We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place where to spend your day!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rietvlei Nature Reserve

Rietvlei Nature Reserve
Ranked #3 of 112 things to do in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cernosice, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place where to spend your day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is just an amazing place for spending your day-off with friends, family or partner. You can meet here several animal species very closely, for example zebras, rhinos, springboks, gemboks, ostriches etc. The place is easy to find. At the entrance you get a map of the Reserve which guides you all the time. And after enjoying the wild you can stay at the lake and prepare barbecue. It´s bigger than the Groenkloof Nature Reserve and takes about 40 minutes to get there from Pretoria.

Do not forget binoculars!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    214
    49
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A nice introduction to the wildlife”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Such a shame that the Rhino's have to have their horns cut off just to save them from poachers, but I guess that is the price you have to pay to see these magnificent animals in a setting so close to two major cities rather than in the true veld. A very reasonable entry cost - and a variety of things to see (or not!) as you slowly drive around. I suppose the downside is that it can be difficult to get a photo of something that doesn't include a set of power cables in the background. But we managed to see the amusing mating dance of a pair of ostrich (and indeed the act itself from a suitable distance!) - and we were told by our S. African friends that if a male ostrich has glowing red legs then keep out of it's way as it has other things on its mind and might turn aggressive. The cafe by the waterhole does good afternoon teas. The picnic sites by the lake looked inviting - complete with a Braai facility.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kinwafu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

This was the first time I have experienced seeing animals in the wild. Rietviei was fantastic and the array of animals I was blessed to have seen was breathtaking.. It was the first time I had visited South Africa and I hope it would not be the last. Unfortunately we did'nt get to see the Hippos but we certainly got to hear them. I got to see Rhino, Zebra, Wilderbeasts, Ostridge, Widow Birds but to name a few.

This was a truly awsome place to visit!!!!!

Roy Woodward

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Bush feeling in Pretoria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Although we only live approx. 10 minutes away from Rietvlei, we often take a drive to the reserve and watch out for animals. With a bit of luck you see rhinos and buffalos (apparantly there are also cheetahs, however, we have never seen them). Regular sights are zebras, wildebeest, ostriches, mountain reedbuck, springbok, red hartebeest and many more antilopes.
Once you have paid the entrance fee at the gate, you are provided with a map. The roads are in good condition - both gravel and tarred roads.
Stop for a picnic or some drinks at the dam or take a break at the bird hide.
Once entered Rietvlei, you completely forget the buzz of the city - a great place to wind down.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kerstin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Close to escape form the city for a while”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

You can have the experience of a nature reserve on "your" (Pretoria area) door step. There is picnic/braai facility - but gets quickly full - not enough for all the city dwellers. Some days the game viewing is more succesful than other days. Unfortunately an alient plant has taken over. It makes a beautiful display of pink flowers - but is not useful for our animals/plants.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MIMSPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rietvlei Nature Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Rietvlei Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing