We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to relax, eat, talk, and enjoy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Laughing Chefs

Laughing Chefs
Ranked #181 of 679 Restaurants in Pretoria
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Laughing Chefs, the dream of Mother and Daughter team Maggie and Esrida. Here in our part of paradise we run a restaurant, tapas bar and venue. We are perfect for birthdays, celebrations, weddings (we have an outdoor as well as indoor chapel), christenings, kitchen teas, pamper parties, bachelorettes and much more. As if that is not enough, we also host music shows and other performances, have an art gallery, The Lotter de Jager Gallery, and the Santie Korf open air photography studio. We rest on Mondays, and some Sundays, during the week we are mostly restaurant and tapas bar, with corporate functions thrown in the mix, and over weekends we have function after function after function. In between there are shows, beer and wine tastings, special launches and other interesting going-ons. Be sure to not miss out - check back regularly to find out what we are doing now!
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to relax, eat, talk, and enjoy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Excellent food, excellent service, great scenic location! This place is really good with receptions and weddings too! Make sure you book well in advance ;)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Monique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    18
    3
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was by far one of the best places we've been so far, to relax, enjoy, and eat delicious food. And the staff is really friendly! I will definitely consider this place for one of our family reunions in the future!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Best recommendation we've ever had from a friend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

It seems like in this special spot in Pretoria perfect is possible! Our friend referred us and we couldn't be more grateful. Especially the homey, warm reception makes you feel special. Some restaurants that serve excellent food don't care too much about service cause 'our customers will cue up anyways, cause they want our food'. Well at Lucit (Laughing Chefs) you get both: great food and excellent service. And affordable too! I'd recommend it to anyone who's visiting South Africa. Treat yourself, experience this gem that was moulded out of a mother-daughter entrepreneurship to thrive and excel. They're especially good at customised events (from the friend who referred us). They have many open events as well such as live music. Finally, AMAZING tapas, I'll be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne_and_Saskia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing tapas in the heart of bustling Pretoria!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Lucit (Laughing Chefs) is an amazing gem in the heart of the Pretoria suburbs. Once inside, the idyllic setting and scenery (with a pond and water feature) makes you forget that you're even in the city. With the perfect amount of candle light, classic music, good wine and the most perfect tapas I have ever eaten, I would say that this was easily the best restaurant that I have been to in Pretoria. The service was excellent and management was really friendly and welcoming. The choice of savoury and sweet tapas is really amazing, with enough vegetarian options as well. I was uber impressed and I urge anyone eating out in Pretoria to experience this above anything else!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronkhorstspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A gem in Pretoria!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

This was our first visit to Lucit and definitely not the last. The staff are very welcoming and friendly and makes one feel at home on arrival. The food is top quality and prepared to perfection. Definitely a must for a romantic dinner!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelmoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Laughing Chefs also viewed

 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Laughing Chefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing