We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time with kids”

National Zoological Gardens of South Africa
Ranked #6 of 115 things to do in Pretoria
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The large cages at this renowned zoo are home to an expansive collection of animals from all over the world.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great time with kids”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I visited my family in South Africa and took my nephew to the zoo. The zoo was very quiet on the Tuesday we went and I found it very clean and excellent value for money for the time spent and the cost of entrance, food, golf cart hire and other activities. We hired one of the golf carts which I would recommend if you have small children with you, the zoo is very large and my 2 1/2 year old nephew would not have seen a quarter of the zoo if it wasn't for the golf cart. It was very nice to see the enclosures well kept and clean and the enclosures have a very natural feel. Parking in the enclosed parking lot by the entrance gate felt safe and we had no issues. The staff were all very helpful and friendly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marthinus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    177
    64
    27
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent day out!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Pretoria Zoo is a great place to visit appealing to young and old. The animals have large enclosures and are well looked after. The facilities are well maintained and easily accessed. The push carts that can be hired ar a nominal fee for small children or the golf carts for those not keen on walking far, allow you to cover the distance easily - and there is a lot to cover. Good value, good variety, great outing!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrendanL26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The zoo is a very fun family experience and is perfect for family outing with the kids.You just need to know the best places in the zoo and those are mainly at the back part of the zoo.Enjoy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Xandervt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tranquility surrounded by filth”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What an island of tranquillity amidst chaos outside. The care the caregivers have for the animals is very evident.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank COS80919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good place for the family”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a really nice place to come to as a family. Getting there is a bit scary but once inside there are safe parking and facilities. I would suggest getting there early and then renting a gholf cart it make the whole experience more fun for everyone! There are lots of animals in clean and well kept cages

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Zoological Gardens of South Africa also viewed

 

Been to National Zoological Gardens of South Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing