We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Back”
Review of Pachas Restaurant

Pachas Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 686 Restaurants in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Welcome Back”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

After an absence of nearly two years due to construction activity, Pachas has reopened in the old Cynthia's building. The food, as always, is excellent with the old Snoek in Philo Pastry starter still my favourite. The atmosphere is cozy (more so than the old venue), the service is still great and the food mouthwatering.

Well worth the visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Britskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    112
    21
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
208 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Booking what booking”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We were invited by friends for dinner on Saturday evening. Booking for 19:30 for 4 was made a week ago. On arrival at 19:20 we were escorted to the pub, only to find out that our table was not ready which I think is a bit bad.
The service is good, the food has space for improvement. Garlic snales - no taste of garlic and my wife ordered " snoek in phyllo pastry"- the snoek was dry and burnt.
The main meal was fine , and it was really nice to be served by a waiter who understands your order in your mother tongue.
Not a cheap restaurant

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GielCillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We went to the new Pachas to see if they are as good as the old one. Indeed, same excellent service, delicious food and owner who explains the Specials and then personally takes your order. This restaurant has been around 25+ years and it is as popular as ever. You have to book.
My Rib Eye was as tender as a Fillet. We had a good time and will always go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank 64Jean64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch at Pacha's”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Renowned restaurant for very good food. Wonderful menu. Food is always good. Very popular restaurant. Booking essential.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tzaneen, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Old beauty queen...”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Pacha's once set the bar for what fine dining should be. But after preparing the same dish a million times, the chef is not too excited about it anymore. I think it is now a case of the kitchen staff being so well trained that the chef can actually stay at home and the restaurant will operate ok. My food was nothing special - the Escargots à la Bourguignonne ( if that is what it was called on the menu ) was made with garlic in a tub, a stingy sprinkling of green herbs and not nearly enough time under the grill. I also had a very sad steak tartare.

The rest of our group's food was just as lifeless.

The fine diner should maybe consider a newer restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank krisjanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pachas Restaurant also viewed

Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Pachas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing