We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure class !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacha's Restaurant

Pacha's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 668 Restaurants in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pure class !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I recently visited this fantastic restaurant which has been part of my dining favourites for many years (at least 15 years) and once again proofed to be pure class.Exceptional evening out!

Helpful?
15 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    109
    21
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Birthday with family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Best food in a long time. From starter till desert. We were there for my birthday with family. Everybody had a great time and enjoyed the food. Waiters look good after our table and they explaint the menu to us. We all go back to restaurant. You wont be sorry! My nr 1 restaurant in Pretoria so far.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank Trix J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent As Always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have been a patron of the restaurant for many years and when I recently felt like having a special meal, only one restaurant came to mind.

Once again, I was very satisfied. Good ambiance, good food and excellent service.. Need I say more.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
13 Thank Jaco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excelent Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The food we had was of great quality, and reasonably priced.

Picking one starter was a challenge; there were so many delicious sounding ones - even though we are picky eaters (read: we prefer boring food).

The mains were great tasting and we were not able to finish our meals, so the portions are quite generous too.

Their wine list caries a good range of wines ranging from exquisite to affordable - but I don't think there is one that I would recommend avoiding. Even the cellar selection offers some good value. Overall I'd estimate their mark-up ~2.5 times what you could buy the wines for at a good retailer.

Unfortunately the service we experienced this time was less than stellar, with very in-frequent visits to fill up glasses or take alternative drink orders. The apparent regulars and foreigners around us did get a bit more attention though.

I have to admit it was a bit too noisy to count as romantic (and the fish killing and eating one of their own in the aquarium next to us did not help!), but it was not so loud as to distract from the great eating, or have a decent conversation.

As always; we'd be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
10 Thank JanRap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We went to Pachas on 29/06/2014 as a send off for our parents on their oversees trip. My wife and I shared the smoked springbok starter and both had the duck. What a great choice!!! The restaurant has a great atmosphere and we really enjoyed the outing!

Thank you Pachas for providing us with such great food!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
13 Thank SAFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pacha's Restaurant also viewed

Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Pacha's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing