We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorie historic building in Pretoria.”

President Paul Kruger House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$139.76*
and up
Private Pretoria City Tour from Johannesburg
More Info
US$73.06*
and up
Pretoria City Day Tour from Johannesburg
More Info
US$129.04*
and up
Pretoria Sightseeing and History Tour from Johannesburg
Ranked #10 of 116 things to do in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My favorie historic building in Pretoria.”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Well, if you love the history of South Africa, you will love the history of Paul Kruger as he played such an important role for the country. A lovely outing. I wasnt busy at all when we visited. Nice things to see and in a very good condition. Worth visiting.

Helpful?
Thank Sjibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    85
    35
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very interesting and well-maintained museum - a must-do in Pretoria”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The museum is very well-kept and tells the story of Paul Kruger with a great deal of memorabilia. As he is a direct relative I was excited and the museum didn't disappoint. It really takes you back in time to see how he lived in the day and how he related to other countries - there were many gifts from other countries supporting and celebrating him. An excellent museum telling the story of one of South Africa's heroes. If you're in Pretoria, go see it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RhodiePaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Paul Kruger House - a journey through time”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This house was his residence in the early days of the old Zuid Afrikaanse Republiek. It is undergoing restoration inside, which was overdue. However, the house itself has artefacts and photos of his early and later life as President of the old Transvaal Republic. The two large rooms in the back property house his beautiful carriage, memorabilia from the support he received from Europe during the Anglo Boer war, and his personal belongings are on show including his pipes, saddle, rifle and even his furniture which was return from Switzerland, where he died, is now on show. Well worth a visit - my guests enjoyed seeing his private railway carriage which he used to travel around his country, which is the back yard.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThornteeTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Lived 60km away for most of my klife and somehow never got to this museum. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the exhibits and the nice layout. The only comment my partner made which I agree with was there should possibly be a bit more info above some of the exhibits in the glass cases. A worthwhile 2 hour visit for sure

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gazzcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“History Lesson”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Wasn't on my top list of places to visit but enjoyed it after the fact. It was like being transported back in time to see the way people lived back in those days. There is even a huge train from those days along with chariots, clothes, cutlery, furniture. Pretty much everything. Was just in amazement that all these things were preserved so well, especially after the Apartheid era. A good history lesson come to life.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kramn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed President Paul Kruger House also viewed

 

Been to President Paul Kruger House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing