264 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#11 of 73 in Pretoria
507 reviews
1.1 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
131 on Herbert Baker Boutique Hotel
11.5 mi away
The Blades Hotel
The Blades Hotel
#14 of 73 in Pretoria
160 reviews
1.4 mi away
Court Classique Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Illyria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illyria House

Property: Illyria House
Address: 327 Bourke Street | Muckleneuk, Pretoria 0002, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pretoria
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pretoria
#10 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Illyria House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ultimate Romantic Getaway. 25 Minutes from the OR Tambo International Airport (Johannesburg) and 5 minutes from the Gautrain Station.The serene beauty of Illyria House has always been an irresistible attraction to all lovers of fine things. Against the backdrop of classical music, fine antiques, 17th century tapestries, and a resident duck family an enchanting colonial lifestyle unfolds. Illyria House is highly appreciated by the discerning traveler for its charm, exquisite cuisine, exclusivity, luxury and unrivalled personalised butler service. We offer intimate soirées by world class musicians. Our Oriental Spa specialises in relaxing massages. Our facilities include a jacuzzi, sauna, heated pool and a cold pool. A wide selection of tours to historical, cultural and wildlife attractions come highly recommended. Personalised shopping is ideal for a last night stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Illyria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illyria House Hotel Pretoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing