We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Very interesting

We visited the house which is looking a bit tired but there is at present quite a lot of renovation... read more

Reviewed 20 March 2018
Robert M
,
London
Historically Interesting

Nice place to visit to see the history of the Jan Smuts and his house with a lovely walk around the... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
janekervin1
,
Pretoria, South Africa
Read all 87 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Pretoria
from US$110.90
More Info
from US$71.50
More Info
from US$77.90
More Info
from US$107.30
More Info
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
35
31
14
0
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
31
14
0
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jan smuts tea garden great man flea market world leaders historic venue interesting visit south african history great history nice outing sunday afternoon statesman irene cadillac fundraiser century british
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2018

I'm ashamed of how our South African Museums are uphold - it is in need of renovation. They all are in dire need of renovations especially since it is a international tourist attraction also. Aren't there grants to uphold our SA Museums? Regardless of what nationality it is, it is still all part of the South African heritage and history that nobody can change. Overseas people would like to see it and it can generate income and boost our economy.
Anyway, it was a nice outing with some friends, and it was nice to see the house, sharpen up my history, see the old Cadillac, carriages, etc.
We took a walk up the hill to see the view as well - quite a walk so be warned. Afterwards we checked out the Sunday market and got us some homemade food to nibble on.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank maritaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

We visited the house which is looking a bit tired but there is at present quite a lot of renovation taking place. It is not as plush as you would have thought tin roof but is very spacious inside. Who would have thought the Queen Elizabeth Duke of Edinburgh and Margaret spent some time there and signed photo is there to prove the fact. Very interesting house and well worth a visit if you are in Centurion Area lose to Pretoria.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

I visit here at least twice a month. There is so much to do here. Irene Marker, Ouma Iesie's Tea Garden that serves awesome food, Smuts House Museum itself and then there are the walks for fundraisers for various animal rescues on most Sunday's. You can go for a short or long walk in the morning with your furries and then have breakfast afterwards in the pet friendly tea garden.

I really love this venue.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Petro J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We did not come for the museum but instead to do the Oubaas Hiking Trail, which was a lovely and relaxed trail. The Saturday we went there just happened to be a dog-walking fundraiser which was lovely as we also had a pooch with us and it was lovely to see everyone with their dogs, both on the trail as well as seated at the museum restaurant, where they were provided with water bowls. A section of the trail has a garden with botanical informational signs which is always nice.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank TheTalamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

A well preserved house which really gives you a sense of the man. Lots of informative displays and much to read, also some fascinating photographs of the Royal visit in 1947 and Smuts’ funeral in 1950. There is apparently a guide but he didn’t turn up on the day we visited. Smuts was a really important leader in the early 20th century, and instrumental in getting South Africa to fight on the British side in World War 2. It could easily have gone the other way.

You can walk up to the koppie where Smuts’ ashes were scattered, but we gave up because the path uphill becomes quite difficult. It is marked with white stones, but you really need proper shoes. Don’t attempt it in flip flops like I did. The path could do with some clearing. There’s also a cafe but that shuts on a Monday. Definitely worth a visit here.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank sfuhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews